We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional and safe”
Review of Ningaloo Reef Dive

Ningaloo Reef Dive
Ranked #6 of 17 things to do in Coral Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale Shark Interaction Tours, Manta Ray Interaction Tours, Snorkelling & SCUBA Diving Tours, Dive Courses, equipment sales & SCUBA Tank Refills in the small, remote community of Coral Bay, Western Australia on the World Heritage listed Ningaloo Reef. Our dedicated, passionate crew are waiting to take you out and show you what the region has to offer. At Ningaloo Reef Dive we are committed to the conservation & protection of the NIngaloo Reef Marine Park and the safety,education & enjoyment of our visitors.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When diving or snorkelling, we always go with PADI qualified operators like Ningaloo Reef Dive & Snorkel. They are qualified Dive and Boat masters so we know we are going to be safe. We booked two snorkel trips with them - whale shark and manta ray - we chose not to scuba. Both trips were full days starting with snorkel stop, morning tea, swimming with the big fish (whale shark or manta ray), lunch, snorkel stop then back to land.

Captains Stu and Josh both made sure they slowed and circled various interesting marine animals during the day. We spotted a sea snake, a tiger shark and a turtle.

The rest of the crew provided good pre-briefs and in-water guidance and shepherding of all participants. It is a major challenge for the crews because there were people with the whole range of snorkelling skills from the very experienced free divers down to people who needed help with putting on their snorkels and needed floatation devices.

Whale shark swimming - you need to be a competent (or at least of average fitness) swimmer/snorkeller to keep up with the whale shark. They glide along very quickly!!! Definitely not a lazy Sunday afternoon swim in the tropics!

Manta ray swimming - if you want to swim along with the rays, you need to be fit or a good swimmer/snorkeller. If you are less inclined, often you can just "hang around" because the rays often "line feed"; they swim up and down parallel to the beach to feed. So, if you stay somewhat still, they are likely to swim right past you on the return leg. :)

The food was basic and adequate. Caution: stay away from morning tea if you're on the whale shark trip as it goes outside the fringing barrier reef and many people are likely to be sea sick. :)

The operator gives out a return credit if you don't get to see a whale shark. The credit is indefinite; you can return anytime, there's no time limit.

Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NingalooReefDiveSnkl, Manager at Ningaloo Reef Dive, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review Kay! We appreciate your feedback and are very happy that you had a great day. We strive to maintain a high level of professionalism and safety is our number one concern. Safe travels and we hope you come back to visit the beautiful Ningaloo Reef again!

Ningaloo Reef Dive Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"whale sharks"
in 170 reviews
"these guys"
in 50 reviews
"fish"
in 80 reviews
"ningaloo reef"
in 55 reviews
"spotter plane"
in 35 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 32 reviews
"open water"
in 12 reviews
"great staff"
in 15 reviews
"bucket list"
in 23 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 18 reviews
"cleaning station"
in 22 reviews
"great lunch"
in 8 reviews
"special thanks"
in 11 reviews
"crew members"
in 9 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 9 reviews
"my partner"
in 15 reviews
"marine life"
in 28 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful waters and fish and local wildlife. Diving guides gave great support and directions to best viewing locations. Skipper went out of his way to view a pod of Killer Whales nearby giving us a lifetime of memories of these stunning animals.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank petermoore001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NingalooReefDiveSnkl, Manager at Ningaloo Reef Dive, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review Peter! We appreciate the feedback and are very happy that you had such a great day. You never know what you are going to find out on the Ningaloo Reef! Safe travels and we hope to see you back again one day!

Ningaloo Reef Dive team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The most amazing day ever!!! Cannot believe I got to swim with Manta Rays!!! Fantastic day of snorkeling! Josh, Tamara, Kiera, Raoul and Liam were sensational! Thank you for a life-changing day. Loved every minute! I swam with sharks, still cannot believe it.......

Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NingalooReefDiveSnkl, Manager at Ningaloo Reef Dive, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you Julie for your feedback! We really appreciate your review and letting us know that you had a great day. We strive to maintain a high level of service and we are so glad that we were able to provide that to you. Safe travels and we hope to see you back in our little town one day!

Ningaloo Reef Dive Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

How awesome !! A top crew - Emma, Rob, Kayla, newbie Bernie, Tom the photographer and the most outstanding Cpt Stu. Took the time to show us the ropes, even chopped me for not paying attention ( credit to their professionalism) Had 5 dives with 2 diff whales sharks even a female !! then on the trip back to snorkel Cpt Stu spots a pod of ORCA. We were blessed we stayed with them for 40 mins before heading to the final snorkel location spotting several dolphins which swam and played around the boat, a day me and my wife will remember for ever thankx guys !!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NingalooReefDiveSnkl, Manager at Ningaloo Reef Dive, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you had a great time out on the boat with us and we hope that if you are ever back in the area that you will come out with us again!

Have a great day and safe travels,

Ningaloo Reef Dive team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went on the whale shark tour which included two snorkels on the reef. I enjoyed these as much if not more than the whale shark encounter since the variety of fish and coral is wonderful. Staff were good on safety and information about the sharks and other fish.
Lunch and other food was delicious. Boat very comfortable. Inevitably there is a lot of sitting around while sharks are located but these are wild animals ion a huge ocean. Boat can roll a fair bit so sea sickness pills even for regular sailors might be a good idea. Skipper found a Tiger Shark and a pod of Dolphins on the way back so cant fault the effort and commitment.

Given the reef snorkels this is pretty much the only trip you need to do given the quality of snorkeling off the beach.

Thank neilbjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ningaloo Reef Dive also viewed

Coral Bay, Western Australia
Coral Bay, Western Australia
 
Coral Bay, Western Australia
Coral Bay, Western Australia
 

Been to Ningaloo Reef Dive? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing