We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been loving this B&B for 15 years!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Sperryville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My husband and I found this charming place when it first opened and have been returning every year for great country weekends with Mike and Susan (the owners). The rooms are comfortable and cosy with wonderful decor, including some very nice paintings accenting the antique furniture. We love the farm setting, the pool and the hot tub. A number of our friends have adopted this place as well and thank us for finding it. Hikes in the area are wonderful and the farm breakfast is healthy and delicious. It's easy to find a good meal in town and in the surrounding towns for lunch and dinner. This last time, we went with 3 other couples and had a blast!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

My wife and I were looking for a B&B around Sperryville, an area we both think is about as beautiful as it comes, and we are so glad that we decided to stay at Belle Meade. 5 stars for sure. If you are just looking for a place to stay, well there are many of those in the area. But if you are interested in staying at a beautiful, working, sustainable farm run by a wonderful couple, that not only feeds locals (and guests!) from the farm but also supports a summer camp and school, all situated in the rolling Shenandoah valley, then this is your place. Here are some details from our experience. We will surely return.

The farm is in a gorgeous area up on a hill with plenty of great views - the warm sun found us in the morning and evening hanging out on the porch looking out toward old rag mountain. We stayed in the little cottage just off the main house and loved it. It has its own porch on two sides looking out over the farm and pool. The decor was clean and simple (we dont care much for the over-decorated thing). The main rooms also looked very comfortable in the house, which is a great old Victorian.

The food was really good. No joke. I wish they would serve dinner. The waffles were ground at home and were wonderfully textured and rich with the local apple compote on top. The milk was great (their milk cow's name is Cotton, how could the milk not be good). The next morning we had an egg dish cooked in a big iron pan with pork from the farm. Also really good. That reminds me, when you go, ask to buy a couple pork chops if they have any. Wow! Great flavor and good price too.

The owners, Susan and Mike, were great. They both made us feel at home and relaxed and were accommodating to our schedule - they reserved a dinner reservation for us and had the hot tub the perfect temperature after our day hike and in the evenings to watch the stars. They didnt mind at all when we tagged along to watch the pigs get fed and the cow milked.

The area is fun, lots to do. This trip we toured the copper fox distillery (really cool, be careful when tempted to smell the fermentation vat!), hiked up part of old rag, a couple antique shops, good food, etc.

I could keep writing, about all the great things they have going on - they run a summer camp where the kids can participate in the farming activities and a school too, focused on holistic and sustainable living - but you'll just have to go.

We miss you blue (and cotton, who woke us up one morning)...
Luke and Erika
thanks,

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at Belle Meade on Friday, Sept. 30. When I laid down on the bed I noticed a beetle on the curtain. I was startled when I found dozens of the same beetles behind the curtain. Then I looked closer around the room. There were many dozens of these things. I called Susan, owner of the place, and she admitted they had a problem with stink-bugs, but that she had not seen them so bad before. She said the housekeeper was supposed to vacuum them up daily! She offered us another room, which we stayed in as it was too late to find another place, but in the morning I counted twenty beetles. And these beetles fly! Besides the infestation, the bathroom door was unclosable, and the towels were worn and not well washed. All this for $180 a night. What a rip-off.

Room Tip: Avoid the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellemeadeinn, Owner at Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2011

Stink bugs are a problem in this area. Fortunately, they are harmless to humans. Unfortunately they are hard on crops such as apples and peaches. We clear them out of our guest rooms regularly. When the sun comes out, so do they. We use non-toxic methods since our practices are consistent with organic farming. When non-indigenous insects arrive, corralling them is a challenge. Our 1909 bathroom door does swell with humidity, but it does close. Most of our guests have been good-natured. They have stink bugs in their area as well. I wonder if the stink bugs will reach Maine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Family friendly B&B on a farm setting but not so close that you feel intruded on with farm sounds and smells. Great location for middle Shenandoah hiking and biking on the quite and well paved Virginia country roads. Good food, not fancy, but wholesome healthy and plentiful.

Room Tip: White Oak is spacious, great wood stove and awesome east/west/south facing windows. Claw foot tub m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We loved the B and B grounds, fabulous pool, and proximity to hiking. Amazing views! It has a nice, relaxed vibe with nice people. Cons were - hard beds, can't lock your room door (not even from inside), and the breakfast was kind of meager and mediocre, although the basic eggs were good, from their farm. For the price the breakfast could have been much better, but I guess you are paying for the views, and the pool when it's warm out. Sperryville is awesome.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HappyTraveler654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
22.9 km away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,012 reviews
22.8 km away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
56 reviews
12.9 km away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,166 reviews
8.7 km away
Inn on Thistle Hill Bed and Breakfast
22.6 km away
South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast

Address: 353 Ft Valley Rd, Sperryville, VA 22740-2325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated turn-of-the-century Victorian B&B located on 138 acre farm practicing sustainable agriculture. Pond with canoes and fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Belle Meade Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing