We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out sailing”
Review of Great Escape

Great Escape
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Opua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Escape from ordinary and set sail with us. We have a fleet of well-maintained yachts and powerboats for Bareboat Charter, Flotilla Rallies and Learn to Sail courses. Our boats are suitable for two to six people; complete novices can be skippering their own boat in our beautiful Bay of Islands after once of our sailing courses, experienced sailors can cast off straight away. Learn to sail through our sailing school certified Yachting New Zealand instructors and gain Yachting New Zealand Keelboat Sailing qualifications.
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Friendly team, well maintained boats and good value for money. We really enjoyed exploring the bay. Will be back!

Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, General Manager at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review, we're glad you had a great day and we look forward to having you come to sail with us again. We really enjoy seeing our returning sailors exploring more of the Bay of Islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great sailing"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful bay of islands"
in 7 reviews
"bareboat charter"
in 4 reviews
"great company"
in 2 reviews
"these guys"
in 3 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 3 reviews
"sense of humour"
in 2 reviews
"sailing tuition"
in 2 reviews
"patient teacher"
in 2 reviews
"raven"
in 7 reviews
"darren"
in 39 reviews
"yacht"
in 19 reviews
"boats"
in 13 reviews
"davidson"
in 8 reviews
"board"
in 10 reviews
"moorings"
in 4 reviews
"pipi"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2018

We booked for 6 days sailing tuition on a Davidson 20, got upgraded to the Noelex 25 for free. Julie was a great sailing teacher, calm, clear, patient, encouraging and gave good feedback. By the end of three days she and we were confident to take the boat out alone, which we did for one day and then had to abort the next two due to lack of wind (we wanted the sailing, not motoring, experience!!). Julie and Bill were very flexible, and we can complete our last two days later when there is more wind. They are gradually refurbishing all their boats. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them for good tuition, attention to safety, and flexible approach. Thank you both, we'll be back.

Thank Petadonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, General Manager at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and your lovely comments. We really enjoyed having you come to sail with us. You embody one of my favourite quotes, "It's never too late to follow your dreams, you can follow your dreams at any age" and illustrate Yachting NZ's tagline, "Sailing the Sport for Life". We look forward to seeing you again later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

My friend and I hired the Davidson 20 for a two day trip in the Bay of Islands. When we arrived at the dock we got the Noelex 25 as free upgrade because we were such nice guys ;) The trip was cool although the wind was quite poor, especially on the 2nd day so we had to tow our yacht with the little Dinghy you get for free! Okay we could have used the engine which does a pretty good job but that’s not as much fun xD
On our tour back to the harbour we saw a giant group of dolphins so close to our boat that we almost could have touched them!
Cause of that delay we finally got late a couple of minutes but didn’t had to pay extra fees.

All in all a great trip with a great and clean boat hired from some lovely people :)

When I ever will be back in New Zealand

1  Thank fklotzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, General Manager at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your holiday on the Noelex 25. Even though you didn't have a lot of wind sounds like you had fun. It's always special seeing our dolphins, one of the nice things about our boats is that they are close to the water, so if the dolphins choose to come and check you out you get quite close! We and the dolphins look forward to seeing you again, whenever you come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Fantastic off-season getaway - two days in mid June of glorious exploration in the Bay of Islands on board Liason, one of Great Escape's Raven 31 yachts. This is down to earth sailing at extremely reasonable prices. Boat had everything we needed, nothing complicated to operate. Comfy and cosy beds. Anchored in Pipi Bay and was the only yacht there - actually went for a swim! (Yes it was cold!) Also headed to Urupukapuka Island and walked across the hill to the next bay - spotted tomits, saddleback, NI Robin, lots of tui and fantails. Thanks Julie and Bill! Will be back.

1  Thank McLayFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, General Manager at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thank you for taking time to write a review, we really appreciate feedback from our sailors. Whilst June is a cooler time of year, average temperatures around 15 degrees C, it is a great time to go sailing in the Bay of Islands. We're glad you enjoyed the secluded anchorages, observing the prolific birdlife and were comfortable aboard. You deserve a medal for swimming! (Weather sites show the water temperature also to be 15 degrees C). We look forward to having you come sailing with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2018

We had a fantastic long weekend aboard Liaison. Julie and Bill were friendly and made it so easy to arrange our booking from Australia. We had perfect weather with great wind for sailing - we only needed the motor for mooring! Our boat was easy to sail, and gave us enough challenges to keep us very happy.............. The Bay of Islands is beautiful, full of idyllic scenery, great walks and lots of history. We hope to return for another trip. Mark and Rowena.

1  Thank rowena725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, General Manager at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for taking time to review your sailing holiday with us. It's called the "winterless" North up here in the Bay of Islands and although a little cooler in June you do get some great sailing days, we're glad you got to enjoy them. Great work on all the sailing, it's good for the environment to keep the motoring to a minimum - and fun to challenge your skills! We look forward to seeing you back here to enjoy more of our beautiful Bay of Islands soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Escape also viewed

Waitangi, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Great Escape? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing