We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed...very tired with paper thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We are Australian expats living overseas and decided to treat ourselves to a 2 night stay in this hotel as previous feedback (over the years) had raved about it. The hotel has an excellent location right on the beach and with shops downstairs, Coles across the road, etc. The room was small but neat and tidy and had been recently renovated. However, the walls were paper thin. We lay in bed listening to the conversation of our next door neighbours, then their subsequent departure and later arrival drunk. I don't mind people going out and having a good time, but when I'm trying to sleep I don't want to hear about how "Matt got paralytic, maaaaate!" and how "Shazza really scored!" Anyway, the next morning we were down at breakfast, which was cramped/overcrowded, buffet style free for all, with screaming kids, hung over adults, people piling their plates as high as they could with sausages, scrambled eggs, etc. It was noisy and reminded me of rare trips to sizzler when I was in Uni. Needless to say, we realised that perhaps this wasn't the place for a quiet and romantic weekend away for two. We checked out the next morning and explained the situation to staff. They were sympathetic and we got a refund for our second night. We booked into the Sebel in East Fremantle which was great, although we would have preferred the Sebel to be at the beach, you had the benefit of still overlooking water and being close to a raft of really good restaurants. Anyway, we would recommend this hotel for people who don't mind roudy neighbours and want the proximity to nightclubs (for picking up), easy access to the beach and binging on buffet breakfasts.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDCTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,775)
There are newer reviews for Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,651 - 3,655 of 3,775 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2010

Our family stayed over Christmas up untill New Years Day and I would like to say the service was fantastic all round very friendly staff nothing was too much trouble especially concierge thankyou so much for making our holiday speacial and they really did more than required to help us. Yes the hotel may have been built in the 80s but was very clean. The position and the views were fantastic and everything thing we need was within walking distance. The gym was outstanding best gym we have seen in a hotel. Pool great and all towels were supplied. Value for money excellent. If we ever visit Perth again this would be our number one choice excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

having grown up in scarborough i know the area pretty well, have since moved away but returned for a weekend,i was a teenager hanging at the beach watching the hotel being built and it doesnt look like a cent has been spent on it since then.the staff are doing very well with what they have but there are so many little things inside that really stand out,we payed aud$270 for an ocean view room that was clean but soooooo in need of some tlc and updating,the hotel and surrounds have very little atmosphere for a beachside resort,but there isnt too much choice in scarborough these days.scarborough needs some big money spending there,but the beach, as always, is one of the cleanest and safest surf beaches youll find on the coast

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oncealocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

I booked this experience to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary. As we hadn't celebrated our wedding with a honeymoon we had high expectations for our long weekend away - and we were bitterly disappointed. We carried our own bags to our room. We weren't informed about any of the hotel amenities. We asked Concierge if they could recommend restaurants / things to see / things to do - to which we received nothing but vacant stares and shrugs of shoulders. Each morning for breakfast we stood at the doorway to the restaurant and "waited to be seated" as per signage, and waited for over 15 minutes each morning. We were never offered tea or coffee. And to top it all off the Housekeeper removed our own pillow cases from our own pillows and discarded them with the Hotels dirty linen. 26 phone calls and 3 cranky emails later I was told by the Hotel that they will not take responsibility for anything within a guest’s room. We should have used their pillows with their linen, (I work in hospitality and have always travelled with my own pillow as many guests do). To which I replied that the possessions were locked in our own personal room, and were lost by the employees of the hotel. I was told again that next time I should be more careful, and then I was hung up on. I have followed this up with 3 emails to the Rendezvous Head Office, and (surprise, surprise) 2 months later I still have no response. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody! There are far nicer places to stay in Perth, with better service, better amenities and in a much better location. Don't let this hotel ruin your special holiday like it did ours.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CWPaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

I took my wife for a weekend away to Observation city and was very dissappointed in the decor and cost for what is supposed to be a 4 star hotel. The decor was very dated and looks like it was fitted out in the early 80's. The service was ok. The beach area of Scarborough was really lovely and have since moved to the area.
the hotel outside was only half painted and now 3 years later I live down the road and still has not been finished.........ITS STILL HALF PAINTED!!!....i will have to attach a pic

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perthgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
297 reviews
Indian Ocean Hotel
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 65 in Perth
1,591 reviews
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough

Address: The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Observation City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: ₹ 6,745 - ₹ 12,913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough is the essential beachside destination overlooking the sparkling blue Indian Ocean and beautiful Scarborough Beach with fully renovated guest rooms and suites. Only 30 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from Perth's central business district, you have the beach at your doorstep and easy access to the area's main attractions. Enjoy one of the 336 luxuriously renovated rooms and suites featuring smart design and modern technology. Our first-rate facilities include wining and dining options in the hotel's restaurant and bar, plus quality leisure facilities including a lagoon-style pool, fully equipped gymnasium and Vanilla face+body spa. If you are planning an event, Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough provides tailor-made packages for up to 680 guests in facilities including 26 event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Observation City Scarborough
Hotel Rendezvous Observation City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing