We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent and highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Property
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Front of Property
Lounge
Lounge
kitchen/dining area
bathroom
Outdoor deck
Private.JPG
office
Scarborough Beach
Scarborough Beach
BBQ area
Scarborough Beach
Sunset at Scarborough Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Scarborough, Stirling, Greater Perth, Western Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cc197514
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent and highly recommended”
Reviewed 9 November 2009 for a stay in November 2009
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from staying at The Dunes Apartments in Scarborough and cannot recommend them highly enough. Karl and Evelyn the owners are really nice people and cant do enough for you to make sure you are comfortable during your stay without being in your face. If you need anything they are there. Karls brother also runs Sunset rental car which is a few minutes stroll away or they will drop the car up to the apartments.

The apartments themselves are beautiful. They are immaculately clean , have absolutely everythng you could need and are quiet and modern. They have AC, fan all mod cons that you could need. It was like a home away from home.

They are literally 5 mins from Scarborough beach but if you rent a car you can go explore other places like Cottesloe etc.

All in all a great place to base yourself from and more importantly an excellently run place by Karl and Evelyn,.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn A
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay near Perth”
Reviewed 4 November 2009 for a stay in October 2009

If you're looking for the ideal base camp while visiting the Perth area, go for one of the self-catering apartments at The Dunes in Scarborough Beach. 20 minutes easy drive from Perth CBD or Freemantle, 5 minutes walk from the beach. We had Unit 2, very spacious, very clean, well-equipped and comfortable. Just what we needed to decompress after three hectic weeks travelling across Australia.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveljet
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean”
Reviewed 19 October 2009 for a stay in October 2009
4
people found this review helpful

We visited Scarborough between Oct 4-10th and were very glad we booked the Dunes. Thanks to fellow tripadvisors for their recommendation. I hope my review will be helpful enough for others to make an informed choice about the accomodation.

Evelyn as prompt and helpful with all our enquiries and reservation was easily done through email. Considering the fact that they have only 3 units in their accommodation, it’s understandable that they required 1 night’s deposit upon confirmation of the booking. Everything was arranged in an efficient manner and we didn’t have any problems.

Eveyln was kind enough to give us directions to the beach and cafes when we checked in. We took our first stroll to the beach, and passed by the "i" centre. That's also where Karl's Sunset Rent-a- car office is located. Though we only saw them on our day of arrival and check out, each encounter was always pleasant and they were always very accommodating.

We were delighted with the apartment because it was very well-kept, clean and had a nice outdoor covered deck. Although we didn’t really use the deck because it was a little chilly, the view from the living room looking out to the deck gave the whole place a nice sense of space.

The apartment is simply furnished with a pleasant and white blue theme eg sofa and bedspread. Because it’s a 2 bedroom apartment, we enjoyed the space in the living and dining area although we used only the master bedroom.

We had nice warm air from the heater/aircon in the living room and since the master bedroom opens out to the living area, some of the warm air did flow in to warm up the main bedroom as well. Although we didn’t need any extra blankets during our stay, we would definitely need them during the winter time. There are ceiling fans in both bedrooms and nice full length mirror wardrobes.

The apartment is nestled in a nice quiet residential area. Because the place was very peaceful and quiet during our stay and we were fortunate to have quiet neighbours, it was a treat to just sleep in till 9am. By making our own breakfast, we saved some $$ so we could splurge a little more on dinner. We bought some slices of cooked leg of ham (highly recommended), bread and eggs from the Cole’s Supermarket. We just love the coffee in the aussie cafes and reserved our cuppas for later.

The bathroom is next to the 2nd twin bedded room. Enough towels were supplied for our stay. However, I recommend you bring your own toiletries as only small bars of soap are provided. The jacuzzi looked inviting but somehow the thought of using so much water makes me a little guilty esp when the country does go through periods of drought, so we gave it a miss. The bathroom was well lit and quite spacious, with the washing machine near its entrance ( no separate dryer - but you can dry the clothes on the outside deck where there's a clothes line with pegs).

Although its not beachfront, its an EASY DOWNHILL 10-12mins stroll TO the Esplanade beach area and cafes. However walking BACK to the apartment was a little bit of a huff and puff at times because it was uphill esp so if you happen to be carrying the bags of groceries (of course the huff and puff the 1st few days was due to us lazy mortals in need of exercise....). Nevertheless, we looked to the daily walks esp with the lovely weather we had..

By the way, COLE's supermarket nearby is the only large supermarket that's within WALKING distance from the apartment. We arrived on Sunday when it was closed. We did manage to get a few essentials like a can of milo and bread from the small asian grocery next to the Post Office though. If you drive, then I am sure there are other options further up the road.

We were blessed with sunshine and blue skies throughout our stay , such a lovely difference from our hot and humid climate back home. The beautiful weather made a big difference to our little getaway and allowed us to enjoy our daily strolls to the beach front. The temperature was around 17-20 degrees in the day, a little colder in the night esp with the wind blowing in our faces when we walked back after dinner.

The unit we stayed in was in good condition and we hope guests will continue to keep it that way. The house rules say that the units are serviced if you stay 10 days or more. So we cleaned up after ourselves and ensured that the cutlery and utensils were washed after each meal. It may seem a little troublesome but we also took out the trashbags to the driveway when they were full. Let’s do our bit so fellow visitors wont have to contend with cockroaches that may feed on the rubbish when we don’t clean up after ourselves.

TRANSPORT from PERTH AIRPORT
Since we didnt drive, we used SUNSET COAST AIRPORT SHUTTLE services to get us to and from the apartment. Its about a 45min pleasant ride on a 12 seater van. They do transfer to and from the airport to the accomodations along the beaches at Sunset Coast.

You can get more info about transport from Perth airport to the city or Fremantle on the website:
http://www.perthairport.com/default.aspx?MenuID=19

SCARBOROUGH BEACH
The area has a lovely pathway along the coast for jogging and walking. So if the weather is good, its a really nice place to stroll and chill out.
You can read more on my separate review with pics of Scarborough Beach on:
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g255103-d258722-r47053024-Scarborough_Beach-Perth_Western_Australia.html

FOOD –
There are more options for dining if you drive because the Dunes is conveniently situated. Since we didnt drive, we had to make do with the limited outlets at the beach Esplanade area. Thankfully there was CAFE DEL PESCATORE (a few doors from The Rendezvous Observatory Hotel) which suited our palates just fine. The food is good and if you have the budget for it, this is the cafe we recommend.

Please read more on my review of this cafe at:
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g580530-d1551369-r46991517-Cafe_del_Pescatore-Scarborough_Western_Australia.html

TIPS: We recommend the takeaway BBQ chicken from COLE’s supermarket if you prefer to dine in the apartment and also the leg of ham (recommend thicker slices for sandwiches). For a really healthy fibre snack, buy the packets of UNSALTED Assorted nuts (across the fresh ham counter) – great for getting us by since we had a very light lunch before splurging on dinner.

For more on our whole trip, you can go to:
http://www.tripadvisor.com/GoListDetail-i20793-Scarborough_chill_out.html

So, thanks to fellow tripadvisors again for their input on the DUNES which helped us make the right choice for our stay. Hopefully things will remain the same so we can look forward to returning for another chill out. With accomodations and restaurants, things do change over the years...

Warm Regards to all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmg88
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Scarborough!!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2009 for a stay in August 2009
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for 4 nights in mid August and found the apartments to be of very high quality. The apartments themselves are very well fitted and maintained. The kitchen had four hotplates, an oven, microwave, ample press space, large fridge/freezer and plenty of cutlery and kitchen utensils. The living area is lovely and spacious, had a large dining table, along with 2 couches, TV and a DVD player (which was very handy, as there is a video rental shop just up the road). The bedroom was very comfortable and had a generous amount of space for clothes and suitcases. The bathrooms as well was of a very high standard. They have a good shower and a good large, deep bathtub, and also a good quality washing machine. The outside of the apartment is very pleasing as well. We had a very large table outside, which was perfect for eating dinner, and the deck leads down to a lovely courtyard (which gets plenty of sunshine during the day, but they also have a shaded area on the deck, if the sun is too hot) . The location itself was perfect for us. Its only about a 5 minute walk from Scarborough beach, which has to be one of the most pristine and beautiful beaches on the West coast. They have a great walkway along the beach, which is perfect for viewing their beautiful sunsets. There is also a Coles supermarket close by, along with some clothes shops and nice restaurants. Scarborough is really a great spot to base yourself for a Perth holiday. In terms of shopping, it’s a close drive to the city itself, but even closer to Karinyup shopping centre, which provides an array of shops, quite similar to the city. It’s a short drive also from some greats spots like Cottesloe beach and the Swan Valley (which has several vineyards, with wine tasting and some mini golf centres as well). We found the owners to be very friendly and welcoming. They certainly make you feel at home and are very informative, when it came to activities and things to do. Overall, we had a wonderful stay in The Dunes and in Perth. Couldn’t have any complaints about the property, would certainly recommend it to anyone, especially for their comfort and homely feel, but also as a really excellent vantage point to explore Western Australia.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreyNomad...
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location for a family holiday”
Reviewed 11 July 2009 for a stay in July 2009

We took two apartments for a week, one for two adults and a nearly two year old and the other for three adults. The apartments are very spacious and quiet, so quiet in fact that we could not hear our grandson in the apartment next door. Karl and Evelyn were very prompt and helpful, both in the booking process and during our stay, and the linkage with Sunset Car Rental worked out very well for us. The location is perfect for a quiet, relaxing holiday within walking distance to the shops and the beach. The closed-in deck was a great spot for our grandson to safely run around as well as providing a place to sit back and relax outdoors. Would highly recommend these apartments.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing