We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
46
22
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
22
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews son david the entire island made to order breakfast blue crab soft shell crab wonderful hosts bed and breakfast beautiful island tangier accommodations tides gott
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We arrived at high tide during a surge from Hurricane Jose and were blocked by knee deep water to get to the Inn. The owner's son found us on the island and carried our bags over to the Inn while we had lunch and waited for the tide to go out. The hospitality was exceptional and the breakfast delicious. Bacon, eggs, toast and coffee or tea. I would go back.

Room tip: All rooms are good.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Tangier's quiet, natural beauty is extraordinary. A hard working fishing community (blue crab is its economy and its cuisine) with no development, Tangier's unique culture seems fresh out of the fifties. The Gott family's Bay View Inn features friendly, top notch service; clean and comfortable rooms; and a delicious and varied made-to-order breakfast. The lawn may not always be freshly mowed (reference to earlier disgruntled review) but that's due to high tides, not lack of care. The Inn has two large decks that overlook the bay and night sky and the Inn fronts on a magnificent salt water marsh that has the highest density of wading birds and eagles that we've ever seen; a photographer's paradise. The Gotts loan kayaks for those wanting a closer look. The weather was cool and cloudy while we were there, but that didn't dampen our enjoyment in the least. Thank you, Maureen, Jim and David for a most relaxing and memorable stay -- we can't wait to return!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tomasacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Our experience was a different kind of wonderful. We were met at the ferry and taken to the Inn by David...and led to our room...the room was clean, cool, and had all the accommodations we needed except wifi. Given the culture of the island, the inn seemed to be very much in line, we didn't know what to expect and it turned into a great adventure. Maureen and David were very accommodating with all our needs. We rented a golf cart and drove around and around exploring the entire island, over and over. I would highly recommend doing that. We came upon an opportunity to see a crab business and learn about soft shell crabs...the next day we were taken on a wonderful tour by boat around the island by Lee...ask around for Lee. David made a delicious breakfast, omelettes, red and sweet potato hash, bacon, and fixings. If there was one challenge it was wifi...but given that our phones didn't have reception either we learned to accept no wifi except in the eating area. There was water pretty much over the property, but again that seemed to be true for much of the island, so we accepted it as a given. It felt like we were in a different world, and accepting that experience, we had much fun. Maureen was very honoring and personable. We left having a great respect for the culture of the island and the inn.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We stayed for a couple of days while exploring Tangier and were very disappointed. The place doesn't look like the pictures any longer. It seems the new owners have no time for landscaping, upkeep, or just cleaning in general, not to mention the dozens of stray cats that they keep roaming around the property. A couple of cats would be fine, but when you walk to your room and nearly half a dozen cats are following you and attempting to get in the room, it's a little annoying. They should do themselves and their customers a favor and get rid of at least a dozen or two of the cats. Based on older pictures I've seen advertising the place, it doesn't look like they've touched the landscaping at all since it was purchased several years ago, and weeds and overgrown plants make the place look all but abandoned. The wooden walkways are an accident waiting to happen with loose, rotted and broken boards. The main deck of the house also shouldn't serve as a storage area for dirty clothing and shoes. Overall, it looks like the owners just want to live there with the occasional annoyance of guests. This place really shouldn't be considered a bed and breakfast. All rooms are basically blocks of motel type rooms in the back with no available room for guests in the house at all. The only plus side is that the room was fairly clean with AC that was adequate for the hot temperatures outside. If you want WIFI, you pretty much have to go sit in the office as it doesn't reach to any of the rooms. I would recommend that you stay elsewhere. When we come back, we certainly will.

Room tip: Look elsewhere.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Our family of six ventured to Tangier for the first time a few weeks ago. We chose the Bay View Inn as it was guaranteed open during the early part of the season when we were planning our trip. Jim and Maureen were very gracious hosts and helped us feel welcomed. Breakfast was a nice hearty one. Chocolate chip muffins were great! Kids loved the cats on the island and those that were at the B&B. Room was good for our needs. We found that walking to the "downtown" area or the beach were very accessible. The first day, the weather was quite chilly and overcast. The next day we awoke to amazingly blue skies.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews