We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
40
63
11
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
63
11
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach golf cart short drive flamenco beach an extra bed snorkeling spot crowded beach great snorkeling right roosters and chickens easy access water heater coffee pot buy groceries tiny island small kitchen carlos rosario perfect place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2017

My wife and I spent a week here in February. We arrived early and were lucky enough that the manager happened to be in the office and since our room was ready let us check in early. The manager went over all the things we needed to know and answered all of our questions. My goal was to snorkel all over Culebra and the reef in front of the beach house was one of the best. The apartment was very comfortable, the kitchen well stocked, overall condition clean, clean, clean. Just the view from the place and the location was worth the price. Sure, you have a bad short section of roadway (we just slowed our golf cart and veered around) no biggie. Sure, you have noisy roosters (they are all over Culebra, even on the tarmac at the airport) no biggie. Sure, we had to dispose of our garbage, real no biggie. All in all Culebra and the Tamarindo Estates were as advertised and no road, no rooster or garbage duty will keep me from returning.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oh7016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Let me start by saying the if you are looking for a 5-star resort don’t read any further – find another place.

Because Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments is not a luxury place. It as actually the opposite – rather primitive.

And I don’t mind staying at primitive places. But the price has to match the standard. And in this case I don’t feel it does. It is to expensive compared to what you get.

Let’s start in the small bedroom. The bed is very small (smaller than a normal queen size bed in most hotels). It squeaks a lot – so you will wake up when your partner moves.

The air-condition is very noisy. So we had to turn it off and open the windows. Not a big problem – except for all the wild (and noisy) chickens and roosters right outside.

In the small living room (and kitchen) there is a futon – made of plastic leather. Not very comfortable material in this kind of heat.

The kitchen is very basic – and missing a lot of kitchen equipment. A basic kitchen knife, trivets, wine glass etc. would have been nice. We could have asked for it – and they would probably have got it for us. But I don’t feel it is my assignment to tell them what to put in the kitchen drawers and cabinets.

We were told that we could adjust the shower temperature. But in reality there were only two options – cold or burning hot.

There is a small beach house by the beach. It looks like it has been a great place in the past (when there also were a pool). But now it is as run down as all the other places.

I really hate to point out all the bad things. Because I feel it could be so much better. Tamarindo Estates has a great potential. It is a really nice place with amazing view (and a beautiful sunset).

But it seems like not enough is down to keep it up to standard. And I am afraid it is getting even worse in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Morten-Elm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carbwatch, Manager at Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

This guest obviously did not do his homework by reading our web site before booking with us. We are very frank and honest about what we provide here at Tamarindo Estates. We never try to hide the fact that we offer basic, even rustic accommodations, even showing photos of the rooms and describing the size of beds, etc. We never claim to offer luxury accommodations.

What we do offer, in the way of luxury, is 60 acres of luxurious, undeveloped greenery on the ocean with spectacular views and stunning sunsets. We cater to the special kind of guest that is looking to get away from the norm of everyday living and enjoy a refreshing change of pace. We offer security, seclusion and a world-class snorkeling reef. We offer stunning views from guests' private patios, and we have, housed here on the property, caretakers that are on call at all times, to care for guests needs.

We find it odd that a guest would prefer to do without something rather than ask, and later write a review complaining that they did not want to ask. This is very odd, due to the fact that during the check-in process the guest is given three phone numbers, including the personal cell number of the property manager. And, the guests are urged to call for any reason, whether it is questions, needs, or problems, and told it is not an imposition on us for them to call; that it is our desire to make them happy. We also mention again, when we take them to the apartment, to please call us, whatever the need.

As for the shower temperature, we realize that a lot of people are not accustomed to the typical Puerto Rican water heater that is an instantaneous heater attached to the showerhead. We do give instructions on the use and how to regulate the temperature when we take guests to their apartments. Many savvy travelers are very familiar with these water heaters, and have no problem at all.

Yes, we do maintenance, yearly, monthly, and weekly. This climate and the conditions caused from being so close to the ocean make it necessary. Again, we are sorry this guest did not find the luxury he was looking for, but that is not easily found in this part of the world. We would like to offer the suggestion that in the future he does his homework before booking anywhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

This is not a luxury hotel as none are in Culebra. Room was ok had a decent kitchen water pressure was low. Pool is not open due to renovation, but I did not see any signs of renovations. The beach is great for snorkeling. Place could use better lighting and road leading to the place is in terrible condition. You have to put out your own garbage, and if you need additional garbage bags you have to purchase them which is ridiculous.
I found the place overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chilliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carbwatch, Manager at Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

The management at Tamarindo Estates would like to thank you for giving us a good rating. We would like to address a couple of your comments, though.

We are sorry that you, personally, felt that our establishment is overpriced. That statement was a surprise, due to the fact that you and your wife have stayed here with us before. We can only think the "overpriced " statement stems from the fact that you failed to disclose, on booking, that you were bringing two extra adults, thus a total of 4 adults. When we found out that you had two extra adults with you, of course we charged you for them.

We have many repeat guests that have made Tamarindo Estates a frequent destination. They obviously feel the price we charge is commensurate with what we have to offer in the way of gorgeous ocean views, 60 acres of undeveloped greenery, and world class snorkeling reef with private beach house and walk-in access

As far as the road, we have addressed this issue before. The road leading to Tamarindo Estates is maintained by the Municipality of Culebra. Our private road begins at the white fence, and is well maintained. The Municipality did pave a long portion of their road last year, making it a much more pleasant drive along the ocean to get to TE. However, we do acknowledge that the Municipality did not finish the road, but they have promised that when they have the funds and are able to get a truck on the ferry from the mainland, they will do so.

As far as the pool being closed for renovations, we do not advertise having a pool, so if you booked with that expectation, we suggest you read carefully the property description before booking anywhere and ask questions if you are still unsure of having a pool or not.

We offer in our rental apartments bedding, towels, dishes, and cooking pots, along with a full size refrigerator and a flat top, four burner range, a microwave and toaster oven. As a courtesy to our guests, we supply, to get you started, paper towels, toilet paper, dish soap, full sized bars of bath soap, and lined garbage cans in the kitchen and bathroom. We do not supply any food items and we do not offer maid service. We do not take out garbage or supply additional paper products or garbage bags. This not a standard type hotel with daily maid service. We are renting beach apartments and most guests expect to purchase their supplies for their stay at the local grocery stores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Awesome adventure!!! Gorgeous place to stay!!! Snorkeling was the Best... Flamenco beach walking distance from estate...Highly recommend....The staff was very accommodating and wonderful people. Beautiful views from which ever villa you stay here..

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carbwatch, Manager at Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Tamarindo Estates. We are so happy you chose to stay with us and enjoy the beautiful views, as well as the world class snorkeling that is accessible from our private beach area.

The staff always tries to accommodate our guests and make them feel like the appreciated guests they are. We were so happy to hear that we succeeded in your case.

We enjoyed having you with us for the six nights and look forward to your planned return this winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

I hesitate to write this as I don't want the word to get out too much. Staying at Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments was the best choice we made on this trip. It truly made for the most relaxing vacation ever and I will not hesitate to go back in a heart beat. In general in Culebra you are not going to find a fancy resort. This was perfect. The little apartments have everything you could need to make your stay unforgettable. The internet service was pretty good most of the time (depending on the wind), the kitchen had everything you would need to make meals each day (with the exception that you should remember to buy any spices you may need to cook and cooking oil - the apartment had utensils, pots, pans, etc.) If you are looking to be waited on and have your room cleaned each day then you probably shouldn't have picked Culebra in the first place. Tamarindo Estates is the greatest (along with Jerry's Jeep Rental).

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicegirlvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews