We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but good”

Taubman Museum of Art
Ranked #10 of 75 things to do in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 November 2017

It is a small museum downtown, but well maintained, and free. I'm not sure what they had on the first floor, but the second had about 6 exhibits. It was a variety of things to see but my favorites was a Lieber purses. That was a very impressive exhibit. The "Play" exhibit had a charge, probably not really worth it, but since it is a free museum at least it went to a good cause. I would recommend this as a stop in Roanoke.

Thank 319ellenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatWTMA, Guest Relations Manager at Taubman Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thanks for coming, we hope you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"free admission"
in 19 reviews
"norman rockwell"
in 13 reviews
"permanent collection"
in 9 reviews
"john singer sargent"
in 5 reviews
"great architecture"
in 5 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 6 reviews
"exhibits change"
in 5 reviews
"downtown roanoke"
in 24 reviews
"third floor"
in 5 reviews
"on display"
in 18 reviews
"within walking distance"
in 5 reviews
"gift shop"
in 10 reviews
"judith"
in 24 reviews
"galleries"
in 21 reviews
"installation"
in 14 reviews
"handbag"
in 16 reviews
Filter

39 - 43 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

I came here for a work function and I felt the overall atmosphere was very dry. The displays were okay but overall I wish the City of Roanoke would have used this space for something more locally original.

Thank EGORLAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatWTMA, Guest Relations Manager at Taubman Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

We appreciate your visit, and hope that you will check out our website for great exhibitions and events coming soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Unexpectedly good art museum for a relatively small town. The building itself is a work of art. And its free!

Thank JohnandJaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatWTMA, Guest Relations Manager at Taubman Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Please visit again when you are in our city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

A unique building housing a varied collection of art. The standard collection is very interesting with a variety of art. The rotating collections can be hit or miss so need to do research. The best thing though is walking through and around the building.

Thank 908hanss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatWTMA, Guest Relations Manager at Taubman Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for your visit and review. We hope you will view our website for upcoming events and exhibitions, and that you can visit soon and often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We were drawn in by current special exhibition Play: Toys Re-imagined as Art from a recent mailer, inspiring us to even reactivate our family membership to the museum. We guessed we'd require repeat visits to Play with our kids, ages 8 and 4, and that we'd enjoy some more weekend afternoons in Art Venture, the wonderful kids' art makerspace area associated with the museum. We made a good investment! About one week later, we've been to Play with the kids, to a special Clue game event evening with one kid, and to Art Venture with both kids. As an adult, I especially enjoyed the ornate rug made of dirt in the current Tangled exhibit. The kids found the balloon sculpture and the clouds of Play most fascinating. Our 8-year-old particularly appreciated the amount of Legos available in Art Venture currently. Look at website for pricing info. Convenient to a variety of downtown Roanoke restaurants. Exhibits change often, and displays often feature truly interesting contemporary art with a gallery or two also featuring classic pieces.

Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatWTMA, Guest Relations Manager at Taubman Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thanks to you and your family for sharing your time to come and PLAY with us! We appreciate your comments and hope that you will visit soon and often. Please check out our website calendar for info on coming events!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taubman Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Taubman Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing