We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great sailing holiday in the beautiful Bay Of Islands

We had 3 days of tution from Daryl, who was just fantastic with us he got us sailing the Noelex 25... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Ian T
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Bay of islands sailing experience

We had a wonderful few days away exploring the Bay of Islands in a Nolex 25. What a way to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Tiffy75
via mobile
Read all 120 reviews
  
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
109
9
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
9
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sailing experience beautiful bay of islands great sailing day adventure free upgrade stunning weather high winds roberton island gave us lots of information amazing weekend feel confident great company bucket list bareboat charter these guys new zealand highlight of our trip
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2019

New owners are taking this great company and making it better. Very professional team who will look after your every need. The location is perfect and the boats, we had a Raven 3, are perfect for the kind of island hopping you will do. I suspect we will be back again soon.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank nathanmonk30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. The beauty of the Bay of Islands is that it isn't far from bay to bay, yet there is plenty to explore. We look forward to having you come sail with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2019

I booked at 6 day adventure with another solo adult who had contacted Great Escapes as I did. We got on really well together and with Martin, our friendly and experienced instructor. Although not new to sailing we developed new skills and had a great time exploring the beautiful bay of Islands at our own pace. Julie and bill were very helpful, keeping us updated and giving us a hand finding accomodation. the Davidson 20 we sailed on was recently overhauled to the point of looking new and the boats are clearly well looked after. I would not hesitate to return or recommend this to others.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Saltwatersailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Manager at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate it. We're so glad you learnt some new sailing skills and had a great time out on your Davidson 20. Thank you for your recommendation, we hope to see you sailing with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2019 via mobile

My son and I did the 6-day sailing holiday aboard a Davidson 20ft (the mighty Tiri!). We had a great time! Daryl was an excellent (and very patient) instructor. Recommend this for anyone looking for an experience that combines holiday with tackling a new challenge.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Felofalasofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate it. So very glad you had a great time and learnt a lot. Learning to sail, then having the opportunity to take the boat away by yourselves can definitely be a holiday that challenges! (but fun)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2019 via mobile

This actually was an adventure. New skills, new places, new environment and experience. Diane, our instructor equipped us to confidently and safely sail ourselves around this beautiful region after two days of stress-free instruction on one of the Noelex 25's. Boats have plenty of room to live on board as long as you don't take too much clutter that you won't need. Cooking was easy with some interesting culinary creations prepared. Choose your own bay to drop anchor for the night, there are plenty. And make sure you row your dinghy to the islands and climb to the top for some stunning views. Highly recommended ! Thanks Julie, Bill and Diane.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Ian123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate it. So glad you had a good adventure holiday aboard one of our Noelex 25s, they are great little boats, fun to sail and the Bay of Islands is a fantastic maritime playground. We look forward to having you come sailing with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2019

Julie, Bill and Lewis welcomed us warmly and were very professional to deal with. Nestled in Opua harbour the Great Escape business is definitely that. We did the 2 day introduction to sailing course with Lewis, a very skilled sailor, who was a mine of information and taught us heaps - ranging from learning the ropes, handling sails, motoring, anchoring, mooring, reading charts, understanding buoys and markers, tying knots, following marine weather forecasts, man overboard procedures and more. Safety was key. He was patient and very pleasant to learn from. The bay is extremely beautiful with loads to admire and lots going on.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank suznz2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. So glad you had a great time and learnt a lot from Lewis. We look forward to having you come sail with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews