We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy guacamole it's good!”
Review of La Sandia

La Sandia
Reserve with OpenTable
La Sandia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 102 Restaurants in Tysons Corner
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

We went here during Spring Break with our 7 and 9 year olds. Everyone loved what they got. We ordered steak & chicken fajitas, cheese enchiladas, kids trio (steak taco, soup and salad), kids chicken tenders. My daughter is extremely picky and she loved the chicken tenders and rice, so much so that she ate my rice too. My son loved the soup and salad more than the taco. My husband raved about the fajitas and I thought the cheese enchiladas were delish. We ordered nachos as well and they were good but you get chips and salsa any way so they were overkill. What was most impressive was the service. Our waitress was constantly checking in and refilling drinks. She was quiet and unobtrusive but so attentive. It is in the mall on the first floor. I didn't have high expectations but was pleasantly surprised. It was very good.

Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSandiaTC, General Manager at La Sandia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Hello Erica,

I just want to Thank you for your kind words! It makes us very happy that you loved your dinning experience here at La Sandia.

We look forward for your next visit!

Regards,

Juan Avila
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2017

I do not understand what the big deal is about this type of establishment. I am not a fan of taking perfectly serviceable genres and turning it into "haute cuisine". The food was okay, the service was okay, it was all okay, but nothing made this place any better than the any other of thousands of other Mexican joints.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JBClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSandiaTC, General Manager at La Sandia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Greetings,

Thank you for your review. We look forward for your next visit.

Regards,

Juan A
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We had reservations and were seated immediately on arrival. Joshua took very good care of us and helped us pick meals based on the diverse needs of our group. Good ambiance, nice music... A really nice place to kick back, have some drinks and good food after long day of shopping!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank History4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSandiaTC, General Manager at La Sandia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Greetings,

I just wanted to thank you for your review!

It makes the team here at La Sandia very happy that you loved your experience here.

Regards,

Juan Avila
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We had dinner at this place some years ago and we liked it. They have a nice lunch menu. The Margarita was a real drink, not just plain lemonade with some tequila "drops". My wife had a nice combo plate and for myself I tried the shrimp ceviche. Because of the prior day snow the mall was empty as well as the restaurant. Service was really fast,

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hannes1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSandiaTC, General Manager at La Sandia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Greetings,

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your review. I have shared your review with my team here at La Sandia and that will help us improve.

Thank you again, and we look forward seeing you soon at La Sandia.

Regards,

Juan A
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Menu and appearance looked very enticing. However, the food was below average. It was not served hot, nor was it very authentic. Rather in appearance and taste the food was a warm well plated version of frozen Hispanic food.

To make matters worse the service was terrible - both slow and incompetent (failed to bring silverware or drinks).

On the plus side the salsa and chips are very good and the guacamole looked tasty.

Thank gnftr44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSandiaTC, General Manager at La Sandia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Greetings,

I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience here at La Sandia. Please reach out to me directly. javila@richardsandoval.com, I would love to hear more about your experience. I look forward to your response.

Regards,

Juan Avila
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Sandia also viewed

Falls Church, VA
McLean, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Falls Church, VA
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to La Sandia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing