We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A charming surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Strasburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Strasburg
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A charming surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We discovered Hotel Strasburg quite by accident when a recent snow storm necessitated a quick re-routing of travel plans while in Virginia. We saw an online listing for them that looked positive, took a chance, and called for a reservation. I am glad we did—the hotel was a delight. It is an older, Victorian-type building in the heart of Strasburg, decorated with antiques. The hotel and our room, in particular, were pristine and comfortable. The hotel has an excellent dining room and the dinner we had there was memorable. A continental breakfast was also included with the accommodations. We found all of the staff extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the hotel and the town. We had a chance to speak with some of the other guests the next morning and learned that most were repeat visitors. I can understand why.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    71
    32
    14
    16
See reviews for
28
124
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
King George, Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

This hotel is in a Historic Building (Former Hospital) just outside of Downtown. Rooms run from small to large in the Inn to suites in out buildings. Each room is furnished with unique furniture and antiques. The staff members are very helpful and nice folks.
The Hotel has a Top Tier restaurant and a great Bar/Lounge - the Depot.
We've been going there for many years and always enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Main Inn with mulltiple beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VicF70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

If you are looking for a hotel experience which is not the usual soul-less service offered by chain hotels, this is for you. My wife and I stumbled on this absolute gem in Virginia.

On check in, you can choose your room as the bedroom doors remain open until occupied. The restuarant is old world with excellent food.

We hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnloughran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonardtown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed here on a whim based on the trip advisor reviews, the night before a lovely sunny saturday drive down Skyline drive. The place is like a 30 room bed and breakfest with a excellent dining room and bar attached. The rooms when not in use are all left open, and we enjoyed touring them and selecting our favorites for the next trip. The inn would not for everyone, if you're looking for modern chrome and splash with big screen TVs. The inn is really a huge bed and breakfest, with creaky floors, high ceilings, packed with collectables and antiques. Right in the middle of a residential neighborhood, very quiet. The dining room had excellent service and great food for very reasonable prices, my wife and I each had a nice entree, a drink from the bar, dessert and coffee for less than 50 dollars before tip. As mentioned in other reviews, the front desk evening lady could be a little more charming, but aside from her, and including the morning desk, everybody was full of southern charm. We'll be back, as often as we can. The rooms are too cute for words.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErkenROoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girard, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We come to the Strasburg every October and always look forward to staying in this quaint old hotel. To be sure, here and there it could use some restoration, but the staff is always pleasant and the restaurant serves consistently good food. You always know what you are getting when you come here and that is comforting!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puppa44420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
2.0 km away
Ramada Strasburg
Ramada Strasburg
#3 of 5 in Strasburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
37.1 km away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
19.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
28.0 km away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Strasburg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strasburg

Property: Hotel Strasburg
Address: 213 S Holliday St, Strasburg, VA 22657-2213
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,511 - ₹ 5,982
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Strasburg 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Strasburg was originally built as a private hospital in 1902 run by Dr. M.R. Bruin. Later in the 1900's the Hotel became a well-known place of lodging and dining in the Shenandoah Valley. Restored to Victorian Age elegance in 1978, its guest register in the lobby reflects a truly cosmopolitan parade of visitors from across the nation and around the world. The property is located about 70 miles from Northern VA and Washington DC in the historic district of downtown Strasburg, VA. It features a fine dinning restaurant and a quaint Pub and friendly staff. Provides Weddings and Wedding receptions as well as Banquete; Catering Services, and customized special occasion events. For outdoor adventure, trek into the wilds of the Shenandoah National Forest, the Massanutten Mountains, and the breathtaking Skyline Drive. Enjoy the many hiking, canoeing, or horseback riding opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Strasburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing