We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel, showing some age, needs to be a little cleaner” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Mount
Kingsport, TN
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, showing some age, needs to be a little cleaner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

My family and I have stayed at this hotel for 5 years in a row about the same time every year so that we can visit family and enjoy Smith Mtn Lake. The hotel staff is very kind and pretty. Hotel is starting to show some age, carpet in hallways stained, etc. Rooms could be cleaner, vacuuming more effecient. Some rooms seem to be damp. I think the window A/C units are not removing enough moisture from the air, but are cooling the rooms well. There is no condensate dripping on the outside, so something is not right. Overall a good hotel for spending the night so that you can enjoy the lake or even a quick business stay. Breakfast was good and clean. Need to restock more quickly however. Beds are very soft and may be nonsupportive for some.

Room Tip: Ask for corporate rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    22
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
18
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
bryans road mayland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

For the last three trips, each one was a disaster. The first one, there were lasrge water bugs and the manager said that they get them all the time. The second stay at the hotel, the toliet was not working and they could not give me another room. The third time, the bed had not been changed and the room was filthy. They offered another room that wreaked of smoke. The hotel's service and quality has gone down the tubes for the last five years. DO NOT STAY THERE!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dog37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rocky Mount hotels

West Burke
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Our dog loved this place. His favorite room of the trip. We liked it also. A very comfortable room. Although we couldn't be on the 1st floor, it worked out fine. The complimentary breakfast was just right. Enjoyed the workout room. Very nice staff experience. Will stay again.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kjd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

We are house hunting in the area and since there are few choices locally have been staying here.
Room 225, same room we stayed in last fall
- Bath Room - mold growing in the tub surround, particularly the corners plus along the edge at the tile floor.
- Bathroom vent either didn't work or needs "help"
- Room should have been vacuumed before our arrival
- Desk staff concentrate almost everyone together instead of spacing. Someone next door room 223, left their TV on (theft deterrent?) then went out for the evening, returning noisily at 12:20AM. Smoker on the other side first night in a no smoking room.
- Two of three days, house keeper didn't leave face cloths nor was the tub wiped down
- Hot breakfast was cold, uninspired, watery juices, no fruit, generic brand whipped spread with no butter.
- Why do I have to see the breakfast attendant wander out the front door to smoke with the front desk person while working ?
- Desk staff didn't present a professional appearance, but did a decent job when asked.

This is the lesser of the two evils in Rocky Mount, but I might go back to the other next trip to see if they have changed

Room Tip: Get away from the elevator as it dings, 3rd is
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDW04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean and modern. Great location - 10 min from the college. Will stay again. Full hot breakfast out in the morning, even on a night with low number of people staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Mount
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake
25.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
27.8 km away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 km away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#23 of 40 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
24.3 km away
Halesford Harbour Inn
Halesford Harbour Inn
#1 of 1 in Moneta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
33.9 km away
Quality Inn Dutch Inn
Quality Inn Dutch Inn
#1 of 2 in Collinsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake
Address: 395 Old Franklin Tpke, Rocky Mount, VA 24151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rocky Mount
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Mount
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,480 - ₹ 9,481
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the beautiful new Rocky Mount Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located right off US 220 and Route 40. A 20 minute scenic drive will take you to the beautiful Smith Mountain Lake. We are located minutes from MW Windows, Carilion Franklin Memorial Hospital, and other area businesses. A short 30 minute drive down 220S will lead you to Martinsville and for the race fans the Martinsville Speedway. A 20 minute drive on 220N will lead you to Roanoke Virginia. Ferrum College is about 10 minutes away making us a perfect place to stay for a parents weekend or a visit to the college. Offering both standard rooms with a king or 2 queen beds and suites we are sure to have a room to please every traveler All rooms have hairdryers, iron/board, coffee makers, speakerphones w/voice mail and free high speed Internet access. Relax and unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool or exercise room featuring Nautilus equipment. We take pride in our guest service and quality. When staying in Rocky Mount Virginia, stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake
Holiday Inn Rocky Mount
Rocky Mount Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing