We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melia Cayo Coco
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We loved this hotel from the moment we set foot in the reception we were looked after like VIP's, had a fabolous room overlooking the lagoon, the room was spacious, huge comfortable bed, large flat screen tv, the balcony is looking towards the sunset every night! All the restaurants served gorgeous food especially the BBQ restaurant and Italian restaurant. The swimming pool is lovely and clean. The beach is pure white sand and crystal clear water. The staff are wonderful especially Omar. If you go there ask for a room overlooking the lagoon, its well worth paying the extra!

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your review. We are quite glad to know you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and are looking forward to seeing you again to provide you with another wonderful stay in Paradise!
With best regards,
Freddy Andersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,842
    1,294
    345
    106
    73
See reviews for
491
3,895
101
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just back from our 3rd year running at The Melia. As always everyone from maids to management went out of their way to make our stay as good as it could possibly be. There is a friendliness about this place we have not found anywhere else.
After a well organised and short transfer from the airport, with Maria the friendly Thomas cook rep, we were greeted at reception with a cool drink and friendly smiles, and before we had finished saying our hellos, we were on our way to our room with our cases.
We had a lagoon room again, in a peaceful position but only a short walk to all amenities including the beach. The maids kept the room clean and we enjoyed seeing their creativity with the towels on our bed each day, sometimes with flowers and chocolates too.
As usual we spent time in all the bars, not just to drink but to spend time with the bar staff, the sports bar with Joseph and Orlando, the lobby bar with Roly, Tamara, Jose, Yamil, to name but a few and the pool bar with Silva, Livan, Yarima , Joes and Joel.
We mostly ate in the buffet restaurant , where the food was excellent and catered for all tastes, the prawns cooked to order by Fernando were to die for. Dining there was enhanced by the friendliness and service of Yamilet, Jorge, Yeniset and Eddy.
We also ate in the Italian, Caribean and International restaurants, loved the food in the Intenational and being looked after by Nayma and loved the Caribean, looked after by Orlando,
Dancers and animation staff were first class as usual, we loved the evening shows. The animation team are always attentive and make sure everyone feels at home and is having a good time, especially Alex, Yunet, Emilaidy, William, Pepe, Yunaisy, Mayuli,Aylec( shame we miissed Ismary) dancer Eric and gym man Roberto.
Reception staff were always helpful and we are specially grateful to Gippsy and Violeta for arranging things for us.
Just counting down the days until we go back next year.

Room Tip: Never had the same room twice and they have all been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lazyboyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Loyal Customers,
Getting to know our changes fit in with our guests likes is quite rewarding for us. Thank you very much for your feedback. All our guests comments are of utmost importance to us, especially our loyals customers': you have stayed with us in the past and can appraise our changes as well as suggest new ones, always based on your experiences with us. The staff will be congratulated for their performance, we are proud of the services they provide and are awared of the fact that they are the main reason for your repeated visits.
With best regards, looking forward to seeing you again,
Freddy Andersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

My boyfriend and I travelled in june 2012 for a week, we were in the room 8421, close to everything, beach, pool, restaurants, buffet, lobby. As we arrived, we had to wait an hour for our room to be ready, but it was worth the wait as the room met all our special requests. Thank you to the receptionist (sorry I forgot the name) and Arays!! The room was lovely, really big, very clean, the water pressure was great. We had a big balcony that let the sun come in every morning, but for those who want to stay in the dark and sleep in the morning, don't worry, the curtains are well thought for that.

The buffet and restaurants a la carte were AMAZING, beyond our expectations and IMPRESSIVE for Cuba's food. A lot of variety, good choice, MEAT is incredible, you have EVERYTHING you can think of eating throughout the day AND the week. For those who complain................don't travel, just stay home and ...and learn about cultures. This is my 4th time in Cuba, 1st time in Cayo coco and it was my boyfriend's 1st time in Cuba. He's the hardest to satisfy in term of food. Let me tell you...he was just SO HAPPY!

The beach is a paradise on earth..especially Playa Pilar (only 5 CUC for the day, bring at least 15 CUC with you as you will want to take a lounge chair (2 CUC) and eat (6 CUC for a GOOD chicken breast, salad and fries), the water is SO perfectly warm, OMG I loved it and trust me I have cold feet! The pool is SO relaxing...as it's an 18+ hotel, it's the perfect place to sit back, relax and enjoy the sun.

The nightly entertainment is absolutely fun, great shows, great work, great dancing and music, we were surprised every time!! For the excursions, They are ALL for every taste of fun, made for every kind of person, TO try! At least one or two. Sadly, we were unable to book our excursion as we came too late and the one we wanted was already booked. I recommend you to book with your representative as soon as you arrive to the hotel. It is really worth it!

It's a small cute hotel with OUTSTANDING gardens and grounds, so let yourself enjoy the place and take a tour when you arrive if your check in is late. Like Joel said, ''don't worry, don't complain you're on vacation, enjoy!' :)'

Finally I won't quit this page until I thank all our special staff for being so kind, so nice and great with us, they were perfectly listening our needs, and who went beyond their job to make us feel good from day 1:

BIG THANK YOU to Arays (at the reception she's always there to help with a cute smile!), Emilio (THANK YOU for the special towels), Joel the 'bell boy' who has a heart of gold (you are an AWESOME person God Bless You), Joes from the snackbar (This guy is a smile on our face everyday), Estudiante Nellis (she remembers your order everyday so cute!!), Jorge Manilla from the buffet (A lovely server who always have a smile on his face), Aylec (she's from the animation team and is SO FUNNY!!), Yamilet from the buffet (Thank you for your kindness I hope your son is better! We think of you!), Ariel at the reception (who helped us a lot with our questions, very enthusiastic), Raulito (this guy is SURPRISING, thank you for all of your SUPER TASTY dessert), Liberpool (Thank you for your erfect tortillas every morning!!), Betty (Sunwing Rep who tried her best to meet our needs), Felipe (Thank you for your beautiful design of lowers and hats and for all your Hola with a big smile! He's always gonna ask you how you are and make conversation with you, it's really hot and they are working very hard to make gardens look very pleasant and peaceful! Smile at him and say hello!) Thank you also to Maricel, she's our everyday's maid who made us BEAUTIFUL towel designs and lovely notes as well as Clara and Olivia our night maids, Thank you and GOOD job I hope you enjoyed our gifts :) !

BIG BIG BIG THANK YOU TO ALL OF YOU FOR MAKING OUR VACATION PERFECT!! MELIA CAYO COCO IS THE PLACE TO BE FOR YOUR NEXT VACATIONS... 5***** We can't wait to come back again next year!

WE LOVED MELIA CAYO COCO! The rating says it...BEST HOTEL IN CAYO COCO and deserves it all!

Yasmine & Ali :)

Room Tip: As you may find the beds a bit hard, we thought and recommend you of putting the blanket you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jasmine_Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

This is the second time to the Cayo's - this time we stayed the the Melia
hotel - it's a 4 star plus - the rooms are spotless - the food was very very good,the grounds were full of flowering plants,and the beach was clean with lovely white sand and beautiful warm seas.There is a beach bar with a seating area,the lads on the beach will place your lounger wherever you want it - round the pool is Pepe who will bring you iced drinks with a huge smile and a silly hat.There is a pool bar where you can eat lunch as well as the other eating places the choice is yours.
If you want to compete in games then there is an animation team on hand to provide all the equipment - special mention to Muzulie who is great fun with Pertang lovely girl - the staff who keep the numerous toilets clean and well stocked with paper towels and soap you are all stars well done. The staff in the main restaurant are so good at their jobs,special thanks to Amill (hope the baby is better) he's on for breakfast and lunch always with a smile great man,then our special lady for evening meal i've lost the paper that had her name written down, and not forgetting the gardners especially Philippe who always helped with my mums wheel chair when we got stuck,and to everyone who added to making it a great holiday.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunshinegirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

My husband and I had an amazing holiday, which was made so special by the service from such friendly and helpful staff and the excellent quality of the food and drink. I had my birthday there on new years eve and would like to say a huge thanks to Bibi and Laimy, who picked flowers from their own gardens to give to me and who also looked after us brilliantly during breakfast and lunch on the terrace. We loved the Buffett, Italian and international restaurants, the lasagna was lush!! And spending Christmas day in the international over looking the lagoon at sunset was fantastic! In the lobby bar we saw a choir on Christmas day that was both amazing and emotional to watch!!! ( hope they come back this year... Hint hint! ). Cayo coco is not the real Cuba, but it was the real deal in regards to being spoilt, relaxing and meeting great people! Keep up the excellent work and see you in December!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michaelaj68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
11.1 km away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
10.7 km away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
0.0 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 km away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
8.6 km away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Coco

Property: Melia Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Ávila, 69400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,055 - ₹ 26,010
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cayo Coco 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Cayo Coco, habitat of a large colony of pink flamingos. Five-Star All Inclusive Resort with 250 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Its superior suites and rooms are built on stilts over a natural seawater lagoon. Recommended for couples, weddings, and honeymoons. 250 Guest rooms: 168 Standard, 62 Standard Superior Lagoon, 6 Junior Suite, 2 Junior Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 12 Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 4 Dining Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque), 5 Bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia Hotels APAC so you can book your Melia Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Cayo Coco Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing