We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful stay with small child.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MainStay Suites Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MainStay Suites Airport
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
central Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay with small child.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Best breakfast any where around! Rooms extremely comfortable, spacious, loaded with any feature needed. Staff went out of their way to be ideal hosts! We definitely will br back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VA10Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    39
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
60
31
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Wonderful staff.. Especially Curtis! Hot coffee/ cappuccino 24/7. Decent gym. Secure .. Well lit ... Clean, good breakfast. Roomy suites. Wifi.... All in all I have stayed here over 2 mos. Almost 2 mos. when relo brought us here then this 2 wks waiting for our new home to be finished. I would say its the best if the beds were just a little
Better! Still a great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaydayFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forest park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is the greatest place to stay in Roanoke, VA! The room were very clean, breakfast was great as well with a friendly staff; but the real Gem of this business is Ms.Curtis Saunders, she makes you feel very welcome the moment you walk into the door. I travel alot and I have stayed in alot of hotels all over the world and noone has made me feel as welcome as Ms. Saunders has! This company needs to make sure that they appreciate Ms. Saunders!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Overall - A very good, friendly hotel experience for budget suites. You will probably enjoy your stay if you understand what amenities to expect for what you pay.

Location - In the Valley View Mall Loop, which is convenient for dining out. Very close to the airport, but plane noise not a problem in our room. A little distance from downtown Roanoke (5-10 min) if that is your focus. Do NOT follow Mapquest instructions. It is easy to get to but you need to take the correct "mini-exit" after you get off the interstate. If you are told to make a U-turn, call for directions.

Room - You get a lot of space for the price. We had a 2 room suite with a king size bed. Room was well cleaned. Kitchen has a full size refrigerator, sink, cabinets, etc. Few dishes but enough to get by. Couch had seen better days and sank in a little. Bed wasn't top notch but it wasn't bad either - could sleep on it in decent comfort. Pillows were nice. Separate room for bath/shower and toilet with bathroom sink outside, which I like. Water pressure was good. There was a nice long closet. Also had two good sized TVs. I think thermostat temperatures were a little off but the system kept the room warm easily.

Service/Food - This is a budget suite, so room cleaning had to be requested and you had to get your own towels if you wanted a change after you got there. Front desk staff worked with us very well to resolve a minor issue (was accidentally booked in a 1 room suite instead of 2 - an issue with a baby) and extend our stay when we were snowed in. All in all I appreciated the friendliness and attention to detail - even the "behind the scenes" staff was friendly. Breakfast was a limited hot breakfast, with eggs, sausage, gravy, biscuits you had to zap, waffle maker, wrapped pastries, juices, cereal - food was well done but limited variety.

Value - Hard to beat the price we paid for what we got.

Room Tip: Specify whether you want 1 room or two room suite. We were on bottom floor and noise was pretty lim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpt-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here for a night while visiting relatives. We got a good, fair price and a spacious room (sitting area and kitchen separate from bedroom with bath). The room was clean, but showing a little wear and tear. Kitchen space was above average except there were very few dishes (I mean ONE cup, two bowls, etc.). We had two double beds that were extremely uncomfortable as was the pull-out couch. I made it up for my 10 year old, and he decided within 3 minutes he'd rather share a bed with his baby sister. There is a room safe and a separate bath area from the vanity. The bathroom seemed very clean, which is a big plus. The walls were very very thin, and we heard several conversations and dogs barking throughout the night and into the early morning. Someone took their dogs out every two hours and let them bark all the way down the hall and back. The best part of the whole experience was the front desk clerk, Curtis. She was very outgoing and friendly...smart too! She went above and beyond by calling me to let me know I had left our car lights on. Overall, it was just okay. We'd stay here in a pinch, but I like another Roanoke hotel better.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmain13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#10 of 40 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
5.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Airport

Property: MainStay Suites Airport
Address: 5080 Valley View Blvd NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#10 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,620 - ₹ 8,667
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home and stay longer for less at the pet-friendly MainStay Suites® Roanoke Airport in Roanoke, VA. We are conveniently located off of Interstates 81 and 581, less than two miles from the Roanoke Regional Airport and the Valley View Mall and close to the following popular attractions: Blue Ridge Parkway Dixie Caverns and Pottery Shop Mill Mountain Zoo Lewis-Gale Medical Center Field ballpark Spend time exploring the area, which offers a wide range of outdoor recreational activities like golfing, hiking, horseback riding, boating, fishing and swimming. A variety of restaurants, cocktail lounges and specialty shops are within walking distance. Our spacious suites will make your time with us enjoyable whether you’re here for days, weeks or even months. Each residential-style guest room includes fully-equipped kitchen facilities, sofa sleepers, flat-screen television, hair dryer and iron. Additional complimentary offerings include: Free continental breakfast Free premium cable television with movie channels Free airport transportation Free high-speed Internet access Corporate travelers will appreciate our on-site business center, public computer, access to copy and fax services and meeting facilities. Start or finish the day with a workout in our exercise room and spend time relaxing by practicing your swing on our on-site putting green. Our extended stay hotel has ample free parking that can accommodate most vehicles and features laundry facilities on the property that are available for use at your convenience. Book your stay today at the MainStay Suites in Roanoke, VA and enjoy all of the luxuries of home for as long as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your MainStay Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Airport Hotel Roanoke
Mainstay Roanoke
Mainstay Suites Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing