We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smithfield Station
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Courts Motel(Newport News)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midtown Motel(Newport News)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Key West Inn(Newport News)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
323
105
25
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
323
105
25
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspagan riversmithfield hamwindsor castle parkchocolate covered strawberriesbalcony overlookingelectric fireplacecrab cakeslodge roomsbottle of champagnejetted tubquaint townlight houselarge bathroomwater viewwalk in showerwaffleslighthouse suite
Filter
Updating list...
416 - 421 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at Smithfield Station for 2 nights using Groupon, what a great find. If you are looking for a great getaway spot - This is it. The staff was great, the restaurant and food was great, and the rooms were to die for. We went at the end of February 2012 and it just happened to be great weather but had it not been the rooms are so cozy we would have just lounged around inside our room all day which was the plan, anyway. We will definitely be going back soon, this is our new get away spot. Can' wait to go when the weather is warmer so that we can enjoy the balcony overlooking Pagan River.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PintSize105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

You are correct .... Smithfield is great in the summer! We look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks for the kind words!

Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Our 3rd visit to Smithfield Station, it was excellent and we will return.
Extremely clean facility, well appointed, friendly staff, gracious owner, comfort food and
a Cheers environment in the pub. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Request a jacuzzi room if available, but all rooms are excellent. Love the fireplace.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan1597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Welcome back! Thanks again for the great comments and we can't wait to see you for your 4th trip to Smithfield! Next time you stay, make sure you get signed up for our rewards program, ten nights earns you one free night! See you guys soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed at Smithfield for 2 nights at the beginning of January using their Groupon deal. And we're very glad that we did. We had been looking to book a mountain cabin, but when we saw this special offer, it was def. the best choice.

Even though it was low season and just a couple of other people stayed at the Station we were still greeted/treated with the same service as if it was full on tourist season. They offered advice on things to do and where to go in the little town too.

We had a massive room with the biggest bed I've ever seen, and a super big bathroom with large shower and jacuzzi bath. We had a free bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us. Everything was spotless and impressive. The room also had an ipod speaker dock - great for charging your iphone/ipod as well as listening to your own music.

The view from the room was lovely, and had it been that bit warmer, a lovely space to enjoy a spot of coffee on the deck. All these things combined really made you feel like you were in real luxury.

There was also a small closet area with a security safe, should you need it for a longer stay.

The bar offers a large selection of drinks and a special offer on something on the menu every night. It was $5 burger and fries night for us - very tasty and great value. There was a lovely atmosphere of what I assume to be locals (given it was off season) so things never seemed lonely or empty.

Breakfast was a nice selection and still a large spread even though there were nt many guests in the low season - they will cook eggs, bacon, waffles etc for you, and there are juices, pastries, cereals, toast etc to choose from too, with coffee and other hot drinks.

Because I am lazy and like to sleep in, I'd have liked breakfast to last a bit longer - but that is always the case with hotels and us because we like our lie ins - but the breakfast was worth getting up for - and also made you get up and ready to take in the sights of Smithfield (so its secretly a good thing, ha)

Our package also included a $40 gift card for the restaurant - with friendly staff, and the gift card a welcome invitiation to try the 'posher than the bar' :-) type food - with some local ingredients on offer too.

There are some boutique shops that are part of the complex which are cute to look in - but just for info - tourist gifts like hams etc can be had in the historic part of town if you need them.

Although it was of the few cold days in January (typical hah) - we still had lovely bright weather we made the views from our room and the walk around Windsor Castle park a pleasant and memorable time!

Our budgets would not have stretched to stay here in full season, so I'm very glad we got to sample a piece of Smithfield at a price we could afford. Thank you Smithfield station!

Room Tip: jacuzzi is good choice, and also a view over the marina is nice too
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Really glad you guys had a chance to enjoy yourselves! Thanks for the kind words and we would love to have you back again. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Of course we went in the "dead" of winter and this is a Marina so that could account for the empty rooms-the lodge where we stayed is beautiful and the front desk staff were very helpful and friendly-the furnishings throughout the lodge are amazing and our room was not only lovely but very comfortable
Dinner at the restaurant was very good and the wait staff very nice to deal with-breakfast the next morning was billed as a continental but went much farther-eggs,waffles,fruit,pastries,bagels etc a very nice experience
I would recomend this spot highly

Room Tip: They offer rooms in other building however I think the lodge is the newest
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roderiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Thanks guys! We are a bit slower in the winter, but would love for you to bring ALL of your friends! We will make sure to take care of you just as well. Hope to see you again soon!

Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This was our first stay at Smithfield Station but it absolutely will not be our last. The hotel, our room and the restaurant were spotless. The food was exceptional. Any question we had was met with a smile and a cheerful response. We felt like part of the family. What a delightful hotel. We have travelled a good portion of the USA, the Islands and Europe and in our expierence Smithfield Station ranks among the very best. . Smithfield Station is now at the top of our list.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

What a great review! Thank you so much! We try hard to keep our customers pleased so it is comments like yours that make this all worthwhile! I look forward to meeting you when you come back so please ask the desk for me!

Thanks again,
Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews