We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$622
Travelocity$622
Priceline$622
Traveluro$677
FindHotel$622
Curio$622
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,302)
Filter reviews
3,302 results
Traveller rating
2,194
728
228
91
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,194
728
228
91
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pine room regency room the executive lounge valet parking beautiful historic hotel self park old world charm classic hotel covered walkway railroad tracks downtown area conference center corner room love this hotel curios norfolk refrigerator
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 3,302 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2022

Location was perfect. Hotel is connected to downtown Roanoke by an enclosed aerial walkway. However, it sits on its own plot of beautifully landscaped land which makes it much quieter than downtown and we were glad we choose to stay here instead of in the middle of downtown.

Self-parking isn't free, but it is plentiful and gated (there were four reserved spots for Hilton Diamond members close to the entrance). The hospitality started in the parking lot; a little electric golf cart followed us in to the lot and offered to drive us with our luggage up to the front entrance which would otherwise have been a bit of a trek to walk uphill with luggage.

The lobby is grand and has two restaurants and a bar attached to it. At check-in, as a Hilton Gold I was upgraded from a 2 queen standard to an executive level 2 queen room which ended up being a spacious corner room. As others have mentioned, it is a bit odd that the executive level rooms are on the first floor. (The pool was right outside our windows on one side.) The room was beautifully appointed and even had a small table with two chairs in addition to a chair for the desk. The shower / tub temperature and pressure were good, although the tub was a bit slow to drain (it could keep up with the shower but only if the tub hadn't accumulated any water from the tub faucet yet). The TV had a hotel channel playing a documentary on the history of the hotel which I enjoyed watching, too. The executive room came with a $10pp F&B voucher in addition to the $15pp credit for being a Gold member, which I think was because the executive lounge no longer offers food at least in the evening, although sodas and supposedly coffee were still available. (I saw a bunch of people go in the lounge in the morning but I don't think breakfast is available anymore either.)

The service in the Regency Room was top notch and five star for dinner. It was appropriately more laidback for breakfast but still excellent. We ordered off the menu for breakfast; most items are priced around $15 (basic drinks included in the price). Portions were generously sized, and while some items overlapped with the buffet, others (mains or sides) were only available from the menu. The buffet appeared to offer a dangerously large selection of excellent hot and cold choices for those who prefer it.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ywlke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Brian Wells, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2022

Dear ywlke, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have you as a guest and delighted you enjoyed your entire experience. I will share the kind words with our entire team and hope to serve you again soon!

Sincerely,
Brian Wells
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2022

The good experience started when our Uber driver told us we would be staying in the best hotel in town. From there it just got better. We got in late on a rainy night after a long tiring day of flying from California, and we must have looked it, because the desk clerk said it seemed to him that we deserved a nice room. Imagine our surprise to walk into a full suite, so many thanks to him for his consideration. The separate living room came in very handy for entertaining family during our stay. It's an older, historical hotel so the rooms are smallish, but still lovely and well appointed, and the beds are so comfortable. Having drinks at the lobby bar was relaxing and the fire in the fireplace was just the right touch. Breakfast at the Regency Room was wonderful as well. It's a beautiful hotel that lives up to its reputation, and it was a wonderful experience staying here.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RonSanLuisdelaPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Brian Wells, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2022

Dear RonSanLuisedelaPaz, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have you as a guest and delighted you enjoyed your accommodations! I am also delighted to read you took advantage of the food and beverage outlets on property. I will share the kind words with our team and we hope to serve you again when your travels return you to the region.

Sincerely,
Brian Wells
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2022 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay. The hotel was beautiful. The staff was so nice and accommodating. It was a great location in downtown Roanoke. We were able to walk to the market and multiple restaurants. The restaurants on site at the restaurant were great. The gym was nice. I didn’t get a chance to use the pool, but it looked really nice.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank tiffster05
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Brian Wells, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2022

Dear tiffster05, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have you as a guest and delighted you enjoyed your entire experience. We hope if your travels return you to the region, we will again have the privilege to serve you.

Sincerely,
Brian Wells
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2022 via mobile

Lovely old historical hotel. Better suited for convention travelers than couples.

The good:
- Buffet breakfast in the Regency was wonderful and the highlight of our stay. Great server staff. Thought about ordering individual entrées until we saw the buffet. Very well done and worth the money. Diamond perks paid for part of the breakfast.
- Lovely outdoor pool area

Not so good-
- Self parking not convenient. -Rooms are older as expected in this type of hotel but not as nice as the Virginian in Lynchburg.

The worst- As a diamond member, we had access to the executive lounge. This was very very disappointing. 3 choices of bottled beverages: Coke, Sprite, and water. The hot cocoa machine produced a cup of colored hot water which was not drinkable. Strong smell of coffee in the area. Definitely NOT worth upgrading to have access to this lounge, if you were thinking of doing so. It was so disappointing. Had planned to mention this in a survey, but never received one following my stay.

Room tip: Do not upgrade to have access to the executive lounge, or you will be very disappointed
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dundee926
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Brian Wells, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2022

Dear Dundee926, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced with the Executive Lounge and will address your issues with our team. We appreciate you sharing your feedback so we can improve our operations, service and experience. We hope if your travels return you to the area, we will again have the privilege to serve you.

Sincerely,
Brian Wells
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2022

I had a meeting set for Roanoke May 17 so I called the Hotel Roanoke to make a reservation on 5/10 and they said to go through the website.
I asked the cancellation policy and they said ok 24 hours before was fine.
When I clicked on The Hotel Roanoke I ended up at reservations.com and booked the night of May 16. I never even saw their confirmation email until after i had tried to cancel it. ( they had a deadline of midnight 5/10)
When I learned the next day 5/11 that my meeting had been moved to a different town, I tried the call number on the reservation and they said there was a. one night penalty so even though it was less than 24 hours they wouldnt refund the one night.
The Reservation.com folks were totally unhelpful and certainly keep me from ever wanting to use the Hotel Roanoke again ever.
I am a Hilton Honors member and thought you should know about this incident and not allow reservations.com to book ANY of your Hilton Properties.

Date of stay: May 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Service
Thank John1953xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Brian Wells, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2022

John1953xxx, thank you for your review and I apologize for the experience. This website unfortunately is not directly affiliated with the hotel or the brand and we have seen countless problems with it. This has been reported multiple times and we advise against booking with these types of websites. As a third party reservation, we unfortunately can't rectify the situation on our end as it is not directly reserved through us. I am devastated that this experience has soured your impression of the hotel and hope it doesn't impact your view on the brand as a whole.

Sincerely,
Brian Wells
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews