We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hillbay View Villas(Culebra)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 171
US$ 150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$ 151
US$ 136
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Kokomo(Culebra)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 131
US$ 64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hillbay View Suites(Culebra)(Great Value!)
US$ 150
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 125
Booking.com
View Deal
El Blok Hotel(Esperanza)(Great Value!)
US$ 185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Malecon House(Isla de Vieques)
US$ 178
US$ 163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Tamarindo(Isla de Vieques)
US$ 182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
40
63
10
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
63
10
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachgolf cartshort driveflamenco beachan extra bedsnorkeling spotwater pressure was lowcrowded beachgreat snorkeling rightroad leadingsmall bedroomno biggieroosters and chickenscoral reefeasy accessnoisy roosterscoffee pot
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Let me start by saying the if you are looking for a 5-star resort don’t read any further – find another place.

Because Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments is not a luxury place. It as actually the opposite – rather primitive.

And I don’t mind staying at primitive places. But the price has to match the standard. And in this case I don’t feel it does. It is to expensive compared to what you get.

Let’s start in the small bedroom. The bed is very small (smaller than a normal queen size bed in most hotels). It squeaks a lot – so you will wake up when your partner moves.

The air-condition is very noisy. So we had to turn it off and open the windows. Not a big problem – except for all the wild (and noisy) chickens and roosters right outside.

In the small living room (and kitchen) there is a futon – made of plastic leather. Not very comfortable material in this kind of heat.

The kitchen is very basic – and missing a lot of kitchen equipment. A basic kitchen knife, trivets, wine glass etc. would have been nice. We could have asked for it – and they would probably have got it for us. But I don’t feel it is my assignment to tell them what to put in the kitchen drawers and cabinets.

We were told that we could adjust the shower temperature. But in reality there were only two options – cold or burning hot.

There is a small beach house by the beach. It looks like it has been a great place in the past (when there also were a pool). But now it is as run down as all the other places.

I really hate to point out all the bad things. Because I feel it could be so much better. Tamarindo Estates has a great potential. It is a really nice place with amazing view (and a beautiful sunset).

But it seems like not enough is down to keep it up to standard. And I am afraid it is getting even worse in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Morten-Elm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carbwatch, Manager at Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

This guest obviously did not do his homework by reading our web site before booking with us. We are very frank and honest about what we provide here at Tamarindo Estates. We never try to hide the fact that we offer basic, even rustic accommodations, even showing photos of the rooms and describing the size of beds, etc. We never claim to offer luxury accommodations.

What we do offer, in the way of luxury, is 60 acres of luxurious, undeveloped greenery on the ocean with spectacular views and stunning sunsets. We cater to the special kind of guest that is looking to get away from the norm of everyday living and enjoy a refreshing change of pace. We offer security, seclusion and a world-class snorkeling reef. We offer stunning views from guests' private patios, and we have, housed here on the property, caretakers that are on call at all times, to care for guests needs.

We find it odd that a guest would prefer to do without something rather than ask, and later write a review complaining that they did not want to ask. This is very odd, due to the fact that during the check-in process the guest is given three phone numbers, including the personal cell number of the property manager. And, the guests are urged to call for any reason, whether it is questions, needs, or problems, and told it is not an imposition on us for them to call; that it is our desire to make them happy. We also mention again, when we take them to the apartment, to please call us, whatever the need.

As for the shower temperature, we realize that a lot of people are not accustomed to the typical Puerto Rican water heater that is an instantaneous heater attached to the showerhead. We do give instructions on the use and how to regulate the temperature when we take guests to their apartments. Many savvy travelers are very familiar with these water heaters, and have no problem at all.

Yes, we do maintenance, yearly, monthly, and weekly. This climate and the conditions caused from being so close to the ocean make it necessary. Again, we are sorry this guest did not find the luxury he was looking for, but that is not easily found in this part of the world. We would like to offer the suggestion that in the future he does his homework before booking anywhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

This is not a luxury hotel as none are in Culebra. Room was ok had a decent kitchen water pressure was low. Pool is not open due to renovation, but I did not see any signs of renovations. The beach is great for snorkeling. Place could use better lighting and road leading to the place is in terrible condition. You have to put out your own garbage, and if you need additional garbage bags you have to purchase them which is ridiculous.
I found the place overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chilliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carbwatch, Manager at Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

The management at Tamarindo Estates would like to thank you for giving us a good rating. We would like to address a couple of your comments, though.

We are sorry that you, personally, felt that our establishment is overpriced. That statement was a surprise, due to the fact that you and your wife have stayed here with us before. We can only think the "overpriced " statement stems from the fact that you failed to disclose, on booking, that you were bringing two extra adults, thus a total of 4 adults. When we found out that you had two extra adults with you, of course we charged you for them.

We have many repeat guests that have made Tamarindo Estates a frequent destination. They obviously feel the price we charge is commensurate with what we have to offer in the way of gorgeous ocean views, 60 acres of undeveloped greenery, and world class snorkeling reef with private beach house and walk-in access

As far as the road, we have addressed this issue before. The road leading to Tamarindo Estates is maintained by the Municipality of Culebra. Our private road begins at the white fence, and is well maintained. The Municipality did pave a long portion of their road last year, making it a much more pleasant drive along the ocean to get to TE. However, we do acknowledge that the Municipality did not finish the road, but they have promised that when they have the funds and are able to get a truck on the ferry from the mainland, they will do so.

As far as the pool being closed for renovations, we do not advertise having a pool, so if you booked with that expectation, we suggest you read carefully the property description before booking anywhere and ask questions if you are still unsure of having a pool or not.

We offer in our rental apartments bedding, towels, dishes, and cooking pots, along with a full size refrigerator and a flat top, four burner range, a microwave and toaster oven. As a courtesy to our guests, we supply, to get you started, paper towels, toilet paper, dish soap, full sized bars of bath soap, and lined garbage cans in the kitchen and bathroom. We do not supply any food items and we do not offer maid service. We do not take out garbage or supply additional paper products or garbage bags. This not a standard type hotel with daily maid service. We are renting beach apartments and most guests expect to purchase their supplies for their stay at the local grocery stores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Awesome adventure!!! Gorgeous place to stay!!! Snorkeling was the Best... Flamenco beach walking distance from estate...Highly recommend....The staff was very accommodating and wonderful people. Beautiful views from which ever villa you stay here..

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carbwatch, Manager at Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Tamarindo Estates. We are so happy you chose to stay with us and enjoy the beautiful views, as well as the world class snorkeling that is accessible from our private beach area.

The staff always tries to accommodate our guests and make them feel like the appreciated guests they are. We were so happy to hear that we succeeded in your case.

We enjoyed having you with us for the six nights and look forward to your planned return this winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

I hesitate to write this as I don't want the word to get out too much. Staying at Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments was the best choice we made on this trip. It truly made for the most relaxing vacation ever and I will not hesitate to go back in a heart beat. In general in Culebra you are not going to find a fancy resort. This was perfect. The little apartments have everything you could need to make your stay unforgettable. The internet service was pretty good most of the time (depending on the wind), the kitchen had everything you would need to make meals each day (with the exception that you should remember to buy any spices you may need to cook and cooking oil - the apartment had utensils, pots, pans, etc.) If you are looking to be waited on and have your room cleaned each day then you probably shouldn't have picked Culebra in the first place. Tamarindo Estates is the greatest (along with Jerry's Jeep Rental).

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicegirlvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Tamarando Estates is unpleasantly reached only by a long, narrow, severely rutted, pot-holed road that can be traversed in places only at 1-2 mph. The drive to Tamarando Beach and the Tamarando Estates is paralleled in part by a gravel roadway leading to the nearby (visible) island dump. The facility we stayed in (rooms 104 & 105) was not equipped with functioning deadbolt locks (we couldn't operate them with our keys) which is a security hazard in this more-or-less remote location. Each of the two-room units contained a single double bed (not queen or king-sized) furnished with homemade appearing tables and nightstands. The kitchen-area cook-tops were mounted on plywood box affairs and the refrigerators appeared well-worn one of which had several prominent door dents. Only the bedrooms were airconditioned with room window air conditioners. The bathrooms are antiquated with old 1950's-type fixtures. There is no hot water available except in the showers which utilize shower nozzle instant heater devices which are activated by a toggle on-off electric switch placed about 12 inches from the shower head. The shower-water stream is very weak and not temperature-adjustable. We were recommended to drink/brush teeth with only bottled water. We chased and killed 7-8 large 2"-3" flying cockroach-type insects in our units over the space of 2 days.There is no daily maid service--so you make-up your own beds, etc.The "beach" is approx. 300 feet down hill--and not sandy. Entry into the water is difficult made so by the rough, rocky shoreline. The buildings near the shoreline seemed to be out of use---the pool was empty. The tab for these 2 units for 2 nites (four adults, one child on a rollaway) was $828.40 including $68.40 taxes--not at all a good value even if one is willing to overlook the deficiencies in this place. We wouldn't go back there at half the price.

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms. But all the units appeared identical from the outside.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank johnknows741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carbwatch, Manager at Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

We, the management, appreciate when guests take time to review our property. We are sorry our facilities were not according to this guest's liking. We will try and address some of the issues.

We can understand past grievances of many of our guests with the public access road that leads into our property. However, the good news is that just a short time after these guests departed, the Municipality finally paved most of the Tamarindo road, so our guests can now have an easy, mostly smooth road access to Tamarindo Estates.

As for dead bolt locks, Culebra is a very safe, even if a bit 3rd world'ish. We have a large police presence on the island to deter troublemakers.

Here at Tamarindo Estates, with the gated property and caretakers living here full time, we are VERY secure. We issue parking passes upon arrival and tell the guests that we watch carefully who is on the property, and that we have no issues with theft or break-ins. We also have a strict "no visitors" policy to protect the security and tranquility of the property,

We are not located in town in a busy neighborhood where you would more likely experience problems with intruders. We are located on a secluded, prime 60-acre estate with 12 rental apartments and a few auxiliary buildings. Other than that, we are surrounded by virgin nature with lots of trees and vegetation.

The bed sizes are stated in our web site, along with pictures of the rooms. We never claim to offer luxury, only clean and suitable accommodations for people looking for a rustic setting with beautiful views and one of the best snorkeling reefs on the island.

As for our beach being made up of small pebbles and coral pieces, that is just what experienced snorkelers expect. You don't find many fish when you have sandy beaches; example, Flamenco Beach. Fish seek rocky habitats. A plus for many of our novice snorkelers is that the coral is close and runs parallel to the beach. On the other hand, many people that have snorkeled around the world thoroughly enjoy the parts of our reef and the ledges that are a little further out, all accessible from our private beachfront.

In addition to the beautiful, clean and clear water that is host to conch, octopus, sea turtles, and many types of tropical fish, guests at Tamarindo Estates may enjoy the private lagoon. They may enjoy the majestic mangroves, teeming with life, including a large variety of sea birds. The protected bay is also a haven for kayak enthusiasts.

We have a very nice beach house located just steps from the water, with comfortable lounge chairs, tables for picnicking and bathrooms. As far as the pool being empty, it is closed for extensive repairs.

We are not advertising having a pool and our repeat guests have been informed. We would like to add that, the only way to see whether the pool has water or not, is to climb the fence. Someone has climbed it, as evidenced by some broken latticework.

To address a couple of other of this guest's issues; AC in the bedroom, instant hot water heater on the shower, these are pretty typical Puerto Rican, especially here on our small island where many people still do not have city water or electricity.

No, we do not offer daily maid service. This not a hotel of that type, but rental apartment units. However, we do upon request and if coordinated with the manager, provide the service, for an extra cost. However, to quote another recent reviewer, "If you are looking to be waited on and have your room cleaned each day then you probably shouldn't have picked Culebra in the first place."

We never had a request for maid service from these guests. In fact, we never heard from these guests about any complaints. If guests let us know they have a problem, we always do our best to rectify the situation.

We want our guests to be comfortable, be happy and have a great experience. Very many do just that, as evidenced by our yearly repeat bookings, many who have come to be like family with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews