We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, centrally located guesthouse with awesome hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lighthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lighthouse
Ranked #4 of 18 Culebra B&B and Inns
Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great, centrally located guesthouse with awesome hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here just a couple weeks ago for 2 nights and found it to be a very convenient location on the island. We were not staying long so we did not rent a car. Mary was kind enough to pick us up from the ferry when we arrived and then we walked or took the public transportation everywhere afterwards. (However, if you're staying for more than 2 days, I would recommend a car rental). Our room was quite spacious and Mary and David have provided a small cooler, beach towels, a mini fridge and some other nice perks with the room. They also made themselves available to answer any questions we might have about snorkeling, eating out and getting around. When Mary picked us up from the ferry she took a quick spin thru the downtown area to show us some of her favorite restaurants. Staying on Culebra was probably the highlight of our trip to Puerto Rico and we can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
51
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I spent 3 nights at The Lighthouse and had a wonderful experience! Mary & David go above & beyond to help you out if you want it, but don't bother you if you don't want to interact with them. They have great suggestions for places to go, things to do, renting bikes, renting jeeps, etc. They care very much about the comfort of their guests and are very kind. If you need something, they will help you out or tell you where to get what you need.

There is a grocery store right around the corner that has all that you need. The rooms have a fridge, microwave, coffee pot, small beach cooler, regular towels, beach towels and even a drying rack for your wet beach gear. The rooms even have a nice rack to put your suitcase and other stuff on, a small table & chairs (nothing fancy, but nice to have), coffee mugs, bowls, spoons, and, of course, a/c. They thought of everything! There is a nice spot to sit outside, too, to enjoy the nice weather.

It is a little bit of a walk into town, but it also means that you are in a quiet neighborhood, which is what I prefer! The roosters crow all the time, but on Culebra, there is no getting away from that! The Lighthouse is very close to the airport, but Mary & David are still willing to pick you up so you don't have to carry your stuff. When Mary picked me up, she even drove me around town to orient me. They will pick you up at the ferry, too.

To get to Flamenco Beach or Tamarindo Beach, you can rent a bike (they can recommend), rent a jeep or golf cart, or just walk to the end of the road & wait for a taxi ($3/$5 each way, respectively). Town is about a 15 minute walk in the other direction. If you want to explore more than this, you may want to rent something with wheels (if you're going far, keep in mind that Culebra is very hilly...steep hills, so make your decision on your mode of transport based on this. Flamenco & Tamarindo Beaches aren't too hilly to get to, nor is town. But everything else is). This location, as well as the island is very safe and everyone is very friendly.

All in all, this is a great place to stay! I highly recommend The Lighthouse!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExploringCuriously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

The Lighthouse is a great place to stay in Culebra Island, most of all because Mary and David (the owners) are very very nice people and they made sure we were comfortable during our stay. Mary can pick you up from the ferry when you first arrive which is nice. The rooms are very clean; there is a refrigerator, microwave, cooler to take to the beach, coffee maker and beach towels. The hotel is one of the closest hotels to Flamingo Beach, however you have to take a bus to get there because it is a bit far to walk. The hotel is located in a residential area that is very quiet; around the corner is a small grocery store which is great for buying food to put in the fridge or take to the beach. The rooms have very pleasant colors and decorations. It is a great place to stay and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_shadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We only booked this hotel because Posada La Hamaca had only a room for 2 nights, so we stayed here for the 1st night. My boyfriend and I were both really surprised how clean and charming this guesthouse was. First of all I was under the mistake impression that tha hotel was not in a convenient location, well, we realized actually that was the ideal loaction. We couldnt rent a bike or car as everything was sold out so we walked everywhere, to Playa Flamenco and to town, we actually preffered the walk rahter than taking a taxi. Staying at a hotel in town it makes no sense since you cannot walk to any beach, plus is very loud, I had 2 sleepless nights at Posada la Hamaca and we missed the Lighthouse. The guesthouse is on a nice quite street 2 block from the airport. The neighborhood had a very cozy feeling. A good part of the island has emty homes and it has an eerie feeling, we did not enjoy so much the town for this reason as well, it felt deserted....
The towels and linens were new, the room and bathroom freshly painted and there was a little touch to everything, you could see the owner's interest at heart for the guest to feel like home. They even had coffee in the room, how nice is that.......the rooms have new installed windows, which come in handy at night, at Posada we had no windows, only some old shutters, we could hear every noise form the loud street.
I wish we could have stayed there for the entire stay....the owners were so kind, when we left they gave us a lift to the other hotel so we don't have to drag our luggage thru the streets......
Few more owners like them and there is hope for Culebra :-))

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bella134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

This is the perfect place if you aren't on a lavish budget and do not mind staying away from the beach. The reason I picked this place was that it was reasonably priced compared to other hotels on the island. The rooms are spacious, clean and bright, and include a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker, so you're set if you buy a couple necessities from the store just down the road. In addition to regular towels and basic dinnerware/silverware, Mary keeps a set of beach towels and a drying rack which is very convenient after your trip to the beach. She even offered a boogie board for my 2 kids.

But more than the very convenient amenities above, the reason I'd really recommend this place is for the helpfulness of the hosts. Mary was nice enough to pick us up and drop us from the ferry terminal. On our first evening there, we were at a restaurant in town to grab a quick dinner; the kids were tired (as were we), and we weren't getting any Taxi. Mary offered to pick us up at almost 11 in the night. It's another story that we didn't have to trouble her, but knowing someone is willing to do that sure goes a long way.

I do recommend The Lightouse

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank gau3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
3.0 km away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
22.6 km away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
25.7 km away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.0 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 km away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#6 of 18 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.3 km away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#11 of 18 in Culebra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse

Property: The Lighthouse
Address: Calle 2 | Barriada Clark, 00775, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,130 - ₹ 8,173
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on the beautiful island of Culebra, The Lighthouse is up the hill from the airport, where tropical breezes await you. Your hosts David and Mary Wiedner will meet you at the ferry or airport and take you on a tour of the island or to pick up your rental vehicle. We offer many amenities including off street parking, a refrigerator and microwave as well as coffee pot in every room and a spacious private bath. We also offer beach towels and a cooler. Beach chairs are available. We are only 1.8 miles from beautiful Flamenco Beach and just a 3-minute walk to the grocery store. Should you elect not to rent a car, we are minutes away from a publico (minibus) route, or a 20-minute walk to town. We are on-site year round and look forward to making your vacation relaxing and memorable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing