We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
134
89
17
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
89
17
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold mine guest lounge step back in time lounge area reading material first floor continental breakfast get together great place to visit mini bar permanent residents sitting room king bed tea coffee lovely town b bs historic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017

The Hotel is well placed for walking in the Walhalla area. The room was spacious and neatly appointed. There is limited internet access and no television but a well stocked library and guest lounge made up for that.

We walked the loop from Walhalla to Thomson Creek and caught the train back, what a great day.

The hotel does evening meals which are huge and very appetising.

A very relaxing stay, thanks to our hosts who were very knowledgeable about the area.

Room Tip: The town is so quiet any room would be appropriate, although first floor view of the Rotunda like our room was lovely.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Walhalla's Star Hotel is a lovingly renovated building in a beautiful small town filled with many other delightful buildings that also have great character and history. Our accommodation at the Star Hotel was very nice, clean and peaceful. The bed was very comfortable. A great place to relax. We had an upstairs room that had a door onto the balcony and overlooked the rotunda and the rippling creek. Our meals were well presented and delicious. It was cold and quite wet when we visited but in no way was our enjoyment spoiled. Warm log fires burning were very welcoming and kept the whole premises snug and cosy. The town of Walhalla has much to see and do. You can choose to be as active or relaxed as you like. There are many great walks of varying distance and difficulty or you can just as happily meander through the town and enjoy a great coffee and cake. Or take a ride on the steam train, join the gold mine tour or have picnic. So many options available. Well worth staying a few days when you visit.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank FussyTraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We booked a two night package directly with the hotel in August for the Walhalla Winter festival. The hotel is very comfortable and we had a room downstairs which was large and warm. The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was a couch and another comfy seat in our room. We made use of the little lounge area that has a warm combustion heater. You can make tea and coffee there. There are lots of magazines to look at while you sit in this pretty room. We arranged to have an early dinner at 6pm as we had booked tickets to see Elvis at the Mechanic's Institute a few minutes walk up the road. It was served quickly and the meal was good. We also enjoyed a bottle of wine which came with the package deal. We thought it was great value. Walhalla was very quiet on Wednesday and Thursday but it was perfect for us. We particularly liked the Elvis show. It's worth every cent of the $25 ticket. We will certainly recommend The Star Hotel as a place to stay in Walhalla. Be aware, though, that there is very limited signal for internet or phone and there is no tv. That is part of the charm of the place! You really feel as if you've escaped from the rat race up at Walhalla! The two fellows that run the hotel were friendly and helpful. Overall, a great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs are easily accessible if you have mobility issues.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank McKinnon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Walhalla's Star Hotel would probably be considered by many to be at the center of the town's focus for the 20 or so permanent residents. Tourism is huge in Walhalla, so this charming boutique hotel was special. Although staying there felt like a step back in time, most "modern day" amenities were still available. Michael Leaney, owner, rebuilt the hotel from the ground up and in its historic likeness. To his credit, he was also instrumental in the rejuvenation and rebirth of Walhalla. Although there were few other options, dinner at the hotel was very good. Breakfast was included with our room and also tasty. Since our idea of camping out would normally be to find the nearest Hilton property, Walhalla's Star Hotel more than filled the bill.

Room Tip: Reserve one of the larger, King bed rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We were after quality but simple overnight accommodation and were very happy with this hotel. We visited outside the tourist/peak period which we highly recommend. Built as exact replica of the former hotel on this site which burnt down in 1951, but now only does accommodation. Rooms are clean, large and very well appointed (no TVs). The continental breakfast is good and the owners very friendly and knowledgeable. Perfect location in centre of this lovely town.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews