We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

There are fancier hotels nearby, but this was a great value. Room was fairly large, very nice heated indoor pool, great views from the balconies and it's convenient to everything. Staff was very friendly. I would definitely go back. We had a good time even with lousy weather the days we were there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradleyl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do strive to offer great value and friendly service. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    194
    76
    27
    19
See reviews for
180
157
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Had a nice stay at the Oceanfront Inn during an April break. The view from our room was wonderful. The room was clean and comfy. The pool was very nice. not really a hot tub but good size pool. The house keeper and the men at the front desk went out of their way to be helpful and friendly! Can't wait to go back! We didn't eat there we were too busy!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunneeNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your comments. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

A friend got a "great rate" for another oceanfront hotel in Virginia Beach, but it was no deal - just a nightmare (and only a few dollars cheaper per night than my all-time favorite Oceanfront Inn).
Oceanfront Inn's rooms, on-site restaurant and staff are a real bargain - I've been staying in Virginia Beach for decades, and I'll keep returning to the Oceanfront Inn!

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevator are usually noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your comments. We do strive to offer great value. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I have stayed at the Oceanfront Inn many times and have never been disappointed. It is located next to the HIlton which is much more expensive and the rooms at Oceanfront have better balcony views of the ocean/boardwalk/beach. It is located across the stress from shopping and close to a wonderful grocery store called Farm Fresh -- blocks inland. There is no microwave oven, but there is a fridge. It is safe, clean and friendly staff and decent indoor pool as well. If you really want to dine at Salacia or Catch 31, the money you save at the Oceanfront Inn will make up for the expensive meals at Hilton restaurants next door. A great place for fish tacos is at Waterman's Grille on 5th & Atlantic other end of boardwalk. The weather is great by early May for being at the beach and people walk year round on the boardwalk, which is about 3 1/2 miles long or so. You can take the Wave trolley to Hilltop Shopping East which has an amazing shoe store, nice restaurants and shopping. For families with Kids, there is Ocean Breeze waterpark about 3 miles away on Pacific/General Booth, as well as the Aquarium on same road. Virginia Beach is a wonderful, clean and safe family place to live or vacation. I vacationed here in 2005 and loved it so much I moved here.
Thanks Oceanfront Inn for being dependable, affordable, friendly, clean and safe. Jayne

Room Tip: During summer months choose the higher floors as it gets noisy sometimes outside when people are wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your comments and positive feedback. We appreciate your support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adirondack Foothills of NY State
Level Contributor
178 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We like to travel at the end of winter, looking for the first signs of spring. We found them here at Virginia Beach. The Oceanfront Inn was pretty clean but dusty and though the rooms have been updated, a little detailing would help keep it looking updated a little longer. The valance of the curtain on the sliding doors had a layer of dust that looked like it had been there longer than just the few months of winter. The sliding doors had the grit and film of winter and we found the power washer guy cleaning in the AM but he never made it to our windows. I took some tissues and plain water and cleared an area for us to be able to enjoy the view without having to open the doors. It would take much for the maid service to spray and wipe the doors down once a week. That said, these were our only complaints. The beds and pillows were comfortable. Our room was large enough for a family, The pool was clean and refreshing and the walkway around it was large and also clean. Decent pool furniture, as well. There is no "hot tub" by the pool but an area in the pool with whirlpool jets.They could have been a little stronger, but it was still relaxing. Breakfast is not supplied but can be purchased separately or with a package deal. We did not eat at the restaurant as we stayed mid-week and they were not open for dinner until the last night. Their buffet, which we have enjoyed before, was not beginning until the following week but people could order off the menu. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Oceanfront Inn and expect to come back but probably later in March to give the staff time to clean up from winter.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADKphotobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your constructive feedback. Your comments have been shared with our staff and your concerns addressed to assure better attention to detail. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Vir...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,353 reviews
1.7 km away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
2.1 km away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#24 of 109 in Virginia Beach
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
590 reviews
3.0 km away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#44 of 109 in Virginia Beach
408 reviews
0.7 km away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Property: The Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,590 - ₹ 18,295
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing