We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This hotel has just commenced a well deserved refurbishment.It will be great to see the old girl back to her former self. The room was fine, lovely and spacious other then being a little dated and some mound in the bathroom ( more to with age then anything) . Bed was comfy, view was lovely. Booking made via Wotif.com so got quite good value ( for Perth !). The service from the staff was very good all through out, esp Adrian the concierge who helped us out with our vehicle as it was to high to park on the standard parking. Big kudos to management for employing mature staff, when so may other similar business's won't.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyred68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,629 - 3,633 of 3,914 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

The location is great by the beach. But the hotel is old. It has been renovated, but it is really noisy right now. Furthermore, it doesn't have a WiFi connection! The bed was uncomfortable. The breakfast too expensive. Try DOME next door.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This hotel is right across from Scarbrough Beach and is fantastic for swimming and surfing, especially if you like it rough. It is a great stay for the family, especially if you have little kids because the pool is extremely fun. My brothers and I spent hours in their and we were teenagers :P It can get a little expensive eating inside the hotel so i recommend going down near the beach where there are cafes with food which is still good. This hotel has been around for a while and is a getting a bit old, but its a fantastic location and i would recommend it everyone.

Room Tip: If you have a big family, try get the two rooms that are joined by a joining door. Best views facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed here about ten years ago, and the old girl has certainly aged. But I think she’s standing up well, to the punishing winds and otherwise. At the end of the day, you’re on the beach with ocean sunsets.

The reservation and check in staff were fine, and more than happy to help with a last minute extra night when the brains trust at Virgin Australia closed a flight on me as I was waiting to check in at the airport, trapping me in Perth for another night. The rate with breakfast was good value and on the mark with my travel allowance.

Upon arrival, my first impression didn’t live up to memory, although nobody assisted me with my bags a decade ago either. The garden in the lobby/atrium was decidedly musty, smelling a lot like my wife’s old 1993 Mitsubishi Verada. But nothing a good tart up couldn’t fix.

The rooms are nice and spacious, with a large four-piece bathroom. I was lucky enough to have a refurbished room with a flat panel television, but my workmate a few floors down ended up with a crappy little box set. The bed was comfortable, as too were the pillows. However, the main issue with the rooms is the howling wind that constantly rattles the windows. In case nobody’s told you, Perth is the third windiest coastline in the world, behind Chicago and Wellington, and the ageing windows of the Rendezvous just aren’t up to it. Surprisingly though, you get used to it very quickly and are off to sleep within an hour on the first night, and don’t even notice it after that.

The food’s alright, both room service and down in the main restaurant, and on par with over-priced hotel food the world over. However, down on the street behind the hotel are quite a few restaurant options.

Annoyingly for me, I was half way around Australia on an eleven day work trip, and in desperate need for a laundry service. My only options at the hotel it seemed, was the dry cleaning service, which was closed for the weekend, or the self-service laundry on the tenth floor. In the end, I made do and bought a fresh shirt in Brisbane.

The location is great with ocean views from the room and Scarborough Beach at the back door. And in the last ten years, pathway access to the beach has been put in. There’s plenty of restaurants and cafes around the hotel, and a supermarket in the complex across the road. There’s also a taxi rank around the back, but you’re probably better off with your own car if you don’t want to bum around on the beach. Perth locals we met with in the city asked why we were staying “all the way out there”, and ten years ago a taxi ride to Cicerello’s in Freemantle for their allegedly world famous fish and chips saw me spend $70 on cab fares for $10 worth of overrated takeaway.

With work paying for the taxis, I’m happy to put up with the rattling windows for a full service hotel on the beach. Even for a personal trip, my wife loved that Verada.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view room, but be warned, the windows will rattle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captain_beetroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

They did not tell us that the hotel is being renovated, all the top floors are covered in scaffolding and the noise starts every week day at 7am. The pool area is half closed off with scaffolding and there are bits of paint and cement lying everywhere including in the pool from the removal of the external paint and cement from the hotel. We had to change rooms because the air conditioning would not work and the first night we were freezing all night, there was a hole in the wall of the room and no plug in the bath, and we could not get anyone to bring us a plug. All in all, I will never stay in this hotel again, after spending many trips there previously.

Room Tip: if you want to stay on the coast north of perth, there are other cheaper and better hotels to choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
299 reviews
Indian Ocean Hotel
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
217 reviews
Scarborough
Ramada Vetroblu Scarborough Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough

Address: The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Observation City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: ₹ 7,653 - ₹ 13,278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough is the essential beachside destination overlooking the sparkling blue Indian Ocean and beautiful Scarborough Beach with fully renovated guest rooms and suites. Only 30 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from Perth's central business district, you have the beach at your doorstep and easy access to the area's main attractions. Enjoy one of the 336 luxuriously renovated rooms and suites featuring smart design and modern technology. Our first-rate facilities include wining and dining options in the hotel's restaurant and bar, plus quality leisure facilities including a lagoon-style pool, fully equipped gymnasium and Vanilla face+body spa. If you are planning an event, Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough provides tailor-made packages for up to 680 guests in facilities including 26 event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Observation City Scarborough
Hotel Rendezvous Observation City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing