We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming host, lovely location”
Review of Bay View Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tangier Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay View Inn
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We arrived at high tide during a surge from Hurricane Jose and were blocked by knee deep water to get to the Inn. The owner's son found us on the island and carried our bags over to the Inn while we had lunch and waited for the tide to go out. The hospitality was exceptional and the breakfast delicious. Bacon, eggs, toast and coffee or tea. I would go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Tangier's quiet, natural beauty is extraordinary. A hard working fishing community (blue crab is its economy and its cuisine) with no development, Tangier's unique culture seems fresh out of the fifties. The Gott family's Bay View Inn features friendly, top notch service; clean and comfortable rooms; and a delicious and varied made-to-order breakfast. The lawn may not always be freshly mowed (reference to earlier disgruntled review) but that's due to high tides, not lack of care. The Inn has two large decks that overlook the bay and night sky and the Inn fronts on a magnificent salt water marsh that has the highest density of wading birds and eagles that we've ever seen; a photographer's paradise. The Gotts loan kayaks for those wanting a closer look. The weather was cool and cloudy while we were there, but that didn't dampen our enjoyment in the least. Thank you, Maureen, Jim and David for a most relaxing and memorable stay -- we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tomasacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Our experience was a different kind of wonderful. We were met at the ferry and taken to the Inn by David...and led to our room...the room was clean, cool, and had all the accommodations we needed except wifi. Given the culture of the island, the inn seemed to be very much in line, we didn't know what to expect and it turned into a great adventure. Maureen and David were very accommodating with all our needs. We rented a golf cart and drove around and around exploring the entire island, over and over. I would highly recommend doing that. We came upon an opportunity to see a crab business and learn about soft shell crabs...the next day we were taken on a wonderful tour by boat around the island by Lee...ask around for Lee. David made a delicious breakfast, omelettes, red and sweet potato hash, bacon, and fixings. If there was one challenge it was wifi...but given that our phones didn't have reception either we learned to accept no wifi except in the eating area. There was water pretty much over the property, but again that seemed to be true for much of the island, so we accepted it as a given. It felt like we were in a different world, and accepting that experience, we had much fun. Maureen was very honoring and personable. We left having a great respect for the culture of the island and the inn.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We stayed for a couple of days while exploring Tangier and were very disappointed. The place doesn't look like the pictures any longer. It seems the new owners have no time for landscaping, upkeep, or just cleaning in general, not to mention the dozens of stray cats that they keep roaming around the property. A couple of cats would be fine, but when you walk to your room and nearly half a dozen cats are following you and attempting to get in the room, it's a little annoying. They should do themselves and their customers a favor and get rid of at least a dozen or two of the cats. Based on older pictures I've seen advertising the place, it doesn't look like they've touched the landscaping at all since it was purchased several years ago, and weeds and overgrown plants make the place look all but abandoned. The wooden walkways are an accident waiting to happen with loose, rotted and broken boards. The main deck of the house also shouldn't serve as a storage area for dirty clothing and shoes. Overall, it looks like the owners just want to live there with the occasional annoyance of guests. This place really shouldn't be considered a bed and breakfast. All rooms are basically blocks of motel type rooms in the back with no available room for guests in the house at all. The only plus side is that the room was fairly clean with AC that was adequate for the hot temperatures outside. If you want WIFI, you pretty much have to go sit in the office as it doesn't reach to any of the rooms. I would recommend that you stay elsewhere. When we come back, we certainly will.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Our family of six ventured to Tangier for the first time a few weeks ago. We chose the Bay View Inn as it was guaranteed open during the early part of the season when we were planning our trip. Jim and Maureen were very gracious hosts and helped us feel welcomed. Breakfast was a nice hearty one. Chocolate chip muffins were great! Kids loved the cats on the island and those that were at the B&B. Room was good for our needs. We found that walking to the "downtown" area or the beach were very accessible. The first day, the weather was quite chilly and overcast. The next day we awoke to amazingly blue skies.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Inn

Address: 16408 West Ridge, Tangier Island, VA 23440
Region: United States > Virginia > Tangier Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tangier Island
Price Range: ₹ 8,034 - ₹ 15,748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended Inn when visiting Tangier Island. Established in 1904 by Sidney Wallace a merchant on Tangier Island. Bay View Inn is one of the oldest homes on Tangier Island and is filled with the beauty and charm of day's gone by. Our accommodations have fascinated artists, celebrities and business executives. Guest astronomy folks say it's an excellent location for viewing and searching the stars. Tangier Island's Bay View Inn will touch your soul for years to come. There are nine cottages and two rooms in the main house. Under new ownership and open year-round for you to enjoy a pleasant and restful visit to the quiet and remote fishing village of Tangier Island, Va. Featured in the 1973 November issue of National Geographic. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay View Hotel Tangier Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing