We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for wine tasting”
Review of Martinborough Mews

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Martinborough Mews
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Martinborough is a great little place and the Mews is an excellent place to stay. We had the wheelchair accessible cottage which was big and spacious, with a great bathroom. There were 2 sofa beds for the kids to sleep on - and they were the best sofa beds we've ever come across - actually comfortable! The breakfast provisions were a nice extra touch that we weren't expecting. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kiwis-in-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017

These self contained units look plain from the outside but are outstanding inside. The apartment was new and modern, with plenty of space in the living room and kitchen area, and a separate bedroom. It's very tastefully decorated and lots of extra towels were provided. It had a good sized private deck as well where we could sit outside (when the rain stopped...).

The fridge and kitchen were well stocked for breakfast for our two day stay.

The Mews are a short walk to the centre of Martinborough and an easy bike ride to many wineries.

Our only regrets about the place were that we couldn't stay longer, and that we didn't meet the owner, Robyn, as she was away for the weekend. Her son came by as they needed a different credit card, and he brought us a bottle of wine because they had to trouble us; unnecessary but greatly appreciated - thanks.

If we could give this property a higher rating than Excellent, we would. We highly recommend staying at Martinborough Mews!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DougHfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn M, Manager at Martinborough Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to write them. Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

It doesn't look like much but the apartments are spacious, modern and clean The owners are keen on service. We were woken at midnight and 5am by the same family in a huge van. The owners came by with a bottle of wine to apologize the next day (we hadn't even complained) which made us happy. The stocked fridge for breakfast works well and was greatly appreciated. The roads were closed due to flooding and they helped us navigate the long way round. They aren't fussed about check in and out times which makes it all very relaxing. Highly recommend.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sausalito123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

This place consists of 5 or so detached self contained units in a residential area. Our unit was (as was the rest) new and very well presented. Warm dry and with the latest internal amenities. The town it self is small and realistically you need a car to get to the shops especially if it's late at night and raining as it was on our stay. Streets around the area are pretty dark as well!. Communication with the owners was via a message board outside the units which thankfully worked fine- thanks Robyn. Would we stay again- Maybe yes it was a lovely unit but frankly I we would have just adjusted the Auckland price a little.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paulcc115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn M, Owner at Martinborough Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry about the rain. I wonder if you compared pricing before booking because I believe that Martinborough Mews prices are usually comparable or lower than most other places that are close to the town centre. The problem with Martinborough is that most people only come to stay during summer and the majority only come at weekends. In order to maintain our presence and be ready when people do want to come here, we need to be able to pay bills and maintain quality, reliable staff all year round. We have been here less than 2 years and I personally agree that Martinborough prices are high but we have also found that basic costs including council rates, electricity and the cost to get any repair or development work done here is huge too. I would love to have more visitors and hopefully, after comparing us with others price wise on travel websites, the comments you made about the quality of our accommodation and service will be encouraging. Thank you very much for your kind words in this regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Modern, clean well equipped and comfortable units a couple of blocks from the centre of town. Lovely friendly owners. Wheelchair accessible unit with wet floor shower was great. Balconies and barbies nice touch

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Martinborough hotels
0.3 km away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
226 reviews
0.7 km away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
1.3 km away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
161 reviews
0.8 km away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
127 reviews
0.9 km away
Swan House
Swan House
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinborough Mews? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinborough Mews

Address: 24 Cologne Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly Bordeaux on Cologne)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Martinborough
Price Range: ₹ 5,528 - ₹ 9,041 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Martinborough Mews 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinborough Mews (formally Bordeaux on Cologne) is comprised of five self-contained one bedroom Cottages. We are nestled in between the Martinborough Square and Puruatanga Rd, also known as 'wine road'. This ideal location allows visitors to walk or cycle to most Martinborough destinations easily.The Cottages have been purpose-built in a residential area, making the location ideal. The exterior has been kept low key, but once inside you will appreciate the modern, functional design with attention to detail, and most importantly a high standard of cleanliness. It's all of the little extras and attention to detail that will ensure your stay at Martinborough Mews is like being at home, away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Martinborough Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing