We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gets Better and Better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center

Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A 300,000-gallon tank with sharks, rays, and other aquatic species, is the main atrtaction at this popular aquarium.
Virginia Beach, VA USA
Level Contributor
194 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Gets Better and Better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Every time I go here, I am amazed with the improvements. They are always coming up with something new and exciting that keeps me coming back. The walk through tunnel is great. It's like being underwater without having any scuba gear on. The touch tanks are always fun. My favorite exhibit has always been the otters though. They are so playful and fun. I love this place!

The only negatives can be parking and crowds. Go off season during the week.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jez09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,245
    781
    326
    72
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Little ones love the aquarium - lots of sensory experiences. Fish, sharks, submarine room, ray tank, otters just to name a few. Definitely worth it -

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DCSVirginiaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of fun, somewhat pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Nice variety of marine life and exhibits.Good for all ages but definitely pricey. Worth it for a special treat.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank daisy33148NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another City Project That Has Improved Things To Do While Visiting VA. BEACH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

The city has really done many great things to help improve Virginia Beach and this is a good example. If you are in town this is a must visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Finis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take the Kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We have been able to take our grandchildren when they were in the elementary/middle school age range.

While it is interesting for all ages, the younger ones really enjoy the hands-on activities and pretty permissive atmosphere.

Particularly handy as a rainy-day activity for energetic youngsters.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank 1grandpa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing