We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome sailing experience!

My husband and I just completed Great Escape’s 5 day learn to sail course and can’t recommend them... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
403Tasi
,
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
via mobile
5 nights bay of islands 2021

Fabulous trip. Weather perfect! Kokako was a great boat and was set up perfectly for us. 1 adult... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
brettsN4356DO
via mobile
Read all 168 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Opua
from US$ 145.69
More Info
from US$ 247.67
More Info
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
154
11
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
154
11
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sailing experience beautiful bay of islands great sailing expert advice sailing conditions roberton island bareboat charter awesome company an experienced sailor bigger boat amazing days foot boat bird life deep water day sail perfect weather snapper fishing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2020 via mobile

We did the 6 day learn to sail then sail yourself holiday with Great Escape sailing school. Had a lovely instructor and at the end of the 3 day learn to sail part we had the 3 day sail yourself holiday. We were blessed with the weather being perfect for all but one day and had a fabulous time. If you want to give sailing a go this would be the way to do it. Highly recommended, the Great Escape crew that we met we’re all lovely people.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank Jsp1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us, it is appreciated. We're so glad you enjoyed your holiday with us and learnt a lot about sailing, we have a pretty unique program with the learn to sail then sail yourself sailing adventure, it really gives our sailors a chance to learn and then apply the learning immediately, there is nothing like time on the water to learn how to sail. We hope to see you back sailing with us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020

This is our eighth year chartering from Great Escape. Bill and Julie took over the business two years ago and are going from strength to strength. This year we were back on our favorite 31 foot Raven "Liaison" for four days. She has had a thorough overhaul in the last twelve months, including a new engine, much of the interior, and a fresh coat of paint. Similar upgrades are happening throughout the fleet, so you can count on a well cared for vessel on the water, as well a friendly, warm, efficient welcome on land. Top notch!

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank notsurewherehomeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2020 via mobile

The two day learn to sail a yacht course with Julie and Great Escapes was superb. Very good, clear, thorough teaching but with a sense of fun and joy, in a beautiful beautiful place.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank Flintnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We're so glad you had fun, learnt something and enjoyed our beautiful Bay of Islands. We'd love to have you back sailing with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2020 via mobile

Hiring a sailing boat in the bay of islands is really great ! The raven31 is a lively fast and seaworthy boat. The water was 23 deg or more , nice days of sailing, swimming hiking and anchoring in picturesque spots

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank antonhappel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, it is appreciated. We're very glad you enjoyed sailing the Raven 31, they are a fun boat. We are also happy you enjoyed our beautiful Bay of Islands, we think it is a pretty special place. We look forward to having you come back to sail with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2020 via mobile

Great escape were an awesome company to charter a yacht. Julie and Bill were incredibly welcoming and helpful. The boat, Davidson 20, was perfect. The trip was perfect length allowing us to see all the harder to reach beaches and coves. Great value too.
Thanks guys!

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank TumblingMalteaser89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. So glad you enjoyed your time aboard your Davidson 20, they are great fun, good value boats, ideal for exploring the sheltered waters in the Bay of Islands. We hope you come sailing with us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews