We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view, great building...”
Review of Penneshaw Hotel

Penneshaw Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Quick Bites in Penneshaw
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 35
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Glass walls at the front of the outdoor area and large windows opening to the sea air capture the light and view for all diners in all weather with new modern alfresco furniture. The Penneshaw Hotel – also known as the “Penny”- has both inside and alfresco dining areas giving the hotel a relaxed casual feel. However, there's nothing casual about the excellent presentation and consistency of the food. With a superb wine list, some of the best pub food SA has to offer and competitive function options the Penny is a perfect crowd pleaser.
Reviewed 23 January 2021 via mobile

Fantastic view, great building... unfortunately it fell away after that! Poor service & very average food ! We waited an hour & half for our meals and when served was salty, over cooked and generally not a good quality “across the board”

We were a table of 12, whom all had same opinion

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank E8681TMbenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2021 via mobile

I was actually very surprised and happy with the quality of the food here. My steak and our rib-eye were cooked to perfection for us.
Book your table as it gets busy. We booked for 6 pm and were served at 6.20 pm - customers who arrived later had about a 45mins wait.
Would we go again / definitely next time we are on KI.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank chrissyN65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2021

This is the first place we visited after getting off the ferry. Fantastic spot to sit and relax and draw breath. Beautiful view. We sat outside looking at the sea and ate freshly cooked prawns. Bliss!

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2021 via mobile

While in town recently we stopped in for lunch. Serving size was generous and our grilled fish and Calamari dishes were well prepared, served hot and well seasoned.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank Flying Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021

After Google searching best fish and chips in Penneshaw, the hotel came up as 1st in the results. We booked for 5:30pm, food came out promptly after ordering and the young waiting staff were lovely. My partner ordered the seafood platter - don’t go there!! Good s&p squid, suuuper oily chips, a stiff over cooked small piece of whiting (you can get THE BEST whiting burger at Vivonne bay general store), and to top it off - the ONE king prawn was inedible/off (by smell and taste). My partner is suffering the consequences today after having unfortunately eaten some. Our ‘neighbours’ on the next table ordered the platter too- same deal- off prawn, etc. And to top it off, they were missing at least one mussel from its shell. We felt for them...$42 is expensive for half-rate seafood...we asked a local afterwards, and he said they’re only going for steaks. So there you go- don’t say I didn’t warn you!!

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank CarlaH940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penneshaw Hotel also viewed

Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island
Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island
 
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Penneshaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
India
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.