We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

After being diverted from the Outer Banks due to hurricane Irene, we headed to Virginia Beach. Not wanting to spend alot of money, we stopped at 12 hotels on Oceanfront. This hotel was the least expensive. Location and room were great for the price. Would go again. We did not eat in the hotel. so cannot rate food.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marycairns56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    199
    78
    28
    19
See reviews for
187
163
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrebonne, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We booked this hotel mainly because it was ocean front and seemed acceptable considering it was cheaper than other hotels ocean front. And we were right.

The room was a good size, non-smoking (even on the balconies -- the hotel itself is non-smoking), lots of pillows and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean but really small (you can hit your arms on the counter when you go pee). The room also has a fridge (don't forget to turn it on if you want to use it !) but there is no safe in the room. TV offers many, many channels.

The rooms offer a great ocean view and compared to the hotel beside, there are no seagulls flying around the balcony due to the "do not feed seagulls" policy, which is nice. In the morning, around 7-8 a.m. you can see the dolphins waving in the ocean.

The hotel has a restaurant. We ate there for lunch and it was good and affordable.

The hotel has a lot of parking, which is included in the price.

We would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Starfish03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Our hotel itself was very nice, but the staff was very rude. We asked them to split our room 5 ways between the 5 people in our room and the front desk clerk gave us a huge attitude. It took him 30 minutes to do it and we had to explain it to him several times. They never asked how our stay was and to run one of our credit cards again at the end of our stay. Also the maid only made my bed 3 out of the 8 nights we stayed there and barley cleaned the room. The service at the resturant was very slow, we got our food before our drinks and our food was cold. We had to wait forever for our check as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lbachman789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Great value, awesome location, staff was very helpful and nice (except, we were there for two days and the rooms were never cleaned by hotel staff, which seemed to baffle the front desk attendants)
The hotel restaurant - Neptune's seafood buffet - was way over priced ($30) but the food seemed ok. I didn't actually try it because we found a less expensive restaurant, same food offerings, nearby for about $10/person less.
Upon checkout we were given a coupon for 15% off our next stay which was really nice and I'll probably book with them again the next time i visit VA Beach

Room Tip: Call the hotel to make special requests, they are very obliging
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elibe07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed at the Oceanfront Inn during the dates of July 31st to August 5th, 2011. What a great hotel, and very reasonably priced. We had a King size bed, a private balcony over-looked the ocean, with a small fridge in it, and a coffee maker, a full bathroom, which the staff kept SPOTLESSLY clean.

The hotel as a whole was spotlessly clean with staff cleaning into the late evening. Everybody was very helpful polite and courtesy with us.

I can not say enough about the restaurant, Neptune's the service is very fast and friendly, the breakfasts are the best around. Plus, we ended up getting a free breakfast one morning. Our lovely waitress had an emergency and had to leave suddenly, as a result the restaurant manager decided that we warranted a free breakfast because our waitress had to leave. I had the most incredible crab meat omelet that morning with all the fixings. My husband had a big boy breakfast, perfect and FREE!

Room Tip: Be specific in your needs, and be polite, respectful and courtesy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3katsunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,436 reviews
1.7 km away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
2.6 km away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#77 of 109 in Virginia Beach
501 reviews
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
603 reviews
0.1 km away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Property: The Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,306 - ₹ 16,066
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing