We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
40
63
11
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
63
11
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach golf cart short drive flamenco beach an extra bed snorkeling spot crowded beach great snorkeling right roosters and chickens easy access water heater coffee pot buy groceries tiny island small kitchen carlos rosario perfect place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2017

This is not a luxury hotel as none are in Culebra. Room was ok had a decent kitchen water pressure was low. Pool is not open due to renovation, but I did not see any signs of renovations. The beach is great for snorkeling. Place could use better lighting and road leading to the place is in terrible condition. You have to put out your own garbage, and if you need additional garbage bags you have to purchase them which is ridiculous.
I found the place overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chilliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carbwatch, Manager at Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

The management at Tamarindo Estates would like to thank you for giving us a good rating. We would like to address a couple of your comments, though.

We are sorry that you, personally, felt that our establishment is overpriced. That statement was a surprise, due to the fact that you and your wife have stayed here with us before. We can only think the "overpriced " statement stems from the fact that you failed to disclose, on booking, that you were bringing two extra adults, thus a total of 4 adults. When we found out that you had two extra adults with you, of course we charged you for them.

We have many repeat guests that have made Tamarindo Estates a frequent destination. They obviously feel the price we charge is commensurate with what we have to offer in the way of gorgeous ocean views, 60 acres of undeveloped greenery, and world class snorkeling reef with private beach house and walk-in access

As far as the road, we have addressed this issue before. The road leading to Tamarindo Estates is maintained by the Municipality of Culebra. Our private road begins at the white fence, and is well maintained. The Municipality did pave a long portion of their road last year, making it a much more pleasant drive along the ocean to get to TE. However, we do acknowledge that the Municipality did not finish the road, but they have promised that when they have the funds and are able to get a truck on the ferry from the mainland, they will do so.

As far as the pool being closed for renovations, we do not advertise having a pool, so if you booked with that expectation, we suggest you read carefully the property description before booking anywhere and ask questions if you are still unsure of having a pool or not.

We offer in our rental apartments bedding, towels, dishes, and cooking pots, along with a full size refrigerator and a flat top, four burner range, a microwave and toaster oven. As a courtesy to our guests, we supply, to get you started, paper towels, toilet paper, dish soap, full sized bars of bath soap, and lined garbage cans in the kitchen and bathroom. We do not supply any food items and we do not offer maid service. We do not take out garbage or supply additional paper products or garbage bags. This not a standard type hotel with daily maid service. We are renting beach apartments and most guests expect to purchase their supplies for their stay at the local grocery stores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Awesome adventure!!! Gorgeous place to stay!!! Snorkeling was the Best... Flamenco beach walking distance from estate...Highly recommend....The staff was very accommodating and wonderful people. Beautiful views from which ever villa you stay here..

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carbwatch, Manager at Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Tamarindo Estates. We are so happy you chose to stay with us and enjoy the beautiful views, as well as the world class snorkeling that is accessible from our private beach area.

The staff always tries to accommodate our guests and make them feel like the appreciated guests they are. We were so happy to hear that we succeeded in your case.

We enjoyed having you with us for the six nights and look forward to your planned return this winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

I hesitate to write this as I don't want the word to get out too much. Staying at Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments was the best choice we made on this trip. It truly made for the most relaxing vacation ever and I will not hesitate to go back in a heart beat. In general in Culebra you are not going to find a fancy resort. This was perfect. The little apartments have everything you could need to make your stay unforgettable. The internet service was pretty good most of the time (depending on the wind), the kitchen had everything you would need to make meals each day (with the exception that you should remember to buy any spices you may need to cook and cooking oil - the apartment had utensils, pots, pans, etc.) If you are looking to be waited on and have your room cleaned each day then you probably shouldn't have picked Culebra in the first place. Tamarindo Estates is the greatest (along with Jerry's Jeep Rental).

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicegirlvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Tamarando Estates is unpleasantly reached only by a long, narrow, severely rutted, pot-holed road that can be traversed in places only at 1-2 mph. The drive to Tamarando Beach and the Tamarando Estates is paralleled in part by a gravel roadway leading to the nearby (visible) island dump. The facility we stayed in (rooms 104 & 105) was not equipped with functioning deadbolt locks (we couldn't operate them with our keys) which is a security hazard in this more-or-less remote location. Each of the two-room units contained a single double bed (not queen or king-sized) furnished with homemade appearing tables and nightstands. The kitchen-area cook-tops were mounted on plywood box affairs and the refrigerators appeared well-worn one of which had several prominent door dents. Only the bedrooms were airconditioned with room window air conditioners. The bathrooms are antiquated with old 1950's-type fixtures. There is no hot water available except in the showers which utilize shower nozzle instant heater devices which are activated by a toggle on-off electric switch placed about 12 inches from the shower head. The shower-water stream is very weak and not temperature-adjustable. We were recommended to drink/brush teeth with only bottled water. We chased and killed 7-8 large 2"-3" flying cockroach-type insects in our units over the space of 2 days.There is no daily maid service--so you make-up your own beds, etc.The "beach" is approx. 300 feet down hill--and not sandy. Entry into the water is difficult made so by the rough, rocky shoreline. The buildings near the shoreline seemed to be out of use---the pool was empty. The tab for these 2 units for 2 nites (four adults, one child on a rollaway) was $828.40 including $68.40 taxes--not at all a good value even if one is willing to overlook the deficiencies in this place. We wouldn't go back there at half the price.

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms. But all the units appeared identical from the outside.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank johnknows741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carbwatch, Manager at Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

We, the management, appreciate when guests take time to review our property. We are sorry our facilities were not according to this guest's liking. We will try and address some of the issues.

We can understand past grievances of many of our guests with the public access road that leads into our property. However, the good news is that just a short time after these guests departed, the Municipality finally paved most of the Tamarindo road, so our guests can now have an easy, mostly smooth road access to Tamarindo Estates.

As for dead bolt locks, Culebra is a very safe, even if a bit 3rd world'ish. We have a large police presence on the island to deter troublemakers.

Here at Tamarindo Estates, with the gated property and caretakers living here full time, we are VERY secure. We issue parking passes upon arrival and tell the guests that we watch carefully who is on the property, and that we have no issues with theft or break-ins. We also have a strict "no visitors" policy to protect the security and tranquility of the property,

We are not located in town in a busy neighborhood where you would more likely experience problems with intruders. We are located on a secluded, prime 60-acre estate with 12 rental apartments and a few auxiliary buildings. Other than that, we are surrounded by virgin nature with lots of trees and vegetation.

The bed sizes are stated in our web site, along with pictures of the rooms. We never claim to offer luxury, only clean and suitable accommodations for people looking for a rustic setting with beautiful views and one of the best snorkeling reefs on the island.

As for our beach being made up of small pebbles and coral pieces, that is just what experienced snorkelers expect. You don't find many fish when you have sandy beaches; example, Flamenco Beach. Fish seek rocky habitats. A plus for many of our novice snorkelers is that the coral is close and runs parallel to the beach. On the other hand, many people that have snorkeled around the world thoroughly enjoy the parts of our reef and the ledges that are a little further out, all accessible from our private beachfront.

In addition to the beautiful, clean and clear water that is host to conch, octopus, sea turtles, and many types of tropical fish, guests at Tamarindo Estates may enjoy the private lagoon. They may enjoy the majestic mangroves, teeming with life, including a large variety of sea birds. The protected bay is also a haven for kayak enthusiasts.

We have a very nice beach house located just steps from the water, with comfortable lounge chairs, tables for picnicking and bathrooms. As far as the pool being empty, it is closed for extensive repairs.

We are not advertising having a pool and our repeat guests have been informed. We would like to add that, the only way to see whether the pool has water or not, is to climb the fence. Someone has climbed it, as evidenced by some broken latticework.

To address a couple of other of this guest's issues; AC in the bedroom, instant hot water heater on the shower, these are pretty typical Puerto Rican, especially here on our small island where many people still do not have city water or electricity.

No, we do not offer daily maid service. This not a hotel of that type, but rental apartment units. However, we do upon request and if coordinated with the manager, provide the service, for an extra cost. However, to quote another recent reviewer, "If you are looking to be waited on and have your room cleaned each day then you probably shouldn't have picked Culebra in the first place."

We never had a request for maid service from these guests. In fact, we never heard from these guests about any complaints. If guests let us know they have a problem, we always do our best to rectify the situation.

We want our guests to be comfortable, be happy and have a great experience. Very many do just that, as evidenced by our yearly repeat bookings, many who have come to be like family with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016

We traveled to Culebra in February to escape the winter cold in New York and to scuba dive. Our choice for housing was Tamarindo Estates where we stayed for the entirety of our 18 days on Culebra. There are 12 apartments on the estate housed within three structures. All are facing west. The apartments have a sizeable porch along with a kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. The apartments are not large but are quite comfortable. Linens and towels are supplied. The bedroom has an air conditioner that easily cools the bedroom and can also cool the entire apartment if all the windows are closed. We found that air conditioning was not necessary but its there for those who wish it.
All windows had screens so we simply left the windows open all day and night. An interesting anomaly is the hot water supply. Hot water only emanates from the shower. The sinks only produce cold water.
The kitchen has a stove, sink, microwave, toaster, and refrigerator along with plates, glasses, silver ware and pots and pans. Our routine was to eat out for lunch and have dinner at the apartment or vice versa. There are three grocery stores on the island that are well stocked, including alcohol. On mornings when we were scheduled to scuba dive we traveled into town to first have breakfast and then go scuba diving with Culebra Divers. We often went into town around 8 am to find parking near to the Culebra Divers shop. After our dives and lunch in town we arrived back at the apartment around 2-3 pm. Later in the day as sunset approached we would sit on our porch and watch the sun descend, just spectacular!!
It is a short walk down to the beach within the estate. It is home to one of the most elegant shallow reefs we have ever seen in the Caribbean. It is a must snorkel if you are staying at Tamarindo. The estate owners/managers do not allow non-guests onto the properties hence the beach area is a very quiet, private and peaceful place. It is a natural beach that translates into rocky so some care is required while entering and leaving the water.
The estates are at the end of a road that allows access to Tamarindo beach. The road is in need of repair but is passable. To stay at Tamarindo or any rental property on Culebra requires a car. There are taxies but there is no “real” public transportation. There are three car/jeep/golf carts rental establishments on the island. Make a reservation before you arrive.
Tamarindo delivers all that any traveler needs. Its strength is the setting along with the natural sounds of the surrounding forest and the truly beautiful vistas of Luis Pena islet directly to the west, Vieques to the south and on a clear day behind Luis Pena islet it was possible to see Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews