We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the nicest, but defintely not the worst”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the nicest, but defintely not the worst”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This place was conveniently located and was available at a good price on a holiday weekend. The hurricane damaged the place my husband and I were going to stay in VB, so this was one of the only open motels around. The price was great. The staff was really helpful and friendly. We had to move rooms (at no fault of the motels, but because we had only made reservations for 2 nights and decided to stay for 2 more) and we left our nice pillows from home behind on accident. When we called the office to see if maybe they had found them (thinking that there was no way we'd get them back) our pillows were there with freshly washed pillow cases. I was impressed. This is most definitely not a luxuary hotel, but it was clean, the staff was helpful and accommodating, and the location was great. Its a great place to sleep and shower...what else do you really need at the beach on a budget? I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The king room that we switched into was nice and big with a full kitchen. That was unexpected for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lirpalovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    57
    43
    22
    39
See reviews for
98
34
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We went to VA Beach for two nights. I was a little worry about staying at this motel since the reviews were 50/50. I should have listen. The beds are horrible, they are hard and you will barely sleep. The motel is clean but has moldy, muggy smell when you open the bedroom doors. It states "no smoking" but I doubt it's enforced as the room did also have a scent of stale smoke.

The prices are very reasonable for a beach motel and the location is great. If you don't mind hard beds and smelly room it should be fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travel0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed over the Labor Day weekend, which is the peak of the high season in Virginia Beach, especially because of the Rock & Roll Half Marathon - the motive for our trip. We chose this hotel for two reasons - location (convenient to both start and finish lines of the race) and price (about half what the hotels on the Boardwark charged).

Sundial Inn advertises as a Hotel on-line, but as a Motel locally - and that's what it is. Check-in included them making a copy of my ID, which isn't what happens at hotels I usually frequent. The elevator to the third floor was so smelly, that we used the stairs for the rest of our stay. The floor is painted concrete in stairs and aisles, with sand, dirt and cigarette butts laying around. Our two rooms are ample, but smelly. The matresses were so old, that we had to sleep on the very edge, to get some support, and they smelled of old urine. We considered sleeping on the floor, but the carpet had wet spots, that we thought the bedspread would not provide an appropriate barrier for. And we never were able to get the wireless working on our devices.

I do regret not having shelled out the money to stay at a better place.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocolatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed overnight in a regular room (included fridge and microwave). Made the reservation at the last minute, and the rate was more than $80 per night less than any other hotel close to (or on) the beach. Accommodations were dated, but spacious and clean. If you are mainly interested in spending your time on the beach, this is a decent place to stay. It is a couple of blocks from the beach and convenient to restaurants, shopping, and other attractions in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayofam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radford, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My Fiance and I took a vacation in the beginning of July 2011 and stayed at the Sundial for 2 nights. It was very cheap compared to everything else and nicer than a few of the others that were actually more expensive. When we first arrived it was awesome, we didn't have to wait that long for a room and they called us when it was ready. Upon entering the room I was surprised how appealing it was, I was expecting it to be a lot worse than it was. Granite counter tops clean floors and mirrors, everything looked awesome. The air worked very good, almost to good lol. That night after being out very late we came back to the room to sleep and turned down the sheets to one of the beds......here is where it got bad, the sheet had what appeared to be a make-up stain on it and it was pretty big. Also their was a washcloth with unpleasant sticky hard stuff on it. Had an idea of what it might have been if you know what I mean....well then we went to the other bed and it was clean and I made sure of it. So we went to sleep and the next morning I called the front desk and had them come change my sheets after I told them what I had discovered in the bed the night before. The front desk lady who claimed to be the Manager was VERY rude and told me that I was lying about the washcloth and that I didn't know what I was talking about. I tried to get some type of discount and compensation but she refused. After we were able to put that behind us our vacation was wonderful. I would consider returning to the same hotel next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
Northeast Virginia Beach
Cerca Del Mar
Cerca Del Mar
#88 of 109 in Virginia Beach
60 reviews
19 Atlantic Hotel
#69 of 109 in Virginia Beach
345 reviews
Oceans 2700 Hotel
#65 of 109 in Virginia Beach
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alamar Resort Inn
#67 of 109 in Virginia Beach
195 reviews
Atrium Resort
#48 of 109 in Virginia Beach
228 reviews
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#82 of 109 in Virginia Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency

Property: Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
Address: 308 21st St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,787 - ₹ 16,498
Hotel Class:2 star — Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Inn Motel And Efficiency Hotel Virginia Beach
Sundial Motel Virginia Beach
Sundial Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing