We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
132
73
51
73
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
73
51
73
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster beautiful view outdoor pool baja california rosarito beach san diego great weekend few steps sound of the waves recommend this place ocean playground saturday downstairs blast tennis
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 411 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Rooms should have been updated long ago. There is no air conditioning which makes sleep impossible on a hot summer day. Windows are dingy and need replacement. The one window that could be opened was small and had no mosquito screen. The bedroom was on the "suite's" loft and you had to climb up a rickety spiral staircase where you had to watch simultaneously not hitting your head on top and not missing on of the ridiculously narrow steps on the bottom. Don't waste your money, the location does not compensate for the many deficiencies plaguing this property.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Al-in-Baja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

This could have been a really nice stay - location very nice / staff very nice and friendly but room was sub standard. Room needed quite a bit of maintenance , especially the windows. Complete wresting match to either open or close any window in the room. Shower door had the same problem. Lots more than that wrong with the room , if you are management and reading this give us a call and we can give you an ear full. Just disappointing to have such a nice and very sought after location and completely mismanage the duty of simple upkeep.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ben s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

As other reviews state over and over again, the location itself and most of the facilities are nice. The main problem for me and my family was the room: we got there on Friday night around 8pm, we checked in, they directed us to our room. We walked up and down a bunch of stairs carrying our stuff for about 20 minutes until we finally found the villa. We go in and it was like a sauna in there, very hot, we knew there was no A/C, which is normal in this part of Baja, but then we find there is only one small window facing the ocean that we could open, I asked to be transferred to another room with A/C, they said everything else was booked, so we requested a portable fan, they brought it over. The heat was still pretty bad, very little ventilation overall, the one small window plus the fan was not enough to cool the place. The only way we could get some air in this room was to open the main door, which for obvious reasons we couldn't leave open all night. We could not sleep on the bed because it was really hot as well, we got the cushions from the 3 sofas in the room and made a made-shift bed right next to the window, it was the only way we could sleep. The next day we asked to be moved to a room with A/C, they charged me $70 extra for it (whatever, I paid it), the room with A/C was better, but then there were bugs all over the place, it was the last room on the north side, next to the property fence, when we opened the sliding door facing the ocean it smelled like sewage, so we kept it closed the rest of our stay. The indoor pool was nice, the brunch by the pool was good as well, the kids loved it. Overall, in my opinion this place is overpriced due to demand and supply in the area, for what they charge you could get something better elsewhere. It needs a lot of maintenance, it's falling apart, the playground is ok but a little dangerous, there's a section of the playground in the trees, it has some broken light bulbs with sharp edges within the reach of kids. Overall, I would not recommend this place, it's not very safe for families with kids.

Room Tip: if going in the summer, get a room with A/C
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nestor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

1) We knew there was no air-con in the room as its a coastal resort but with the heat you need to open the window and patio door as the sun sends the temperatures into the 100'a in the room but there are no screens and there are millions of mosquito's. You open the door for 5 minutes and the room was full of fierce biting insects. We called hotel reception and they came and fitted a door screen but there was gaps around the edges and it fell out when trying to adjust. Closing the door turned the room quickly into a sauna and was unbearable.

2) The room are in very bad condition and needs a major overhaul.

3) Used water bottle left in the room

4) The Room has patio access and used water that smelled really badly was flowing across the grass and running down towards the sea. Really unhealthy.

We had checked in to the hotel at 3pm but by 5pm we made the decision to leave as we would not have survived the night. We expected better for a room that costed $200 per night. It was that bad as we lost nearly $700 as the room was not cancellable per Hotels.com.

I will never make that mistake again.

Room Tip: This hotel is worth no more than $49, do not pay anymore!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikebourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

i must start by saying the STAFF was great :) Thank you! my 2 complaints about this hotel, 1 the room, the mattress, bedding and pillows are NO GOOD. :( i get it no AC BUT our fan was falling apart. The other complaint about the hotel is their restaurant, how is it that you don't serve coffee early :/ must wait till the restaurant opens that was at 9 am. Other than that everything was nice. The beds must be updated

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sylviaamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews