We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Ranked #56 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I was attending my family reunion was past weekend, we had 20+ rooms reserved. The air conditioning did not work( it was 100+ outside) when we complained we were told it is because of the weather. The staff's attitude toward our situation was like they didn't care. The customer service was horrible. The elevators always broken down, and the room service employees were very rude.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lori s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear lori s,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    105
    43
    25
    21
See reviews for
95
62
20
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Washington, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

for what we needed a room for. Upon check the staff was great, they even let us go to our room early. The room met expectations. It was strange not to have a mirror outside of the bathroom though and a little inconvenient when multiple people were trying to get ready for the evening. There was a pool and jacuzzi. Just walking into the pool area it felt like a sauna, but after getting in it was ok. No frills though where the pool and jacuzzi are concerned. The tiles around the pool were slippery as I almost fell while walking. Only real complaint is the bang on the door in the middle of the night of some drunk that was escorted be hotel staff thought our room was his. This could of been handled better by the staff but we were compensated accordingly. Might go back, might see what else is available in the area next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SreyaNelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank You for your comments. The Crowne Plaza Virginia Beach Town center is great value for anyone wanting to go to the beach for less. Only a 8 mile drive from the beach located on 264 the direct road into the resort area. We offer discount parking for the beach area. In addition our courtesy van drives to and from the Town Center. Our drivers are just a call away to pick you up at your favorite entertainment spot (see town center for details)

Again thank you for choosing us.

Mark Smith GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We tried this hotel on two occasions. Our first stay, we got a room with a jacuzzi and it didn't work. About 2-3 hours of our one night stay was spent watching a guy TRY to fix it only to tell us that we were out of luck. We didn't get a new room, we didn't get compensated. We paid full price and had our time wasted.

Our second stay, we had another one night stay. There were dirty rags in the shower. We didn't get to review our charged before they ran my card. We were billed twice for the severely overpriced breakfast and when pointed it out during checkout, we were actually told not to worry about it. They said it would be an easy fix and just to call back. When I called back, they're basically telling me there's nothing they can do. Really?!

Overall, never coming back.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank You for your comments. Your impression of our Hotel is not one we want our guest to have. We pride our selves here on customer service above all. Please conatct me directly and an dI wll gladly discsuu yor stays and hopefully make it worth your while to try us again.

Mark Smith GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This is the worst hotel I have stayed in by far. Reserved 2 queen beds the room has 2 double beds, when I inquired at the desk they said that is what they call queens, um no queens are queens and doubles are doubles. The room is for four but only 2 small drawers. The bathroom is so small it is hard to move around, the shower head is so low that at 5'3 it is barely above my head, not to mention the hole in the ceiling in the shower from mold? or a leak?. The air conditioning does not work in our room or any of the 11 other rooms reserved by our softball team. On top of it not working it was as loud as a freight train. The refrigerator has no shelves. There is no cold water in the sink and the shower is so hot you get scalded. The very first day they cleaned our room only to vacuum over our phone charger and tear it to shreds. They replaced it with one that was left behind which was far from new and the wires were exposed. The exercise equipment was all broken and the sauna did not work and there was a leak in the ceiling dripping so much that the tile was hanging down. We travel a lot and stay at hotels about 12 times per year, I have never had such a poor room for the price. I hope they read these reviews. The people at the front desk were nice but nothing they could do about any of these problems.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyvacationer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank for your input and I do apologize for any incovenance you endured during your stay here. It is important to ere the negative input as well as positive. Please contact me directly in order for me to make arrangements to replace your charger.

Our Hotel rooms generally are 400 sg ft and equipped with 12,000 BTU ac units. Most are brand new. However, recently Virginia has been under a heat advisory with indexes well above 100. The units in many cases during our high occupancy period have been a maximum capacity for days. Consequently we do have reserves and in some case replace with 14,000 BTU units. The entire region has had to endure during these oppressive conditions.

Our Bathrooms are 40 sg ft standard for a hotel room while the have recently been up grade with granite surrounds and generally are shower heads are at 6 ft more.

Each room has refrigerator and some times shelve are removed to accommodate high occupancy however we have replacements.

Our hotel is 73 kings room and 76 two double beds at no time has it been published we have queens.

Again thank you for your comments and please feel free to contact me directly
Mark Smith Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This place was okay. The hotel was nice and the room was nice. The bed was big and comfy and so were the pillows. The pool area was nice and clean as well and the staff was nice. My only problem was that the couch that was in our room was beyond dirty with LOTS of stains. I understand it may not be easy to get stains out of couches but i mean you could always get a new on because the couch was dated anyways or they could've just not had a couch. That would've been better. But over all it was nice oh and the air condition was super loud but it helped my six month sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qwanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Nor...
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
422 reviews
1.0 km away
Westin Virginia Beach Town Center
Westin Virginia Beach Town Cente...
#35 of 109 in Virginia Beach
674 reviews
0.1 km away
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach...
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
12.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virgi...
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,322 reviews
7.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#41 of 109 in Virginia Beach
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Address: 4453 Bonney Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462-3815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,419 - ₹ 15,021
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach is located in the heart of the Town Center Business District, allowing corporate and leisure travelers easy access to Va. Beach, Norfolk and Chesapeake. We are just minutes from restaurants, shopping, attractions, military bases and the beach (8 miles) with convenient access to Interstates 264 and 64. The Crowne Plaza is within easy reach of Historic Jamestown and Colonial Williamsburg. The hotel offers 12,000 feet of flexible meeting and banquet space. Each guest room offers free wireless high speed Internet voice mail, coffee makers, make up mirrors, the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program which includes upgraded bedding, sleep amenities and more. Tines Restaurant & Aqua Bar features a wide range of food and beverage with, free wireless high speed Internet and wired high speed connections in the lobby. Additional amenities include an indoor pool, saunas, free business center with HSIA, 24 hour fitness center , gift shop and FREE shutle nightly to and from the Town Center entertainment area. Attractions: the Va. Science Museum, Verizon Amphitheater, and the Va. Sportsplex. The nearby Town Center features restaurants such as the Cheesecake factory, PF Chang, Ruth's Chris, Max & Erma s, and many more. Companies: Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, Keane Inc., BB&T, SAIC, Amsec, Best Buy, Circuit City, Ford, EDS, and Ecolochem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Virginia Beach
Crowne Plaza Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing