We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay”
Review of St. Jude Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Jude Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clarenville
Reviewed 25 November 2017

After finding the first hotel we approached was booked out we went to St Judes. We were given a very comfortable and spacious room, I think the standard type. The room was very clean and supplied with plenty of towels etc. As it is on the highway away from the town centre we chose to eat in their dining room provided a good meal with sufficient choices.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Have_Bag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017

This was a nice quiet hotel with access out the 'back' door of the room - convenient when travelling by car. The room was a good size with good beds. The dinner buffet was tasty with a good selection of items. The breakfast buffet was also very tasty with a nice selection of food including omelet squares - which was a very nice change from the usual scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling C, Hotel Management at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you for your review of St. Jude Hotel. We are pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one. Your positive comments are sincerely appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We booked the accessible room but it was anything but accessible. Instead of a shower stall, there was a bathtub, with one grab bar to get into it but nothing to hang onto get out of it.
The bed itself was so high you needed a step stool to get into that. Certainly not what you are looking for in an accessible room.
The parking space outside was gravel, when all the other parking spaces were on pavement. Very hard to maneuver a scooter on gravel. The ramps were quite steep and the door had such a high lip on it that the scooter could not get over the hump and had to be lifted by hand.
These things really need to be addressed before you can call it an accessible room.
Other than that, the room was fine, spacious, clean and well supplied.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphne138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling C, Hotel Management at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I apologize sincerely for the inconveniences encountered. Your comments are appreciated and we are working toward resolving these issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

St Jude Hotel is conveniently located directly on the TransCanada, fairly close to gas and fast food restaurant’s. I stayed here in September and was impressed with the efficient reception area and decent sized rooms with good coffee maker, fridge, work area with adequate plug-ins, good internet service, and clean bathroom with lots of towels. The hotel also has a good family restaurant. Checkout at the front desk was fast. This is a good hotel for those looking for a good, quiet overnight stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling C, Hotel Management at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback on our property. We are delighted that your stay was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Needed a one night stopover.St.Jude was extremely convenient. Room was large and beds were great. Also quiet. We had an excellent dinner in the dining room. Service was good. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KMH2017TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling C, Hotel management at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

We are delighted that you were pleased with our accommodations and food service. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarenville
0.6 km away
Clarenville Inn
Clarenville Inn
#1 of 4 in Clarenville
156 reviews
1.5 km away
Restland Motel
Restland Motel
#4 of 4 in Clarenville
22 reviews
31.2 km away
Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Jude Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Jude Hotel

Address: 247 Trans Canada Hwy, Clarenville, Newfoundland and Labrador A5A 1Y4, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Clarenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clarenville
Price Range: ₹ 7,781 - ₹ 8,036 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Jude Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Jude Hotel is a Canada Select 3 1/2 star award winning property located on the Trans Canada Highway in the town of Clarenville, Newfoundland and Labrador. St. Jude Hotel provides a great base from which to explore the historic Discovery Trail with its numerous tourist attractions. We are located within half an hour of major industrial sites including: Bull Arm Offshore Fabrication Facility, Whiffen Head Trans-Shipment Terminal and North Atlantic Refinery. We are open all year round and have a full service restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your St. Jude Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing