We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location at the Right Price”
Review of Posada la Hamaca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada la Hamaca
Ranked #8 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Convenient Location at the Right Price”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

It would be tough to pick a more convenient location on Culebra-a 5 minute walk from the ferry dock, 20 minutes walk from the airport and steps away from most of the best restaurants on the Island. And the outdoor deck on the canal was a very pleasant place to "chill out".

The rooms were small but clean and had all that we needed-satellite TV, wireless internet, a fridge and microwave. Beach towels, coolers and ice were also provided.When we asked for a change of bedlinens (the ones we started with were a bit threadbare) management was happy to change them. This isn't a Hilton, but it's all that you need on Culebra.

Room Tip: Get a canal view room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cannuckk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    50
    20
    9
    15
See reviews for
40
68
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The Posada la Hamaca is walking distance from the Cubebra Ferry. That was nice. When my husband and I got to the check-in the clerk told me that I had booked two rooms for two days. I did have trouble with the Posade La Hamaca website while booking but there was nothing in our email exchange that ever led me to think that I had double booked. The clerk was initially resistant about any accommodation including taking the "no" off the "no vacancy" sign. I think that this is what irritated me the most.

After we left and walked around town, we returned and the clerk had turned 180 degrees and said he had searched his computer and found that he could not prove the error and would refund the cost of the second room. I was made happy again.

The room was modest but comfortable. There was a small fridge and air conditioning. The room overlooked the patio and canal. The first night was quite noisy with patrons of Mamacita's but the second night was quiet and coqui-filled.

Culebra is beautiful. Flamenco Beach is a coral sand wonder and the best beach I have ever been in. We rented bikes and enjoyed exploring the island. Aside from the service problem at the start of our vacation, the service at the Posada La Hamaca was great.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spartina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This place is a gem, especially for budget travelers. The hotel is right in the heart of town, easy walking distance to Dewey's restaurants and bars. The rooms are modest in size, but neat and clean. Besides the price and location, there is Ramon. The man could not be more knowledgeable about Culebra and its attractions. Ramon will tell you what you need to know, and more. He is also supremely honest about where to eat and drink, as well as how to get around. Take a room, have a drink, grab a taxi and you're on the beach about 10 minutes and $3 later! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Canal side is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Very very clean! Its walking distance from the ferry dock! I would definitely stay there again! We needed some Ice and water and the front desk personnel was not available for several hours. That was their only downfall.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loly1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Spend one night with my family, the location is great only 2 minute walking distance from the ferry.
We reserved a double room for 4. Rate about $109.00 including tax, the incommodity was nice,
The room included TV with Cable, ice, beach towers, clean bathroom with hot water, A/C and refrigerator. Find restaurants and supermarket just a walk distance.
There was no main service only at check in and when we left just drop the key in a box.
I would stay here again, because it was clean, close to everything except the beach, but taxi are available or just rent a Jeep for one day is the best. But make sure the island have gasoline otherwise the gasoline price on the rental will be very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.8 km away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
379 reviews
30.0 km away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
564 reviews
0.0 km away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#11 of 19 in Culebra
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Culebra
104 reviews
1.0 km away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#6 of 19 in Culebra
136 reviews
0.0 km away
Naniqui Guest House & Rentals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada la Hamaca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada la Hamaca

Property: Posada la Hamaca
Address: Calle Castelar #68 | P.O. Box 388, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of Dewey (Culebra's only town), the main ferry dock is only 3 minutes away (walking distance), the airport and Flamenco Beach are about 15 minutes in a public ride ($2.00 per person), restaurants, grocery stores and the bakery are all within 5 minutes (walking distance). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada La Hamaca Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing