We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Off Season Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Adirondack Foothills of NY State
Level Contributor
178 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Off Season Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We like to travel at the end of winter, looking for the first signs of spring. We found them here at Virginia Beach. The Oceanfront Inn was pretty clean but dusty and though the rooms have been updated, a little detailing would help keep it looking updated a little longer. The valance of the curtain on the sliding doors had a layer of dust that looked like it had been there longer than just the few months of winter. The sliding doors had the grit and film of winter and we found the power washer guy cleaning in the AM but he never made it to our windows. I took some tissues and plain water and cleared an area for us to be able to enjoy the view without having to open the doors. It would take much for the maid service to spray and wipe the doors down once a week. That said, these were our only complaints. The beds and pillows were comfortable. Our room was large enough for a family, The pool was clean and refreshing and the walkway around it was large and also clean. Decent pool furniture, as well. There is no "hot tub" by the pool but an area in the pool with whirlpool jets.They could have been a little stronger, but it was still relaxing. Breakfast is not supplied but can be purchased separately or with a package deal. We did not eat at the restaurant as we stayed mid-week and they were not open for dinner until the last night. Their buffet, which we have enjoyed before, was not beginning until the following week but people could order off the menu. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Oceanfront Inn and expect to come back but probably later in March to give the staff time to clean up from winter.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADKphotobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your constructive feedback. Your comments have been shared with our staff and your concerns addressed to assure better attention to detail. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    185
    74
    26
    17
See reviews for
172
150
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloversville, New York
Level Contributor
217 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We've looked this hotel over a few times when we've eaten in the restaurant attached to it. The pool always looked particularly enticing---and it's truly a nice pool.
Our only complaints related to the cleaning staff's lack of attention to some of the smaller things. When we checked in, there was an empty box to a Kindle Fire stuffed between one of the beds and the night stand...how did they miss that? There was also a pretty decent layer of dust on the bed frames and some other "fine points" that should have been attended to. We left it for the cleaners, along with a note, rather than report it to the desk. We hoped that might make them a bit more attentive; but it didn't happen--the dust remained.
The desk staff was always pleasant and gave us a late checkout time the day we left; they also let us leave the car in the lot for the rests of the day while we wandered the beach area.
The pool is brightly lit and clean--except for some variety of bug that seemed to be everywhere in town--including the pool. Someone must have been skimming the pool for them regularly, but left a pile of dead bugs in an obvious place. It was unsightly, but I can live with that.
All in all, a pleasant place and well worth the money, that with a bit of attention would be an exceptional value.

Room Tip: They're all ocean view...probably there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillP1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to provide your constructive feedback. Your comments have been shared with our staff and your concerns will be addressed to better assure attention to detail. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Good price, clean, great location on beach. Did a Winter Wildlife package for whale watching and visitin the aquarium. Tickets for our requested time were there when we checked in and all went smoothly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your positive comments. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

After a rather extravagant week in Williamsburg, my husband and I were looking for an inexpensive, clean room on Virginia Beach with an ocean view before catching our flight out of Richmond two days hence.
I saw the Oceanfront Inn was having a special of $54.00 a night. Bingo! We're off! After not seeing the ocean in awhile, we just wanted to be able to gaze at the sea, have a glass of wine and not stick to the carpet! All roooms have an ocean view and face the large boardwalk.
The only negative is that the hallways were somewhat suggestive of a penitentiary...making the room a nice surprise when first walking in!
No pillowtop mattresses here, but the king-sized bed was fine for two nights. Bring your own pillow if you can.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront and have wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ginnymom911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your comments. Your feedback has been shared with our staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howlett Hill, New York, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

great location,Great price, had a good time besides the fact it was raining, hotel was clean, balcony view of ocean was priceless, will stay @ the oceanfront inn again when traveling to VB area, also the staff were so nice accommodating me and my wife on our honeymoon!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your positive feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.7 km away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.5 km away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#23 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Property: The Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,570 - ₹ 17,542
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing