We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always love the FOOD, but large groups are too loud”

Grandale Vintner's Table
Ranked #9 of 46 Restaurants in Purcellville
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Grandale Vintner's Table offers a dynamic local dining experience, including distinctive tasting, dining and wine paring opportunities. The new concept by Executive Chef Author Clark will continue to showcase local, farm-to-fork fare, but with an exciting epicurean twist in an accessible, relaxed setting.
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We love the food here. Always.
However this past weekend there were two large groups (more than 10 people) and it was too loud. This is a small room, and the size of the groups need to be limited to 6 people to tone down the amount of noise with people yelling at each other.

Consider limiting your groups, it made our experience unpleasant and our guests insisted that we leave early due to the noise.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AngSeaWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2016

We have been going to Grandale Farm for 7 years now. Were married there, and ate at least twice a year on special occasions. We are even members of the wine club and visit the tasting room 3-4 times a year. In 7 years we had not been disappointed until yesterday. As we were seated we were given dinner menus not brunch menus. We arrived at noon and didn't want the heavy filet, pork shanks or other heavy dinner items for brunch. When we asked about brunch, we were told brunch was served until 3 but the host said we 'had to ask our server' about brunch. When our server arrived, we were told there were only 2 options: trout omelet or crab cake benedict. I had no interest in fish that day, nor the 4-5 pork options on the dinner menu. We could get the omelet without trout. Fine. We asked about appetizers and what was offered with the antipasto plank. We were told dried and cured meats, salami, cappicola, etc. I asked if it was enough to serve 4 and was told it's really like a salad, and not conducive to sharing. So we went with the cheese board. A few minutes later the table next to us had the antipasto plank and it was not a salad and was sufficient for our table to share. The omelet was not the quality I had become accustomed to. They were scrambled eggs with sundried tomato and arugula in the middle, no flavor. I understand the trout was not included but they were bland and my omelet was simply a mess of scrambled eggs. To top it off, we were not offered any price adjustment for the trout-less omelet and paid 18.00 for each plate of eggs. The fruit included on the plate was not ripe. All of it was hard as a rock. The one highlight was the purple fingerling potatoes. I have never had a bad experience until yesterday. I suspect either the chef has left or there is new management.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DeniseP848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancyd3, Owner at Grandale Vintner's Table, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Denise, We are sincerely sorry that you did not receive the service and quality you have come to expect from Grandale. We can assure that the management has not changed, and that Chef Author is still at the helm in the kitchen, but that does change any of the deficiencies you mentioned in your review.

We appreciate your candid feedback, and will address the issues you mentioned that can be resolved with better staff training, like the menu mishap and the incorrect description of menu items. We would like to invite you to come back and enjoy the Grandale you know and love. Please send an email to info@868estatevineyards.com so that we can complete this process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I took friends with us for a wine tasting and lunch. The filet mignon-$27 for 6 oz-was not tender. The crab cakes were not jumbo lump and had a fishy sort of taste--shouldn't. The beef vegetable soup contained pieces of beef that were undercooked, stringy and inedible. My husband and I were really embarrassed that we had suggested our friends go with us. It was not the same as we remembered from our visit years ago, prior to the addition of the 868 Winery. None of us will ever go back!

2  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancyd3, Owner at Grandale Vintner's Table, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear Karen, Guest input and feedback is vitally important to us, and we always strive to meet guest expectations in the restaurant. We are very sorry that your recent experience is not what you expected from Grandale, and can assure you that it is highly uncharacteristic of our chef and our team. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you that in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We went to this vineyard to look at the vintage Jaguars being shown at the yearly Jaguar Car Show. The vintage Jaguars, specially the E-Types were just beautiful. The vineyard, buildings and scenery are very beautiful. We decided to eat lunch at the Grandale Restaurant at 868. We sat outside on the veranda to enjoy the beautiful scenery. The dinning room had very modest and rusty furnishings

Our waitress was young and very pleasant. She explained the menu to us. We ordered the salmon share plater, an arugula salad and the oysters. The food was sufficient for 4 persons.

The ingredients were fresh and of the highest quality. The various dishes were expertly prepared and presentation of each dish was very nice. The salmon and shrimps were nicely cooked. The salmon was not seasoned at all and therefore did not taste as well as it should have tasted. There was also some oil in the cus cus which was not necessary. The oysters and the and the salad were prepared perfectly. I will recommend this restaurant to friends and I will go there again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Farhad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Today you lost a fan. I had been recommending this restaurant to friends and coworkers but not any more. I asked for a simple switch on sides due to dietary restrictions and the Chef refused. That is not customer service.

1  Thank Vagabunda22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancyd3, Owner at Grandale Vintner's Table, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

We are so sorry to hear that you did not have a wonderful experience at GVT recently. As you may know from previous visits, our menu is specifically designed for flexibility in order to accommodate customers with dietary restrictions, and we make substitutions for customers regularly.

The request that was made that night, to substitute halibut for salmon which we were more than willing to do, was offered with an adjustment of the price of the dish for the halibut rate which was not acceptable to you. While we strive to accommodate all our customers food requests, we cannot substitute a much more expensive fish without adjusting the price of the dish.

Our staff tried to work with you on this request and the several other changes that you asked for. I am sorry that, in the midst of a busy evening, we were unable to accommodate all of your modifications. For customers who have extensive dietary challenges, it is helpful for us to have a heads up ahead of time so that we can have ingredients available to ensure that you have a lovely dining experience.

We wish you all the best and appreciate your previous patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grandale Vintner's Table also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Grandale Vintner's Table? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing