We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome sailing experience!

My husband and I just completed Great Escape’s 5 day learn to sail course and can’t recommend them... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
403Tasi
,
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
via mobile
5 nights bay of islands 2021

Fabulous trip. Weather perfect! Kokako was a great boat and was set up perfectly for us. 1 adult... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
brettsN4356DO
via mobile
Read all 168 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Opua
from US$ 145.69
More Info
from US$ 247.67
More Info
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
154
11
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
154
11
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sailing experience beautiful bay of islands great sailing expert advice sailing conditions roberton island bareboat charter awesome company an experienced sailor bigger boat amazing days foot boat bird life deep water day sail perfect weather snapper fishing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2020

Enjoyed our experience of a bareboat charter of a Nolex25 with Great Escape. Boat was mature and basic but sound and suited our purpose. Staff were pleasant, helpful and a pleasure to deal with. We will hire from them again happily.

Date of experience: October 2020
1  Thank AllanWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2020

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review, it is appreciated. We'd love to have you back sailing with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2020

Exceptional escape, learnt to sail Noelex 25 over 3 amazing days of tuition, very thorough and safety conscious. We had a further 5 day charter exploring the beautiful Bay if Islands. Mind blown.

Date of experience: October 2020
1  Thank ArronP611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2020

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review, it is very much appreciated. So glad you had such a great time and we look forward to having you come to sail with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2020 via mobile

Great place, great team, great boat!
Fast and efficient check in /check out.
Friendly and professional contact.
Thank you Great Escape.
We'll come back and definetly recommend the experience

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank iann_blanchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us it is very much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your charter with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2020

We had a five day sleep aboard sailing experience in the stunningly beautiful Bay of Islands-the first 2 days with an experienced sailor and tutor on board during the day time. Then we took our yacht off to practice our skills and explore on our own.
Best bit was mooring in a pretty little bay in total isolation.....and spending the night there ....paradise.
Bernie, our instructor, was an experienced teacher.... calm, reassuring, encouraging and a life-long sailor. we felt completely safe with him.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank 837traceyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2020

Thank you so much for your review, it is very much appreciated. We're so glad you were able to enjoy our slice of paradise. We're very lucky with the beautiful Bay of Islands sheltered cruising grounds and our experienced instructors enabling us to safely cast you off for your own sailing adventure. We look forward to you sailing with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2020 via mobile

The 6 day sail yourself course with greatescape was absolutely fantastic. The instructor schooled us for the first three days emparting their broad knowledge on sailing to make sure we were safe on our solo journey. We had great laughs!
Admin and support were also awesome, a great fun supportive team.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank russelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, it is very much appreciated. We're so glad you had a great sailing adventure holiday with us, enjoying the learning and the time sailing by yourselves. We're all looking forward to happier times in the world and hope you can come sailing with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews