We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
66
16
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
16
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssticky bunsother guestsone nightprivate bathwealth of informationfamily photosfamily heirloomsdelicious breakfastgreat hospitalitydoll collectiondate squareshistorical itemsbonavista peninsulaqueen bedshe lovesfresh bakingtea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here one night near the beginning of August. It was a fantastic experience and one that we would highly recommend to anyone who is looking to find out more about Newfoundland and to have wonderful service. Lovely greeting on arrival by Patricia, the owner, who showed us around and offered us some of her lovely sticky buns and date squares. We stayed in room 2 which was downstairs and is a fairly new room designed so that people with mobility issues can stay. It was a big room and had a sofa and table / chairs in it, it also meant that you could drive right up to the door.
Slept very well, the room was quiet. In the morning had an amazing breakfast - lovely food, but also good conversation with both Patricia and with the other lovely guests that were staying. Breakfast had some choice which was nice, the French toast and eggs was great. Then had more of the fantastic sticky buns before leaving. Patricia is a wonderful host and if we were in the area again we would certainly return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tandemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

The Island View was the turn around point for our atv trip from Humber Valley using the T railway. No more welcoming sight, or sound than to see Patricia waiting for us with the greeting "I have hot sticky buns waiting for you".
Very friendly atmosphere and very clean and tidy inside, had a great nights rest prior to our journey back. Would recommend to any who happen to be in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank willman019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

My wife and I stayed here one night between visiting the Avalon Peninsula sights and Trinity. We were very pleased our host, Patricia, who greeted us warmly, gave us a tour of the home and showed us to our room. She made an excellent suggestion for a place to have dinner - The Galley which was about a 5 minute drive away. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and very filling, which was just what we needed to start the day. My wife had the French Toast which she said was excellent. The Island View Hospitality Home is a hidden gem and a great value just off the Trans-Canada Highway in Clarenville.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoJetlagged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Island View for just one night, and Patricia made us feel welcome right away. True to her reputation, she had sticky buns ready for guests at any time. What a special treat. Every corner of the home is filled with antiques, and her doll collection is exquisite. The full breakfast, with more sticky buns, of course, was yummy and kept us going for the whole day.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kdstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

We were warmly welcomed by Patricia and her sticky buns. The house smelled so good with her fresh baking. We wished she would invite us for dinner! Her house is full of old dolls who all have their own names and she can tell us how old they are. She has lots of family photos, some dating certainly a century ago and she has her little museum full of old things with info she generously provide about them.
The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast perfect.
I had a bad cough... she even offered me syrup to help me with it.
And what is rare, she even have a room for people with mobility problem! As a former OT, I feel she would deserve a medal of honour!
Great place that I recommend to everyone.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews