We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation
Meopham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

After a strenuous few weeks touring and tramping, Wharepuke proved to be the perfect place to recover. Our cabin nestled in the beautiful garden, and nature came to us - birds, butterflies, even a single chicken came to chat and share our breakfast! My camera is full of close-ups of the vegetation around us. The whole place is run on ecological lines and very much in tune with the environment. Numerous walks from the front door took us to waterfalls, historic sites, large stone sculptures and Keri keri itself. And with the Bay of Islands and Waitangi so close you would need to stay longer than the week we had to appreciate everything it has to offer. We'll be back when we next need to recharge our batteries.

Room Tip: They are all equally scenic; one is geared up for disabled access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We recently stayed overnight in Kerikeri at Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation. The units are self-contained and separate - each has its own private verandah, and because they are set in a large tropical garden the sense of privacy is well maintained. We enjoyed wandering around the grounds and felt very relaxed. There was free wifi and a large king-sized bed. The motel is sited between the historic area (stone store, Kemp's house, church and pa site) and the supermarket and other town amenitites so is ideally located.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We could not believe how fantastic this place was. The cottage we stayed in was nestled in a stunning tropical paradise. The birds flying around made for a very relaxing magical stay.

This place has been created with care, passion and love and it shows.

We certainly will be going back... it was simply stunning.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosesandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2011

As a mature couple we like a peaceful environment, comfort, and freedom to do what we want when we want to. Wharepuke provided all these and more.
We stayed 6 nights and used Kerikeri as our base to explore the region. It was a great chance to see areas of great variety and of significant history. At the end of each day we came "home" to our lovely cottage in secluded surroundings. We could eat out or self-cater depending on our mood.
The hosts were helpful and friendly but not intrusive. They have a commitment to caring for and improving this delightful spot.
It was a graet holiday.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Several cottages would suit extended family as each as own space. Gather together at excellent restaurant on site and walk around extended grounds. Leave car behind and take many splendid bush walks.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
0.6 km away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
1.9 km away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
0.2 km away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
3.7 km away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.7 km away
Kerikeri Park Motel
Kerikeri Park Motel
#4 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation

Property: Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation
Address: 190 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Kerikeri
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,692 - ₹ 7,968
Hotel Class:4 star — Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay of Islands Accommodation Kerikeri Accommodation. 5 stylish cottages nestled amongst 5 acres of award winning "Garden of Significance"(NZGT). A restaurant/cafe awarded "Northland Cafe of the Year" and an Art Gallery of International Artworks are onsite. A new Sculpture trail of 40+ NZ and international artists work runs through the gardens (free for guests staying). Non-toxic printmaking courses and garden tours are run by our professionals. Located 1km from the boutique town of Kerikeri or walking distance to the historic Stone Store Reserve. 20 Min. Drive to dolphin watching, fishing, horse riding, wineries, and 6 golf courses within 30 min. Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing