We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol Cayo Coco
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant Holiday”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I will just start off by saying if anyone is going and is worried about negative reviews as long as you do not expect 5 star luxury there is absolutely nothing to be worried about.

The hotel is fine, the rooms are clean and perfectly adequate, we had a sea view and sitting on the balcony early evening with drinks watching the sea was excellent.

The staff were fabulous especially the lobby bar waiters, so friendly nothing too much trouble and they do not expect a tip. I do not believe tipping at the beginning for service I only believe in tipping when I receive good service. We did receive excellent service and therefore left tips were appropriate. I did not find the level of service to be less because of this.

This is the second time to Cuba and after the first and the friendly people we had to come back.
The first time we went to Blau Varadero, it was so good we booked again, but due to circumstances at home we had change our booking to the Sol Cayo Coco. We was a bit dreading it due to some reviews but there was no need to worry at all. The people with bad reviews must be very very picky.

If anyone reads this and wants a comparison about the 2 places Varadero and Cayo Coco it is just that Varadero there is more to do more shops and pubs and restaurants and Cayo Coco there is none of that at all it is for relaxing on beautiful beaches which by the way both places have. We enjoyed both as much as each other.

We did have an odd complaint and all I can say is they were dealt with asap with no hassle and to our satisfaction.

The only one negative was the beach towels there was none. We got the first one on day one and could not get it changed again in the whole 2 weeks, we tried a few times in week one but then gave up in week 2 completely and I have to say out of the whole hotel we did not like the pool staff they need more supervision at the towel hut. Fortunately we are beach people that is why we go to Cuba for the beach not to sit round the pool for 2 weeks we could do that in Spain, so we did not have to see much of the towel pool and animation team.

If this is your first time to Cuba and do not go with brand new 5 star in mind and just relax and chill you will love the hotel and other staff and have a great holiday.

Speed boat trip is a must and we did discover Cuba trip as well and both brilliant.

We will be returning to Cuba for the price compared to other Caribbean destinations and with the people being the nicest out of all the holiday places this is the holiday for me.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room away from noise and entertainment, the room we had was excellent. It was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank colhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,807
    1,361
    549
    238
    150
See reviews for
1,254
1,683
125
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Review of the Sol Cayo Coco Resort in Cuba-July, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a two-week vacation at the Sol Cayo Coco Resort in Cuba. This was our third visit and we were not disappointed and glad we chose to go back to this resort.

Sol Cayo Coco is a perfect place to bring a family, as everything is close by. All the staff working at Sol Cayo Coco, from the Director General to the gardeners, are very friendly and make you feel as if you are part of their family.

Before we left Canada for our vacation at the Sol there were a few comments on the Trip Advisor Forum concerning the Manager of the resort leaving because of problems. I just wanted to clear the air on this issue. The Director General did not abandon the resort, he went on a well deserved vacation and also received a promotion to manage a larger resort in Varadero. He did a great deal to improve the resort while he was there and he treated all guests in the same friendly manner.

Flight:
We travelled with West Jet from Ottawa to Toronto and then on to Cuba. The same coming back but we landed in Toronto around 6 pm and our flight to Ottawa didn’t leave until 10:45, so it makes for a long wait at the Toronto Airport.

As most of the people on the flight from Toronto to Ottawa were in the same situation as we were coming in from Cuba and waiting, you would think that West Jet could fly directly from Ottawa to Cuba, I am sure that they would always fill the plane, as the Ottawa airport serves Ottawa and it’s surroundings including parts of Quebec.

Arrival:
A bus was waiting to bring us to the resort, which is only 15 minutes away. Check in was fast and we had no trouble finding our room.

Rooms:
Our room were clean and what we had asked for. We had a room on the first floor very close to the beach. If something was wrong in the room it was always had it fixed as soon as possible. Also if you want your sheets and towels changed all you have to do is get the sign on top of the bed, and they will change them for you. Thanks to Damarys Yara and Melo for taking care of our needs and keeping our room clean.

Grounds:
The resorts have many gardeners working hard everyday to ensure that the grounds are well kept and very clean.

The resort has many things to offer such as mini-golf, table tennis, tennis courts and many more activities. There are many quiet places to sit to read or just relax.


Pool:
The pool is divided into four sections, so has something for everyone. The first top pool is deeper at one end and gradually gets shallow. The second is not as deep and you can play volleyball in it. The third section is adjacent and is a fenced and shallow for children to play in. The fourth section is down below and has a deep part and shallow part.

There are a lot of deck chairs around the pool and there is a restaurant and bar handy and waiters go around taking your drink orders and the cook will bring your food to your table.

The pool is cleaned every morning at around 6:30 so most of the guests do not see this happening but it does.

Beaches:
There are two beautiful beaches at this resort. One in front of the resort and has nice white sand and a long beach to walk on. There are plenty of lounges to lay on. This beach gets windy at times with large waves. The colour of the water is just breathtaking. We had a green flags the whole two weeks that we were there.

The second beach is located at the side of the resort. You take a path past the gym and through a gate then cross a wooden bridge to get there.

Restaurants and Bars:

The food on the whole is very good and there is lots of variety. There are so many food choices that no one should go hungry. (Just remember that you are in Cuba, and not at home). Special thanks to Jose Antonio Frontela Fernandez, Executive Chef who oversees all the restaurants and food preparations, it seem he is always around checking to make sure everything is as it should be.

Buffet:
For breakfast they have a bacon and eggs station. There also is a french toast, pancakes and omelette station, and fruits and cheese station; cereal, bread and smoothy stations. Very special thanks, to all the staff and special thanks to Hermes and Yulka.

For the lunch menu there are soups, pizza and pasta, a selection of hot dishes, hot dogs, hamburgers, French fries and so much more. The ice cream was a big hit and the orange and mango flavours excellent.

For dinner there are salads, soups, hot dishes, stir-fried rice station, pasta and special meat station, grilled meat and fish station, desserts and ice-cream station and many other choices. Each night they have a special item such fish, roast beef, pork or turkey.

The pool restaurant offers hot dogs, hamburgers, pizza and French fries. We had French fries almost every afternoon and they were great. They have extended the hours of operation and now are open until 10 pm., which is nice if you just want a little something or get in late.

The beach restaurant offers a selected menu and the food is very tasty. It is so nice to sit outside and enjoy the food while looking at the ocean. They have renovated this area and added more tables and chairs for seating outside, very nicely done.

The Don Diego Restaurant is a very nice place to eat and get away form the noise and crowd once in awhile. It has AC so very comfortable. The food is excellent and the atmosphere great. They have a piano player playing during the entire meal.

The lobby bar is open 24 hours a day and is a nice area to enjoy a coffee and read a book or just people watch. They also serve sandwiches starting around 11:30 for those late night snackers. Thanks to all the staff. They work hard to make sure you have your coffee in the morning and your drinks all day long. Special thanks to Saul, Luis and Eddy.

They have built a beautiful new Beach Bar at the end of the beach were the children play house use to be. It is very large with a nice deck where you can sit out and admire the beautiful view. The inside of the bar is well stocked and they have a large wooden bar, probably one of the nicest beach bars around. One of the big assets of this bar is Yoel the bartender.

They also serve pizza, hamburgers and hot dogs between 12.00 and 2.00 pm. Yoe the cook does an excellent job of cooking and treating you like family.

Entertainment:

The entertainment staff put on a show every night at 9:30. The entertainment staff put a great deal of effort into providing excellent shows and their dancing is top notch with a large variety of costumes. The shows are typical of Cuba and are well presented.

The Animation Staff are also around and provide many activities around the resort all day at the beach and around the pool.

Others:

The resort has an Internet room, and an up to date games room. There is a local goods market set up every Wednesday, Friday and Sunday and they have a nice assortment of Cuban handicrafts. There is also a store were you can buy treats, rum and cigars. Many excursions are offered at any of the tour guide desks.


General:

The Sol Cayo Coco is a small resort but has all the things that you need to make your vacation special. This is a great place for families and those who just want to get away and relax. The main asset of this resort is the staff, they all make you feel like family.

The Client Service staff is always ready to help you not matter how small your problem may be. They try to have things fixed the same day. We had some small issues, which were looked after very quickly to our satisfaction.

A very special thanks to Orisvel, Sandor, Dianelys and Argelio for all they did to make our vacation so very enjoyable and memorable.

Alex has left as manager of the Client Service area and is now in charge of all purchasing for the resort. He is busy everyday trying making sure that all is in place to make our stay pleasant. This position at times is not easy but he tries hard to please everyone and keeps the resort well supplied.

One staff member who is very special to us is Henry, he not only looks after your luggage, he is a goodwill ambassador for the hotel. Henry is always smiling and willing to help out where he is needed.

I have read all the reviews posted on Trip Advisor and found that some of the concerns have been overblown and some of the problems should have been brought to the attention of hotel staff while the guests were on site not after they got home.

Yes, the hotel is starting to show it age and there are things that go wrong but that goes for every resort in the world. Over the past year they have made some major improvements and have others planned for the next couple of years.

The fact is that they treat you like family and our willing to go the extra mile to make your vacation special. They also have to deal with weather, lack of goods, some rude tourists, but they always have a smile on their face, how many of us can say that about how we go about our day to day lives at home.

We would recommend, without hesitation this resort to everyone. We are already planning our next trip to the Sol Cayo Coco as they do make you feel like family and the resort feels like our second home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Brielaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My husband and I returned to SOL Cayo Coco, with our 2 adult boys from April 21 -28 2012.

The staff - 2nd to none. - Service is a 5 star.
The staff are friendly and accomodating - the service is very good - that is worth a lot.
You can have the most beautiful hotel and if the service is poor it really can ruin the trip.
to name of few of the staff that were exceptional, Henry, Jacinto, Louis, Annalise, Romberto, and there was one of the Pasta Chefs that I can't remember his name that was phenominal.

The Room - 3 star The cleanliness of the Room & our maid Service - 5 star
This year we were in an updated room, the decor was fresh, the view was excellent, the beds were firm but comfortable by the 2nd night I was sleeping well.
Our room was kept Very Clean, we always had fresh towels and water. When we arrived our toilet was not flushing well and when we did flush it a bit of smell came up the sink - we let the front desk know and it was corrected the same day.

The pools -
it was later in the year this year than last year when we went down and it appeared as if there were very few grounds people on the weekend - The pool had a signifigant amount of debris (leaves and such) - last year we never saw that - however when we got up on Monday the pools were pristine and remained that way for the remainder of the week.

The Grounds - upkeep was very good - again on the weekend there did not seem to be as much trimming, cleaning of debris but the grounds are very well maintained and they are continuing to upgrade plantings etc.

The Beach - The Best Ever - 5 stars plus.
The beauty of the SOL is that you have access to 2 totally different beaches both of them are beautiful but very different. One is Shallow and the sand is like white flour and the beach goes on forever, the other the sand is white, a bit more coarse, lots of little seashells, and it drops off very quickly and is full of waves, great for swimming. The Water on both of the beaches is that beautiful Blue that just makes you calm looking at it. The Beach closest to the SOL was eroded in 2011 but that had all been repaired in 2012 and it was fabulous.

The food - not as much variety as last year.
Quality of the food was still good, but there was not near the variety as 2011. I am not sure if it is because it was later in the year or just one of those weeks. Not only was there not as much variety but the menu did not seem to change for the whole week we were there.
Last year I ate off of the Buffet every day, This year I ate of the buffet very little focused on the different stations - which were good - but I did miss the buffet that we had experienced the year before.
Highs - Bread - excellent
Cheese - some of the best I have ever had and I know cheese :)
- pasta station - very good
- dessert station - bananas flambe - Really excellent
- There is another station - I will call it the meat station - it was also very good.
The coffee made at the Lobby bar... I dream about that coffee.. really worth the trip.

Lows of the trip
As I have previously noted it was later in the year when we went and part way thru the week some of the staff were layed off. This seemed to impact the morale of the remaining staff. Again they were always friendly and accomadating still providing great service but you felt a sense of sadness not the same exuberent atmosphere as when we had went earlier in the year.
I do believe that the food selection was based on the lateness of our trip also.
The bank - The bank that used to be next door had moved into the lobby of the hotel - you were no longer allowed to get money exchanged at the front desk you had to use the bank (please know that this bank is the nationale bank has nothing to do with the hotel) - the exchange rate given by the bank in the lobby was about .09 cent less per $1 of exchange Canadian than the neighbouring hotels. So many of us would walk to the Tryp to get our money changed.
This is signifigant differenc when you are exchanging a several hundred dollars to use for excusions, tips, etc. - this impacts the tips rec'd by the staff and the excursions that are booked.
There was a group of us that signed a petition simply stating our dissapointment with the bank and it was my understanding that they did up the rate of exchange after we had left.

HIGHS
We had a fabulous vacation, even our boys who are young men want to return, The staff, The Service, The Beaches, The Coffee all 2nd to none.
The resort is small and intimate, This is a Beautiful, Peaceful, Relaxing piece of the Caribbean.
It has a special place in our heart.
We will return again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed back in March and I must say it was a great holiday. The hotel staff were friendly and always willing to help. The most suprising thing was the Manager he was always about and you could see that the staff were bought into his enthusiasm to give every holiday maker a holiday to remember.

The rooms were dated but cleaned daily. The food varied for AI, and entertainment was what you expect when it's part of the package.

The beaches here are idyllic if you want to get away from things and relax I would certainly recommend

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alademi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

After reading some of the bad reviews lately we were slightly concerned about this holiday. When we arrived to the Animation team singing and dancing to 'who let the dogs out' and 'The roof is on fire', and dealing with a lady at reception who did not even say hello, just pretty much gave us our room and refused to sort the safe we honestly thought 'What have we done?'. A 'hello and welcome to Sol Cayo Coco' after a long flight would have been much appreciated. From there, we had an amazing time.

The hotel and grounds are clean and extremely well kept. We had a room which met all of our requests and was a superior sea view. The room was clean and bathroom/shower were great. we did hear some people say they had not had updated rooms and the shower dribbled but ours was spot on.

The food was plentiful and lots of choice. Remember this is not a country where you will get great food unless you go 5 star. Our only complaint was that sometimes the food on the buffet was luke warm/cold at times, but if you get the food from the stations its all very good. We ate once at the A La Carte and it was not fantastic but really we knew we were lucky to have food as and when we wanted.

We did not see any of the entertainment or get involved with any of the daily activities but it appeared that the animation team put on and did plenty for the guests, even if no one was getting involved they still ran the program they had in place.

We spent most of our time at the beach bar as the music at the pool was a bit loud for us. The beach is extremely clean and sea great to swim in. We saw dolphins on numerous occaissons and enjoyed snorkling watching the fish and when lucky the Barracuda right by the beach.

We changed our beach towells daily, no problem here. On the day we did the catermaran the customer service lady also got us fresh towells for the trip as we would not be there to exchange them. Actually the customer service lady was excellent whenever we needed anything from fresh shower gel to plug adaptors as we got the wrong ones.

The staff really make this place though and work so hard. Everyone we met really made you feel special and like they were there to serve and help you. I'd like to say thanks and congratulate the staff for all your hard work.

Of the trips I did the fishing and hired the boat on my own. I'd say if you are to do this make sure its a sunny day. i caught 2 fish and it was cloudy and people who went on sunny days did a lot better.

We also did the Catermaran which is well worth the money. Added bonus is the chance to snorkal with Lola the Barracuda who gets fed daily by the catermaran people. there is a bar onboard and dinner was fantastic. I also did a sneaky skinny dip off the back when we were moored up at the beach. ssssh! dont tell anyone!

a highlight was also learning to dive. Marine is the instructor and you start in the pool, and end up doing a 4m dive by the reef. It's all very safe and Marine the instructor is great fun. for 70 pesos well worth it if you have ever thought about doing diving but want to try before you do your PADI. Also Marine loves Sudoko so take him out a book as they cant get them in cuba easily.

We did not really get bitten that much, we took 9 bottles of Boots tropical strength once a day and got through 7 of them. Just keep topping up regularly and you will be fine. We saw others who looked like they had literally been eaten alive.

All in all I probably would not go back to this hotel but for what we wanted it was ideal and actually did not want to leave in the end. I would rate it as 4/5, and a good 4 at that. Just knocking off 1 point for having luke warm food in the buffet. Apart from that, nothing to worry about. Go, relax, enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room that's quiet and should be ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
10.8 km away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,057 reviews
10.4 km away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
0.3 km away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
1.7 km away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#8 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,815 reviews
0.4 km away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Coco

Property: Sol Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Avila, 69410, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,981 - ₹ 19,054
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good standard property with an excellent beachfront location. Sol Cayo Coco is the only hotel with access to two different but equally charming beaches, situated amidst gardens and palm grove facing the sea and the white fine sand beach. The hotel is ideal for families with children, couples, honeymooners and weddings. This paradise is the perfect spot to combine great fun with fantastic relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia Hotels APAC so you can book your Sol Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing