We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Little bit of paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Little bit of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

This was out second hotel in NZ during the Rugby World Cup.

The hotel has a stunning setting and we found out was a base for some of the teams during the tournament.

The hotel is right beside the waitangi treaty ground which is a must to visit and only a short walk from Paihia.

The hotel staff were excellent during our stay and treated us like royalty which is not expected for irish rugby crowd. The large restaurant was beautiful in the mornings for breakfast and the hotel had a nice warm rock pool outside.

The room itself was clean, fresh and well appointed and the view outside was breathtaking in the mornings. See my profile photo!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback.
Reading your post brings back memories, it seems like a life time ago that the Rugby World Cup was on!
Wishing you safe travels.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    344
    251
    110
    68
See reviews for
182
496
28
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed here with points, and so I don't know how to rate it terms of value. The room was very clean, and nice, but it was pretty average in terms of size for a "resort" room. We were given a room without a view, which I can understand given that we were using points. However, the rest of the hotel was empty, and there were pretty views over the water, and it would have been nice to have been given a better room. I would have asked for one, but by the time that we realized that we didn't have a view, we'd already hauled our luggage through the rain and down a long hall. It was nice to be able to walk over to the Treaty Grounds. We had a car, so we didn't mind not being in close walking distance of Paihia. The pool and hot tub were lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, don't assume one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BascomCootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for your comments. Please let us kow the room type you request on your next stay.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed here, and after having read some of the reviews, were not expecting too much, however we were pleasantly surprised. Whilst this is not every going to be a top hotel, I am giving it 5 stars based on its excellent performance for a hotel of this class.
The rooms are very spaceous, and they all seemed to have a private outdoor seating area. I particularly liked the very high ceilings, and wooden panelling styling within the rooms. Everything was clean and well laid out, and the bathroom was well appointed. It was all very comfortable, and considering the wet weather which meant we had to spend a lot of time in the hotel room, this was a good thing!
The facilities in the hotel seemed to be very good. Really great to see guest laundry facitilities. Also, the hotel has lots of information and can book excursions for you. There is also an interesting outdoor pool area, however it was too wet for us to use. We did not try the breakfast so can not comment there, but overall an enjoyable experience.
If you are staying at this hotel, you MUST walk to the tall ship docked nearby which has been converted into a gourmet fish and chips restaurant. In fact, this was one of the best experiences of our whole stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank yo for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to your return when the sun is shining!

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

having stayed here many times i am always amazed at how beautiful it is. We stayed on the $85 night. It was great value. If you are not a regular vistor to Paihia, the treaty grounds are ajacent and Pahia is a lovely walk to town, About 20 mins, along the foreshore. Relaxing rather than a vigerous walk. The room was clean, tidy and everything was in working order.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pompallier64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for your comments. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
471 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Comfortable, cosy, easy parking, good food, pleasant and willing service at all times. The views are spectacular, and you are actually staying IN a historical site (the Waitangi treaty grounds). You are separated from the bustle of Paihia, but only by a short bridge and drive or walk. This really is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeaganVJ, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I have to agree that we are one in a million with our location.

Regards,
Meagan Karow
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
1.1 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
2.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
2.3 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.4 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150 (Paihia), Waitangi 2150, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,883 - ₹ 11,900
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands Waitangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing