We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tacos great tequila chill atmosphere ”

Tuco's Taqueria Garaje
Ranked #27 of 485 Restaurants in Roanoke
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 12
Description: Tuco's is all about modern Latin American food, inventive spirits with select ingredients organically grown on-site, and more than 90 tequilas and mezcals served up to your liking at our industrial-style bar.
Restaurant details
Description: Tuco's is all about modern Latin American food, inventive spirits with select ingredients organically grown on-site, and more than 90 tequilas and mezcals served up to your liking at our industrial-style bar.
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

We stopped in on a whim looking for an outdoor dog friendly patio - what a great find! The chorizo tacos and pork tacos are fantastic - will rival any taco from any taqueria- go traditional on the fixings. The tequila bar is extensive and high end - but not insanely expensive. The margaritas were good and the staff super friendly and helpful. Absolutely on our list next time we are in Roanoke!

Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa P, Guest Relations Manager at Tuco's Taqueria Garaje, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Andrew, we are glad that you and your pup stopped by! Thanks for the 5 stars and we hope you'll drop in next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2017

Went last night with a group. It was my second time there. First time we left because we couldn't get service. This time service was okay. Taco specials buy 2 get 1, so we got to try the tacos! Beef, fish and chorizo were great! $5 margaritas also were a hit with our group. Great new addition to downtown!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TravelChick0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa P, Guest Relations Manager at Tuco's Taqueria Garaje, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

We are happy to hear that you had a good experience. We appreciate your feedback. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Excellent atmosphere. Tried both the house margarita and the ocho margarita. The Ocho has a stronger Taste of tequila if you like that. I prefer the traditional margarita. The fish tacos were excellent. Pan seared tuna. Do the traditional variety not the American variety. Excellent wood bar and environment. Great young people to talk with. We sat at the bar which is great.

Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa P, Guest Relations Manager at Tuco's Taqueria Garaje, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Philip, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your tacos and drinks! We hope this means we'll be seeing more of you! Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Have dined here 2 times and both times enjoyed it! Thet need a better waiting area...wait staff gets frustrated very easily trying to work around waiting customers. Very congested bar-waiting area scene. Only have about 10 tables or so and while they turn quickly it's still not worth it to come during peak times. Ample parking nearby. Bartenders are very talented and friendly. Overall it's loud but their tacos are the best in town.

Thank Hokie1Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa P, Guest Relations Manager at Tuco's Taqueria Garaje, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thanks so much for stopping by to give a review. We are happy to hear you like the tacos and drinks. We appreciate your feedback, it's highly valued!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

I really wanted to like Tuco's based on the recommendation of our family, but being from Los Angeles our bar is pretty high when it comes to what passes as good Mexican food. That said, Tuco's missed the bar. The salsa is not very good and the chips are not homemade (think Dorito's). The tacos are passable, beef and pork (particularly the pork taco), but there is still something fundamental missing. In fact, there is something missing from the entire place. Maybe it was just not "authentic" enough for us, but whatever it was, it made for a fair to middling experience. The service was horrible (maybe he was having a really bad day), and like I said, the salsa tasted like tomato paste. One word of advice. Go back to the chalkboard and figure it out. All really good Mexican food begins with a great base (spices, chilis, etc.), AND you can differentiate between a good Mexican restaurant and a lousy one in 5 seconds based on the chips and salsa!! 3-Stars because you're in Roanoke, Virginia, and you tried.

Thank DocSnarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa P, Guest Relations Manager at Tuco's Taqueria Garaje, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

We appreciate your feedback, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuco's Taqueria Garaje also viewed

 

Been to Tuco's Taqueria Garaje? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing