We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
132
89
17
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
89
17
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold mineguest loungestep back in timehotel restaurantlounge areacomfortable hotelreading materialfirst floorcontinental breakfastroom was largepost officewithout being intrusivepermanent residentsgreat place to visitmini bargreat weekendsitting room
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Great way to beat the Christmas rush - spend a weekend at this historic hotel in the beautiful town of Walhalla. Accomodation was great with a large bed and spotless bathroom. No TV or phone connection so spent time in the communal lounge in peace, drinking complimentary tea/ coffee or a wine. Had a set menu evening meal which was lovely and breakfast was cereal, fruit and toast. Missed my poached eggs! Would recommend staying at the Star Hotel when in Walhalla.

Room Tip: Need to be able to climb steep stairs
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SWA062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Our group took up 5 rooms for a weekend getaway to the historic Wahalla valley. The hosts welcomed us and had everything ready on arrival. Our rooms were quite large with a king bed and extra seating. There was coffee and tea with biscuits to enjoy and an honor system for extra's including wines. Our group also enjoyed the sitting room to relax between various activities. Our weekend included breakfast and diner which was served in Parkers.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs ask for a room on the main floor.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

This hotel is really quaint. The rooms are large and have good beds and big bathrooms.
There is tea/coffee in the communal lounge room and on the upstairs landing. So you make make a cuppa and take it back to your room. There is also on both levels an honesty mini bar, pay when you leave. It is really well thought out. We stayed for dinner and it was excellent. The owners are friendly and run a really good hotel. If you can't do stairs then ask for a ground floor room. It is also extremely quiet.

Room Tip: Front rooms have the view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chockycb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

The Hotel is well placed for walking in the Walhalla area. The room was spacious and neatly appointed. There is limited internet access and no television but a well stocked library and guest lounge made up for that.

We walked the loop from Walhalla to Thomson Creek and caught the train back, what a great day.

The hotel does evening meals which are huge and very appetising.

A very relaxing stay, thanks to our hosts who were very knowledgeable about the area.

Room Tip: The town is so quiet any room would be appropriate, although first floor view of the Rotunda like our room was lovely.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Walhalla's Star Hotel is a lovingly renovated building in a beautiful small town filled with many other delightful buildings that also have great character and history. Our accommodation at the Star Hotel was very nice, clean and peaceful. The bed was very comfortable. A great place to relax. We had an upstairs room that had a door onto the balcony and overlooked the rotunda and the rippling creek. Our meals were well presented and delicious. It was cold and quite wet when we visited but in no way was our enjoyment spoiled. Warm log fires burning were very welcoming and kept the whole premises snug and cosy. The town of Walhalla has much to see and do. You can choose to be as active or relaxed as you like. There are many great walks of varying distance and difficulty or you can just as happily meander through the town and enjoy a great coffee and cake. Or take a ride on the steam train, join the gold mine tour or have picnic. So many options available. Well worth staying a few days when you visit.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank FussyTraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews