We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colonial House Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We found our hosts exceptionally welcoming and friendly after a long drive. The atmosphere was immediatly relaxing and homely - in the best sense of the word! We enjoyed our stay immensely and found that there were pleasant details and good quality touches. The place was orderly and well kept and very peaceful at night. The service was of a rather higher standard than we had expected and we felt well looked after. We would definitely recommend this motel to friends and look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    25
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
61
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed here in November for one night to attend a function. We were advised by some locals after booking that it was run down. I assured friends that I had read reviews and we decided to stay here because of them. Upon entering the property we discovered it was a bit messy, plants over grown, gravel driveway etc. We found the reception area and were greeted by the owner (Alan?) We checked in which was a painfully slow process in a tiny little unkept room with mess everywhere, it really put me off. Eventually we were shown to our room which was a walk through the pool area through the gates all of which were in unkept condition, I was dreading seeing the room. The room itself was clean and the beds were comfortable. The lighting, mirrors and power sockets were hopeless in the bedrooms for getting ready for a night out, but we got there eventually. The second bedroom smelled strongly of mildew and effected sleep. The shower in the bathroom has a curtain and the water is supposed to drain into the floor but water goes EVERYWHERE and makes a huge mess, we had towels on the floor so as not to stand in puddles and it felt discusting under our feet, and no shelf to place makeup bags, shampoo etc. Overall, to be honest I would definately not stay here again, it just felt wrong.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aucks67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonial06, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Many thanks for your review.

Since our purchase of the motel we have continually been making upgrades. Clean, tidy and a good night’s sleep were our first priority for our guests. The units’ exteriors and patio balustrades have been repainted (your poolside cottage balustrade was not completed due to incessant rain for two weeks – it now looks wonderful!).

Yes indeed the gardens looked messy. We had been unable to tidy for many, many days because of the inclement weather and for this we apologise! We do not apologise however for the gravel driveway which is part of our country appeal and reminiscent of colonial times – a tarmac drive just wouldn’t be right here!

We offer our guests hospitality on check-in (normal, light or soya milk / homebaking or chocolates / beverages etc.) which does delay the process and can be extremely frustrating if one is in a hurry. We are also renovating the reception area and since your review have ensured that we clear away more assiduously. Sorry for that!

With regard to the wet room, it has been designed for disabled access and also the shower water pressure is extremely high (which most people love) but can cause great puddles if the showerhead is not directed downwards! Your comments regarding the lack of shelf space are spot on and we are trying to address this issue by getting identical shelving to match the existing décor.

The cabins are nestled amongst lush foliage and had you advised us that the second bedroom felt damp we would have immediately installed dehumidifiers to rectify this problem.

It is really a great pity that you stayed only one night and had to rush off to your function, otherwise you surely would have succumbed to the charm of nature, and to the quietness and tranquility of the well-established, beautiful subtropical surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Can't say enough about this Motel. The only downside was that we didn't stay longer. Rooms are spacious, very clean, superbly comfortable and very well furnished. The hosts are so friendly and made us so welcome. This is the place to stay if you are in the locallity!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oel159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Andrea and Alan were excellent, very friendly hosts. They were eager to provide guidance and information brochures to ourselves, as first-time visitors to Northland. Our motel unit was very clean and cosy for our 'winter' visit. Colonial House Motel is also in an ideal position - a short walk on one side to the beautiful Stone Store Basin with its old buildings and waterside walks, and on the other to the fine town of Kerikeri with its attractive amenities. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GedankenBlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

We chose this motel for our first trip rediscovering / discovering parts of New Zealand that we wanted to see after four years living in Asia.
Kerikeri was an obvious choice of location being a short three and a half hours comfortable drive from Auckland.
Visiting at the end of March has been another plus as the weather is settled and not so hot and the High Season prices are fast disappearing.
This 3.5 star motel is calm and nestled in an a wonderful abundance of sub tropical foliage and tuis singing in the treetops. The cabin are comfortable and clean and very good value for the price.
The free cookies provided one evening from our amiable hosts were a pleasant surprise!
With free 20Mbs of internet each day and a free continental breakfast special we have felt that we made the right decision to stay here. The motel is close to town and just up the hill from New Zealand's oldest building - Kemp House.
A real plus about Kerikeri is that it has great fruit and vegetables grown locally. The Kerikeri mandarins we have consumed have been simply delicious.
We have had a relaxing three day stay (within striking distance of the far more touristy Paihia) and I would happily recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingersTomTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
0.5 km away
Stay Kerikeri
Stay Kerikeri
#7 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.8 km away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
3.6 km away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
1.2 km away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
7.3 km away
Bay of Islands Country Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Motel

Property: Colonial House Motel
Address: 178 Kerikeri Road | Cnr Peacock Garden Drive, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,065 - ₹ 8,178
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial House Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi. 50+Digital channels. Cosy & quiet cottages & cabins with comfortable beds and own sundecks in subtropical gardens. Saltwater pool, hot tub spa, and new friendly hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Colonial House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing