We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,529)
Filter reviews
6,529 results
Traveller rating
3,120
2,084
865
309
151
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,120
2,084
865
309
151
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond clubwater shoessnack barmichael jackson showupper poolpizzafisha la carteasian restaurantpaellastayed in buildingocean viewentertainment staffchickenfoam partypremium drinkssunwing rep
Filter
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 6,529 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

First of all the hotel staff were extremely friendly, helpful and made the vacation that much better. This resort and area was devastated by hurricane Irma and the island has suffered some major damages there are downed trees and no more flamingoes :(
The one thing Irma did do is send in a tonnes of Beach Sand that made the already beautiful beaches even more stunning. Due to the beautiful clear beaches there is not many places to go snorkeling off shore, you may see a pointy nose fish or crab but that's it. There are available snorkelling and scuba excursions available. You have to see the beach chair guy to have your chairs brought to your spot which is normal (tides and erosion).
Checking in and out with the staff was quick and painless, however we had to checkout at 12pm and did not leave until 6pm so we had to use a community shower room which was disgusting, the toilet was so soiled I could not even use it (and I have to use porta potties while at work), the shower drain was plugged. There was no space to put my clothes.
The rooms were freshly painted, spacious and clean and buildings spruced up you can tell that to roofs have all been redone, there are still some work to do and fixtures to be put up in the bathroom (empty holes etc..). The bathtubs are extremely high so if you have mobility issues or are elderly you may have difficulties getting in and out of the tub. The mattresses are horrible, extremely hard gave me a sore back after a week but is the only complaint I have about the rooms. We had a safe, one cup coffee maker and phones in our room but the family we were travelling with did not have a phone or coffee maker in theirs. Washcloths are nonexistent but I just used disposable wipes in the shower works the same. Bungalows are in order so you want to be in Bungalows closer to 1 which are closer to the pool, lobby, buffet etc... we were in the last Bungalow 10 and its not that big of a resort so no big deal but you have a walk to everything. Bungalow 10 is right across from the Tennis/Basketball courts, gym and spa so if that's your thing then it would be perfect. The resort was experiencing some infrastructure issues while we there, sewer backups, water temperature regulation issues (we had no cold water LOL), and some of the public restrooms were closed due to these issues.
The main buffet has also been entirely renovated and is beautiful, its all the usual food which is luke warm unless you wait in line at a hot station (pasta, omelettes etc...).
The craziest thing about this hotel was the pool lounge chair situation: there are 3 tiers to the pool the top being the most popular because of the depth and size of the pool. The middle pool has the swim up bar but only goes to about 3 feet and has a volleyball net. The bottom pool is a wading pool for toddlers. The crazy part it that at the end of each day they take ALL the pool loungers from all levels and pile them at the bottom so that in the morning when you go to get your spot for the day you have to wait for the poor pool guy to drag your chairs up from the bottom while you watch. Of course you feel obliged to tip him due to the labour he needs to put in. When I asked him "why don't you leave the chairs set up on each level?" he answered "in case they need extra chairs on the beach" Let me tell you if they have to drag chairs from the pool to the beach that is quite the hike. My husband was convinced this is a money grab, you can come to your own conclusion. The pools were nice but could be cleaner (maybe if the pool guy didn't have to drag chairs around he could concentrate more on cleaning the pool???).
I have been all over Cuba: Jibacoa Breezes, Holguin Sirenis, Varadero Roc Arena Doradas, Santa Maria Hotel Playa Santa Maria, and this was my second trip to Cayo Coco (Colonial in 2009), other than Breezes this is the best resort we have been to and I do recommend it when it comes to bang for your buck. Good luck on your travels and I have posted pics.

Stayed: March 2018
7  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, General Manager at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Guest,

The Memories Flamenco team would like to thank you for your super nice comments about our hotel, service and staff.
We are very happy to hear that you had a fun and exciting trip with us, our main goal is to satisfy our guests.
Our staff has received your comments and appreciates your effort, one more time thanks for providing part of your precious time to share your experience.

We are looking forward to see you soon and pamper you one more time as you deserve it.

Best regards from Cayo Coco,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Just back 3 days ago and we loved.Resort was hit by hurricane last year ,but they did good job with all repairs.We are beach people,and beach is sooo beautiful, sandy, and lots of palapas.Housekeeping service very nice.We stay in bungalow nr.4 and our housekeeper name wasLiev. We met very nice and helpful people; Suselma in the lobby desk,Yennys our concierge,Omar and Jose in the buffet(diamond section),all bartenders in the lobby , all of them are very hard working people with smile on the face.Our stay in Memories was very pleasant .J and N from Ontario

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dziuniaklimek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, General Manager at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Memories Flamenco team we would like to thank you for your super nice comments about our service and staff.

It is really gratifying to know that you enjoyed your holidays with us.

Our staff has received your comments and appreciates your effort, one more time thanks for providing part of your precious time to share your experience.

We are looking forward to see you again at your second home.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

If you are in buildings 1-4 you are good. Buildings 5-10 are horrible. Mound in rooms, furniture with no drawer handles, no towel racks just mounting brackets. Overall disgusting. Grounds are a mess due to hurricane last fall?? Resort staff not able to make alternate arrangements. Sunwing response team non existent. Stay away.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, General Manager at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Thomas,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments about your recent stay at Memories Flamenco. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

We totally disagree about what you say about building 5-10. It could be you prefer the other building due to they are closer to the beach entrance. We they have the same quality than the others.

Regarding the room, we will investigate what has happened because we always deliver rooms in perfect condition previously supervised by our team of housekeepers and maintenance.

We hope you can give us a second chance in the future.

Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

☆☆A Beautiful Resort☆☆..
After the Storm, Doing VERY WELL
Rebuilding it !!
CHECKING IN was Awful !!
No Drinks for a Welcoming !
Ladies at Counter where Rude..

AWESOME WIDE LONG Beach..
Walk for Miles In or Out.
Go Early if You want a Chairs
at Beach or Pool..
There's Dance Lessons on the Beach.
And Some Entertainment there too..
Only 4 Hrs with Music..
So Bring Your Own.!

Room Sevice was Great..
(Needs More Beer put in the Frig -tho !)..

If AFTER 7 Days .▪Door Card
HAD to BE REPROGRAMED EVERY DAY.. (Pain is But)walking to the Front

Need to Work on ToiletPaper in
PUBLIC bathrooms at Resort..

Same Foods Every day Seviced in
Dining Room.. Disappointment..

Entertainment at Night was AWESOME !!.. A Must See..
if You Can Wait till 930pm..

If Going ...
▪DO NOT STAY IN # 6 BUILDING
First Floor !!.
USED as a SHORT CUT By Everyone
Very Busy..

SPA was Good ..But Never Fully Got what We Paid for After Done ..
.........
Great Place to RELAX ...

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Guest Relations Manager at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest,

The Memories Flamenco team would like to thank you for your super nice comments about our hotel, service and staff.
We are very happy to hear that you had a fun and exciting trip with us, our main goal is to satisfy our guests.
Our staff has received your comments and appreciates your effort, one more time thanks for providing part of your precious time to share your experience.

We are looking forward to see you soon and pamper you one more time as you deserve it.

Best regards from Cayo Coco,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We had a wonderful time in Cuba. Let's start with the good - the beach is amazing and the turquoise blue sea is out of this world! Yes, it is hard to get umbrellas in the morning, but lots available once the early morning rush is over. Same applies for the pool. The swim-up bar is a bit gross with discarded cups etc, but the main pool is very good. Entertainment staff at the pool do an excellent job, especially Carlos. Buffet is what you would expect from Cuba, but if you skip the buffet and go to the fresh food stations, it is much better. We split up and had one family member per station to order shareable plates. Rosa and team at the buffet were great! Oswaldo at the drink station outside the buffet was awesome. Cappucino at the lobby bar is excellent! Good outdoor activity - Hobbie Cat is free and $20 per head if you add snorkelling (apparently well worth it as per my friends who tried it). Now the bad - we were in building 8. It is far from the main activity. Although we did not find puddles or sewage that many mentioned in prior reviews, there was still a strong smell of sewage at the entrances. The room 8s in building is like a 2 star hotel in North America. Bathrooms while clean had chipped toilet seats and tubs. Reception staff are not very friendly and can be borderline rude at times. But the good does outweigh the bad, so well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Guest Relations Manager at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments about your recent stay at Memories Flamenco. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us. After all, we are glad that you enjoyed our beach and the friendliness of our staff among others services.

Regarding the room, we will investigate what has happened because we always deliver rooms in perfect condition previously supervised by our team of housekeepers and maintenance.

We will talk with our front desk staff about your comment. We are surprised abput what you say about them. A good and friendly service is one of our best achievements.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews