We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great sailing holiday in the beautiful Bay Of Islands

We had 3 days of tution from Daryl, who was just fantastic with us he got us sailing the Noelex 25... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Ian T
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Bay of islands sailing experience

We had a wonderful few days away exploring the Bay of Islands in a Nolex 25. What a way to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Tiffy75
via mobile
Read all 120 reviews
  
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
109
9
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
9
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sailing experience beautiful bay of islands great sailing day adventure free upgrade stunning weather high winds roberton island gave us lots of information amazing weekend feel confident great company bucket list bareboat charter these guys new zealand highlight of our trip
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2018

My 13 year old daughter and I, with some sailing experience, hired a Noelex 25 for three nights in mid December. Julie gave us lots of information before the trip by email, which was very helpful to plan the journey. The boat was the perfect size for us to cruise around the beautiful Bay of Islands. We hadn't experienced staying on a boat overnight before so we asked an instructor (Daryl) to come with us for the first day. Daryl was so knowledgeable, informative and a patient teacher who gave us all the essential information for us to sail on our own for the following three days. The Bay of Islands was so beautiful with lots of small coves where you can put down anchor and relax. For navigation, we had Navionics on our tablet but we rarely used it. I found the chart was more useful and easier to use on a rocking boat. We didn't see many sea creatures except sharks chasing fish but we got up at 3am one night to watch a meteor shower. I have never seen so many stars in the Milky Way. My daugher and I were amazed how beautiful the sky was. She saw in total 6 or 7 shooting stars while I managed to see only one (kids maybe have better night vision). There was only 40L water on board so we had to considerably restrict our use. We decided to have lunch and a shower on Urupukapuka island for a change as we started to get bored with packaged foods. The food there was very nice and we appreciated the shower. On the last day, we anchored and visited Roberton Island. We walked up the hill to have a 360 degree view of the Bay of Islands and swam in one of the lagoons in water which was crystal clear. We were lucky in a sense that we had perfect weather though our visit. Wind was around 10-15 knots at most with fine weather. I couldn't fault Great Escape, Julie, Bill, Daryl and their service. They are so professional and friendly. We had the best holiday which we will always remember and we are sure we will come back in the near future.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank musashi_in_australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review, it is very much appreciated. We're very glad that you and your daughter had such a wonderful trip, the beaming smile on her face as she walked up the dock brought us all joy; sharing the love of sailing is what motivates our team. We look forward to having you come to sail with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2018 via mobile

We spent three idylic days on Discovery, one of Great Escape's Noloex 25 yachts. The boat was really well fitted out and ideal for exploring the Bay of Islands. Bill and Julie, who own Great Escape were organised, knowledgeable, efficient and friendly. We'll be back the next time we are in New Zealand!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank CharlieHussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Manager at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate it. More importantly, we're very happy you had such a lovely holiday aboard Discovery. The Noelex 25s are fun boats to sail and we also think they are an ideal size for exploring our beautiful sheltered cruising grounds. We look forward to having you come sailing with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2018

We’ve been hiring yachts from Great Escape for over five years, and watched the recent change in ownership with interest. Bill and Julie have the operation running really well and have put a lot of effort into upgrading and maintaining the fleet. We took their Noelex 30 Esprit out for two nights. It’s a really zippy boat compared to the Raven, and has a new anchor and engine. We stayed on their mooring at Otehei Bay on Urupukapuka - having a mooring is a great asset and made for a super relaxing trip, we even decided to stay two nights there, exploring the island during the day. We were visited by Orca after dusk, and the sailing was fantastic both out and home. We learned to sail at Great Escape in 2013, and have hired from them every year since. We’ll definitely continue to do so - there’s a lot more of the Bay still to explore.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Archbarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate you noticing the work we are doing to ensure these boats continue to provide joy to sailors for many years to come.
So glad you are enjoying the variety of boats in the fleet and the awesome Bay of Islands to cruise in. With plenty of options for a different sailing holiday every time, we look forward to having you come to sail with us again soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2018 via mobile

Lovely trip with Great Escape in their yacht Liaison. Everything needed on board, great communication and help from Julie. Thanks!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank AngusWzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2018

Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you had such a lovely sailing holiday aboard Liasion. We look forward to having you come to sail with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2018

We have just returned from another fantastic sailing holiday with Great Escape Charters in the Bay of Islands, Northland. The Raven 31 was a really good choice for a family being roomy and with the walk through transom, and well maintained. The Bay of Islands has so many anchorages to choose from no matter what the weather is doing. Apart from the sailing this year the highlights were having a pod of Orcas cruise into the bay while we were having breakfast and a couple of visits from Bottle Nosed Dolphins. Snapper fishing also excellent. A fantastic location and great service from Julie and Bill.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Rozz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. So glad you had a lovely holiday aboard one of our Raven 31s, we are very lucky having the beautiful Bay of Islands as our maritime playground. We look forward to having you come to sail with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews