We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great sailing holiday in the beautiful Bay Of Islands

We had 3 days of tution from Daryl, who was just fantastic with us he got us sailing the Noelex 25... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Ian T
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Bay of islands sailing experience

We had a wonderful few days away exploring the Bay of Islands in a Nolex 25. What a way to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Tiffy75
via mobile
Read all 120 reviews
  
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
109
9
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
9
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sailing experience beautiful bay of islands great sailing day adventure free upgrade stunning weather high winds roberton island gave us lots of information amazing weekend feel confident great company bucket list bareboat charter these guys new zealand highlight of our trip
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Lovely boat tbe raven 31, roomy inaide and sails really well. Great service and instruction both pre and post sail. We swam with dolphins!! ... or more to the point they swam with us.
Take some tin foil and tape as there are no curtains on board.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. Yes, the Raven 31 is a great boat to sail and performs really well, very happy for you that you got to have a great dolphin encounter, .they are magnificent creatures to see in the wild Thanks for your note about the curtains, we've had them on and then taken them off - to see which works best for our sailors and the aesthetics of the interior. Perhaps we could keep a few for those that prefer them. Look forward to having you come sail with us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Julie and Bill are lovely folks to deal with, very helpful and accommodating. Our instructor was awesome - patient, encouraging and extremely knowledgeable. The boat was great, beautifully maintained and a pleasure to sail. As an added bonus we encountered a pod of dolphins!

We can’t wait to return and highly recommend Great Escape!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us, it is much appreciated. We have been working hard over the winter months to ensure our boats are a pleasure to be aboard. So glad you had a great sailing holiday, and we look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

We had a fantastic experience with Great Escape. Julie and our instructor Daryl were incredibly knowledgeable and made both the tuition and our own overnight sailing fun and exciting. Will definitely be back for more.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Tour66646147202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you coming to sail with us and spending the time to write a review. All our crew are extremely experienced sailors and we love to share our passion for the sport. We look forward to having you come to sail with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

Liaison was a well laid out boat and the service from Bill and Julie was top notch. Would recommend to anyone.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Leith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, General Manager at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Thanks very much for your review and we appreciate the recommendation. So glad you had a great holiday aboard Liasion. We look forward to having you come to sail with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Our family of four (2 parents and 2 teenage daughters) had a great experience completing the Level 1 New Zealand Yachting course over a 5 day period. Ian our instructor was a delight to sail with a well as Julie and Bill who keep things running smoothly.

The Bay of Islands is spectacular, our only regret is coming a little early in the season as it was slightly chilly.

We highly recommend this nice group of people and Great Escape for your sailing adventure!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Ted N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatEscapeNorthland, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a response and for coming sailing with us. We really enjoyed meeting you and your family and look forward to having you come sail with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews