We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
5
5
4
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
5
4
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Matt, our guide, was one of the most entertaining cavern guides I have encountered. He has an excellent knowledge of the cavern's history, each room & his approach of cavern's presentation, letting the group-about 18 visitors-know of any damagers, such as wet & narrow walkways, low ceilings-many-number of steps & able to answer all questions with confidence,

A tour starts with 50 plus steps uphill & winding around room after room, while viewing very colorful rock formations & countless stalactite/stalagmites. Photography is must, with flash permitted. Many of my photos were on the dark side-they shot twice-use flash. The walkway is a combination of cement, brick & slate. Because of many wet areas, I recommend a good pair of hiking/work boots. Forget flip flops & sneakers. Also wear a waterproof hat, as many ceilings are constantly dripping water. With the temp 55F a light jacket is recommended.

A tour's time is about 45 minutes. Tipping is permitted. The gift shop is three sections, lots to checkout. Outside cavern's entrance is a very friendly kitty, while an orange kitty walks the gift shop. Dixie is located about one minute off I-81, Exit 132, on the right. Plenty of parking. Of four caverns during a recent trip, Dixie was # 2. A visit is recommended.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

This is a good spot for a quick overnight spot, but if you're looking for peace and quiet, views, or spacious, shaded sites go elsewhere. The sites are VERY narrow. If we had neighbors to our west their sewer hookup would be up against our outdoor mat and their potable water hookup would be even closer. We'd not be able to extend our awning.

The small restrooms require a coded lock and the police patrol in here fairly regularly. I'm not sure why wither is necessary but we will use our own facilities tonight.

No playground or pool, so kids would be bored.

We're right next to a major highway, so the road noise is considerable. Take that into consideration if you'd be camping here during open window season.

In short, it's not the sort of place we'd care to stay for more than a brief overnight.

Room tip: None are any better than others.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandora518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Low grade camping with lots of permanent campers. Right on the highway so you could hear the trucker noise all night. Camping sites were super tight. Did not like the way the grounds were kept. It was ok for a one night stop over but expensive at 36.00. The people in the store were very nice and there were a lot of neat things in the store. I just felt like the campground has been neglected for years.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Adjacent to the Dixie Caverns attraction, we spent two nights in a camper there. No soap or towels provided in the bathroom. Lots of permanent campers. There is an antique mall next to the caverns which was fun.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

The Dixie Caverns have a remarkable number of great geological features. I've been to Carlsbad, which is amazing, and I was just about as pleased with this sweet little Virginia Cavern. We toured with a guide named Matt, who was a delight and knew lots of good info about the caves. We even found some wildlife in the cave (see pics). The cavern is very close to Roanoke, easy half day trip, it's so worth it! Ask for Matt, he was a hoot!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank halfsare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews