We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome sailing experience!

My husband and I just completed Great Escape’s 5 day learn to sail course and can’t recommend them... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
403Tasi
,
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
via mobile
5 nights bay of islands 2021

Fabulous trip. Weather perfect! Kokako was a great boat and was set up perfectly for us. 1 adult... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
brettsN4356DO
via mobile
Read all 168 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Opua
from US$ 145.69
More Info
from US$ 247.67
More Info
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
154
11
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
154
11
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sailing experience beautiful bay of islands great sailing expert advice sailing conditions roberton island bareboat charter awesome company an experienced sailor bigger boat amazing days foot boat bird life deep water day sail perfect weather snapper fishing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2020

Julie and Bill and Daryl are amazing. It's been a great course. We enjoyed every minute of it and learnt so much!

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank yw123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2020

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and your positive rating. We're very please you learnt so much and wish you all the very best for your future sailing adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2020 via mobile

Awesome service from first inquiry, booking, meeting us on the first day, making sure we were sorted throughout the week and sending us off at the end. Daryl was an awesome sailing coach, kept us motivated, eager to learn and we felt proud of what we achieved during the week. We even graduated to taking the boat out ourselves for a few days, yay!

We learnt how to passage plan, doing that each day, radio calls, checking the weather and understanding how that impacts on our sailing plans/approaches etc and how to sail. We were a pair that had zero sailing experience and some experience and Daryl catered to us both. As well as being an experienced sailing coach, Daryl was good company with a good sense of humour, he also has great pronunciation of all the local place names and good general knowledge of the rohe/area. Def recommend if you are interested in an adventure holiday, building your skills and confidence and having some fun on the water.

Ngā mihi nui ki a koutou, Kia ora to Julie, Daryl and Bill

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank 146jg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for your positive recommendation. Congratulations back to the two of you, we always get such pleasure seeing the skills and confidence of our sailors develop and meeting you at the dock after a successful self-sail is hugely rewarding for the team, thank you.
We wish you all the best for your continued sailing adventures and look forward to seeing you at the dock again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2020

OMG!!! Do this 'Great Escape' sailing experience - the best break I possibly have ever had! The 3 days tuition seemed intense initially but it all came together nicely and set us up for our own 5 day charter in the beautiful Bay of Islands. The fresh air, adventure, new sailing skill set, visiting new places and sites, the peace of sleeping on your own yacht in a secluded bay, taking a morning run/walk on an island bustling with bird life and letting the wind take you is simply amazing - possibly even devine :-)
Book it now and do it! Thank you to Julie, Bill and Darryl of the Great Escape team.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank arronperriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2020

Thank you so much for your review and recommendation.
Sometimes it is hard for us to explain how this adventure works and how special it can be. You've captured the key elements nicely and we are so glad you had a great experience. We'd love to have you come to sail with us again and wish you well for your continued sailing adventures, where ever they may be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2020

Enjoyed our experience of a bareboat charter of a Nolex25 with Great Escape. Boat was mature and basic but sound and suited our purpose. Staff were pleasant, helpful and a pleasure to deal with. We will hire from them again happily.

Date of experience: October 2020
1  Thank AllanWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2020

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review, it is appreciated. We'd love to have you back sailing with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2020

Exceptional escape, learnt to sail Noelex 25 over 3 amazing days of tuition, very thorough and safety conscious. We had a further 5 day charter exploring the beautiful Bay if Islands. Mind blown.

Date of experience: October 2020
1  Thank ArronP611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2020

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review, it is very much appreciated. So glad you had such a great time and we look forward to having you come to sail with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews