We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peanut Soup”

Regency Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Regency Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 544 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 22 - US$ 32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Williamson Road
Transit: Smart Way Bus has two stops along Wells Avenue. Star Trolley stops at the Market Building, with a short walk across the Market Square Walkway to the restaurant.
Description: Celebrating More Than 75 Years of Southern Hospitality This autumn, The Regency Room will be rich with bountiful colors and fresh ingredients as Executive Chef Stephen DeMarco and Chef de Cuisine Colin Lloyd introduce their new Autumn/Winter Menus. Make a statement in The Regency Room each and every time you dine! The Regency Room is located adjacent to the Hotel lobby.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We stoped in for a lite lunch recently and were impressed with the peanut soup. This item, which has been on the menu for as long as we can remember, has been updated since the last time we had it; the chicken stock base has been replaced with vegetable stock, making it a vegetarian order. The flavor remains as good as ever. And, the accompanying spoon bread is as lite as can be. Nicely done.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_Wells_GM, General Manager at Regency Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Mike O, thank you for your review and for choosing the restaurant for your dining. We have recently switched the base of the soup and it's wonderful to read it was not only recognized, but enjoyed all the same! Peanut soup and spoonbread have been a grand tradition in the restaurant since the 40s and our intent is to keep it as staple of the restaurant and it's heritage. I will share your kind words with our team and we hope to serve you again soon and continue to delight.

Sincerely,
Brian Wells
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Our dinner was very good and the atmosphere with the piano band in the background was great. Service was outstanding!

Prices were reasonable for the portion size given. Peanut soup was interesting but for me uninspiring, She Crab soup DELICIOUS. Shrimp and Scallops were Amazing as was the Appalachian trout.

Highly recommend giving them a try.

Thank tman5781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_Wells_GM, General Manager at Regency Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Dear tman5781, thank you for your review and for choosing the restaurant for your dining. We are honored to have you as a guest and are delighted that you found the service to be a highlight of your experience! We will share your kind review with our team and hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon!

Sincerely,
Brian Wells
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Ate here a couple of times while staying at the hotel in 2017. The food and service were excellent. Tried the shrimp and grits and the shrimp and scallop Chesapeake. Both were excellent. Be sure to try the peanut soup. They have a nice wine list and good bourbon too.

Thank Chet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_Wells_GM, General Manager at Regency Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Chet F, thank you for your review and for choosing the restaurant for your dining. It is wonderful to read you suggest the Peanut Soup as it has been a staple of the restaurant since 1940! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience and we hope to serve you again soon!

Sincerely,
Brian Wells
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

From the moment I parked I was greeted by the staff. We sat quickly, food came fast and it tasted great! No issues or complaints. I left $20 tip for a $40 lunch bill. Says it all...

Thank Lil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_Wells_GM, General Manager at Regency Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Lil P, thank you for your review and for choosing the restaurant for your dining! We are honored to have you as a guest and love that you enjoyed your entire experience! I will share the kind words with our team and we hope to serve you again soon!

Sincerely,
Brian Wells
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Excellent night all around. We were first-time diners and couldn’t have asked for a better experience. The manager, Alec Carlson, even prepared our bananas foster table-side and was extremely professional, answering every question we had and making sure we were taken care of. Such a knowledgeable person! Will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jlfisher360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_Wells_GM, General Manager at Regency Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear jlfisher360, thank you for your review and for choosing the restaurant for your dining! We are honored to have you as a guest and are delighted to read you enjoyed your first experience! We look forward to many more and to serving you again soon!

Sincerely,
Brian Wells
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Regency Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing