We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great value. But not very clean” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value. But not very clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel for Spring Break. Initial impression was "ok" and the staff was very nice. We had a bug issue in the AM and asked to move rooms. Unfortunately the staff moved us to a room that was not clean and needed upgrading. Since I am a self proclaimed "hotel snob" I made the decision to leave and change hotels.

Room Tip: ask for an upgraded room away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmhptr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your comments. We encourage guest feedback and anytime a guest is not satisfied or not comfortable for any reason it becomes a top concern for all of us at The Oceanfront Inn, as guest satisfaction and comfort remain our top priority. Our management has taken this very seriously and has addressed your concerns as needed. We regret to hear of your dissatisfaction. Our ownership invests in our property every year with improvements and upgrades. In addition to our regular deep cleaning procedures, our renovations in the last year included new wallpaper in rooms, new and freshly painted ceilings, new bedspreads, upgraded pillows, and flat-screen televisions in addition to the lobby being updated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    185
    74
    26
    17
See reviews for
172
150
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We just got back from our 4th visit to the Oceanfront Inn and each one has been a great stay. The rooms are large enough for a family and the ocean and boardwalk views from the balcony are super! You're just a few steps from the statue of Neptune! The beach is great for kids, the hotel restaurant was convenient and the breakfast was good, made even better with a 10% discount for hotel guests. The staff was very cordial and professional and many of them have been there for a whole lot of years. They've constantly maintained and upgraded this property and it was a pleasure to stay there. Returning guests also get a special rate, too! The indoor pool is great, the kids really enjoyed their time there. Parking can get a little tight in the evenings, but there's also a garage across the street. If anything could use improvement, it would be the beds/mattresses, which could use an upgrade, but they still passed. Our room had 2 double beds. It's definitely one of the better hotels in VaBch. We've been visiting Virginia Beach yearly for four or five decades so, we've seen the good and the bad. The Oceanfront is definitely the good!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredChief1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your comments. We appreciate your constructive feedback and continued support. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

There are fancier hotels nearby, but this was a great value. Room was fairly large, very nice heated indoor pool, great views from the balconies and it's convenient to everything. Staff was very friendly. I would definitely go back. We had a good time even with lousy weather the days we were there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradleyl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do strive to offer great value and friendly service. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Had a nice stay at the Oceanfront Inn during an April break. The view from our room was wonderful. The room was clean and comfy. The pool was very nice. not really a hot tub but good size pool. The house keeper and the men at the front desk went out of their way to be helpful and friendly! Can't wait to go back! We didn't eat there we were too busy!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunneeNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your comments. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

A friend got a "great rate" for another oceanfront hotel in Virginia Beach, but it was no deal - just a nightmare (and only a few dollars cheaper per night than my all-time favorite Oceanfront Inn).
Oceanfront Inn's rooms, on-site restaurant and staff are a real bargain - I've been staying in Virginia Beach for decades, and I'll keep returning to the Oceanfront Inn!

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevator are usually noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your comments. We do strive to offer great value. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.7 km away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.5 km away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#23 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Property: The Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,570 - ₹ 17,407
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing